We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch buffet on Friday & Saturdays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circa '31 at the Mimslyn Inn

Circa '31 at the Mimslyn Inn
401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835
540 743-5105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Luray
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet on Friday & Saturdays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

They had an excellent breakfast buffet on Saturday morning we were there but apparently they don't always, depending on the number of guests that weekend. We also had the lunch buffet on Friday that was excellent! Great little Inn in a quaint little town - loved it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Was Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My Husband And I Stayed At The Mimslyn Inn For The Weekend And Decided To Go For Brunch On Sunday Morning Before Heading Home.

The Service Was Fantastic, And The Food Was overall A Good spread. The Omelette Station was Especially Nice And There Was Several Healthy Options On Top of The Traditional Biscuits And Gravy, And Belgian Waffles.

Personally, I Would Spend All Of My Calories On The Bread Pudding - OH. MY. GOODNESS.

This Is Certainly Worth A Visit When In Town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellant Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food was great and the staff was more than accomodating. Was attending a large function and the service was great. Food was served hot and right on time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice setting -- not so nice food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My better half and I were craving breakfast food at 11am on a Sunday and most places were only offering the lunch menu. Mimslyn Inn advertised a "Sunday Brunch" until 2pm -- perfect! The setting is very nice and there was some live music (piano). We didn't have a reservation but only had to wait a few minutes to be seated. Our server was friendly (it's not too hard to mess that up when it's a buffet); however, the gentleman behind the omelet station was NOT friendly. He seemed miserable and annoyed. Other than the omelet (ironically), the food was not appetizing. The waffles were dry, the sausage was overly greasy, the biscuits and gravy were yuck, and the desserts were dry and also yuck. The inclusive mimosa was a nice touch, but the nonalcoholic Mimslyn Punch was a bad comibination of juices. For $15 a head this brunch is more affordable than brunch places in my locale (DC), but it would be smart to save some cash and get a fresher meal at one of the local coffee joints. We won't be going back here on our semi-annual Shenandoah getaways.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipman, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaurant should be rated at the top of all the big boy's lists. We have rarely had such a fine meal. We opted for a wine pairing dinner. The service was attentive but not overpoweringly so; the wines were all great, and the food (I had a seafood choice and my husband chose a meat entree) was excellent. The meal was done in a french style with several smaller courses....we did not go away hungry but just pleasantly full. I wish it were closer to my home!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa '31 at the Mimslyn Inn also viewed

 

Been to Circa '31 at the Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa '31 at the Mimslyn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.