We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Skyline Drive and Luray” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835-1025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Luray
NYC
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good location for Skyline Drive and Luray”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Small motel but room was nice. Easy access to Luray Caverns and the Skyline dirve.
We arrived on a Sunday in August at 6 PM and almost everything in town was closed. There was places to eat but nothing else. Good thing the Hotel had a good TV and channel selection. No free continental breakfast but had a smal restaurant attached that only served breakfast. We were given a 20% off coupon for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    39
    25
    28
See reviews for
56
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I read other reviews that said they had been giving the place a facelift....I called and checked and they said yes the work was complete. Keep in mind this is an older motel but it was very clean and everything worked. You could tell they didn't go the cheap way out and do sloppy work, the rooms were neatly painted, the carpet was also very nice. Beds and pillows were "better quality" than most and the exterior was also freshly done. Refrigerator and Microwave were both good sized and clean ...again not the bare minimum...even the pool was very clean...older but clean...patio chairs were sling chairs not cheap 5.99 resin chairs...again not the minimum....tables with umbrellas and 2 loungers. Basic pool perfect for a quick dip with the kids...

We were there for Luray caverns which was just a 1/2 mile up the road and was great....make sure you do the Maze too if you have kids...we had dinner at Uncle Bucks which is the main steak and burger restaurant in town with tables or booths, beer and TV.....good food good prices.

Our rm with 2 double beds with AAA discount was $69 with all taxes...get a ground floor rm so you can back right up to your room and unload. Free wifi was handy to search for things to do....there was also a restaurant on premises for breakfast and the hotel gave you a 20% discount since they didnt offer a continental ....we didnt try it but it also looked nice and clean.

FWIW we are picky people and we do travel 5-6 times a year...a hotel can rarely make a trip but it can sure ruin one.....this hotel was a pleasant surprise and I recommend it to people who are looking for a clean and good value nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

They were still renovating when we arrived. The front office, reception area was apparently being re-dry walled. Was kind of dusty. The owner was running the desk. He wasn't very friendly, was difficult to understand. The room was all ready redone. It was nice but apparently their contractors worked in a hurry. Green paint was splashed on ceiling, their was paint stains on the one bench in the room. The bathroom clearly no longer matches the rest of the room, it's still very tiny and outdated compared to the rest of the newer paint scheme, and furnishings and fixtures in the rest of the room. You could tell they were cheap, because they shampoo was the tininess bottle I've ever seen. There wasn't an extra towel in the room. One hand towel, two bath towels and two wash cloths. I like a spare towel for my hair. The coffee was missing for the coffee maker.

The bed was decent but it took a bit to be able to ignore the neighbors loud and easy to hear tv to fall asleep.

Oh and in addition to them being on the cheap side. There wasn't a continental breakfast of any kind. Not even a free pot of coffee downstairs. You got a discount coupon for their restaurant.

Was ok for one quick night, but i wouldn't want to have a several night stay there for my vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed at this hotel one night due to proximity to Skyline Drive entrance/exit. The room had just been freshly painted and did have a slight new paint odor to it but it mostly smelled musty and stuffy. The baseboard was completely missing and the carpeting wasn't new but looked newly installed the way it was just laying on the floor with no thresholds or stopping point. The bathroom was pretty clean but the drain in sink didnt work and the only items supplied were a really tiny bottle of motel shampoo and a bar of soap. The room did have a small microwave and fridge which was an unexpected bonus along w/ the free wi-fi that worked well. The gentleman at the front desk was pleasant and helpful and a definate assest to property. We didn't use the 20% off breakfast coupon they give for the onsite breakfast only restaurant so can't make any comments on it. The beds were pretty comfortable, but I have some doubt on how clean the bedspreads actually were and slept with it pushed down to the foot of the bed. There are probably cleaner/better options in town so I'd recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beezley Springs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Rooms were being renovated, and ours smelled of paint, but not badly. Rooms were clean, bathroom was well stocked and everything worked well. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel is very run down, out dated and dirty feeling. The staff was nice enough, but I would not stay here again. I don't know about the other choices in town, but I think I'd drive further out to stay somewhere better. It seems that they were doing renovations on the bottom floor when I got there..all the doors had painters plastic covering them & I thought the hotel was closed. There is a restaurant, but only open for breakfast...which you do get a 20% coupon, but I didn't eat there so cant comment. I was just there for 1 night and was exhausted after a long day of hiking in Shenandoah so I stayed, if I was staying for longer, I would have checked out and looked for somewhere else. There was a poster that said there was a flat screen tv in the room...maybe they had a newer room, but mine hadn't seen an update in MANY years...definitely NO flat screen tv.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night, using it as a jump-off point for a visit to Luray Caverns. The hotel receptionist (manager?) was very pleasant. Breakfast was not included in the rate, but a discount is offered to hotel guests. We ate breakfast elsewhere, so can't comment on the food. Overall, we were happy with our overnight stay. The only negative comment refers to the three truckers who thought it was OK to leave their engines running at 6am, thus waking up the entire hotel. No reflection on the hotel or management, but if you are considering staying here (rooms onto balcony, overlooking car parking lot) you too may encounter selfish, ignorant guests incapable of showing consideration to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray

Address: 410 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835-1025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Intown Of Luray Hotel Luray
Best Western Intown Luray
Best Western Luray
Luray Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.