We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The closest whale experience we've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sitka Sound Tours

Sitka Sound Tours
312 Cascade Street, Sitka, AK 99835
(907) 738-1190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Activities in Sitka
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The closest whale experience we've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Jim, is a super tour guide who really knows the area and showed us some of the best sites. We were fortunate enough to have a whale go right under our boat, closest we've ever seen one, got some great pictures.Would highly recommend!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Capt Jim's tour was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Capt Jim emailed me back and forth to set up our tour along with extra information about places to visit following our tour. He met us on the pier and we headed out on his boat. It was the perfect size for the 4 of us plus Jim. My husband and son sat up front and had a birds eye view of everything. As we left the sound, Jim took the time to explain to us everything he thought we would see and asked for our expectations on what we hoped to see. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and all of the local wildlife. We saw many eagles and water birds (esp. at the beautiful island of St. Lazaria!!), gray whales, humpback whales (including one breeching right behind our boat!!), puffins, otters, seals, and porpoises. The best part about this tour is how personalized it was to what we wanted to see, whereas the typical cruise boat excursions included way too many people to enjoy anything. Capt Jim kept us out even longer than our tour time allotment because of all the amazing things we were seeing. I'd take his tour again if given the chance. Thanks for a very memorable day in Sitka! I hope we can visit again someday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sitka sound tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just came back last week from our tour with Captain Jim of Sitka Sound Tours. It was the highlight of our cruise. Jim's boat is very comfortable, and was perfect for the 5 of us that took the tour. We saw many whales, very close to the boat, as Jim knew exactly the area they would be in. They put on quite a show for us. We also saw many sea otters, eagles and beautiful starfish. I would highly recommend Captain Jim. His knowledge and kindness surpassed any other tour we have been on. Don't hesitate to book this wildlife tour with Jim.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great way to see the wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were on a cruise ship but chose Sitka Sound Tours to have a small personal experience. We certainly had this. Jim picked us up from the dock where the cruise ships tender landed. His 27 foot boat has both an enclosed cabin and an open rear deck so you can comfortably view and photograph the wildlife whatever the weather. He obviously knows the area and the wildlife very well. We wihizzed across the bay to view numerous whales close up, watched the otters at play, sea lions eating salmon and eagles.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would highly recommend a tour with Jim. We booked it by email before we left home thanks to the link on Tripadvisor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great wildlife tour in Sitka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thanks to all of the trip advisor reviews, I contacted Capt. Jim prior to our Alaskan cruise, and we were not disappointed. There were 6 of us on the tour, and Jim did an amazing job. We saw starfish, jellyfish, otters, sea lions, eagles and whales. He is very knowledgeable and made sure we saw lots of wildlife 'up close and personal'. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sitka Sound Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitka Sound Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.