We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at Magic River !!!! - Musty Dank Dark Dirty Cabin” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
Save
You added Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins to your Saves list
6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay at Magic River !!!! - Musty Dank Dark Dirty Cabin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pictures of this cabin are deceptive, you stay in a dark, dank basement, we needed two bathrooms for four people, and one of the showers was not working. The smoke alarm in one bedroom was hanging open with no batteries. When we nicely informed the owner after we left (two nights) that one of the showers was not working and we would like some compensation, she was rude and abrasive and refused to comp anything - hot tub temp - 85 degrees and dirty - both tubs were dirty - it is in a lovely location dirty and damp. You are being charged an arm and leg and have to bring your own linens, too - big mistake!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six of us stayed at the Paddler cabin for a family birthday celebration. We found the cabin clean with all advertised items. We cooked the majority of our meals there and did fine. In nice weather, we found that there was just enough room for this number of people, because the deck was used the most. Our one recommendation would be that the owners fix the living room ceiling fan, since it's hard to keep the temperature regulated in the loft. There are multiple scenic areas near the cabin to walk/run/hike and explore without having to go into town. The location was pretty convenient to Luray and Shenandoah National Forest as well.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Cast-A-Way Cabins called Reel-It-In. The cabin had 2 bedrooms with a loft that we used as a third bedroom. It has a large bathroom and a kitchen. The hot tub was an added bonus as was the wi-fi and satellite TV! We saw bears, deer and many other awesome wildlife. We were only 15 minutes from town and enjoyed nature! What a private gem in the woods!!! Can't wait to get back!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in the Sierra cabin . Yes the photos on website are a true picture of the interior but when it was clean !!! Had to wash all the kitchen utensils before we could eat, it was very off putting. Under the sofa seats were disgusting covered in hairs it was horrible, and the place generally hadn't been dusted and cleaned properly since heaven only knows. On the plus side the fridge and beds were clean otherwise we would have turned around and left. Hot tub was clean but the outside area wasn't didn't feel you wanted to eat outside.
There are much nicer places to stay in the area .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The pictures above are quite deceiving in the sense that all 5 cabins the owners have, are rolled into one review site and they have took the best parts of each one, for example, the cabin provided a hot tub that looked nothing like the clean pictures above, but was quite dirty and grimy. Although, it was quite relaxing but had to be turned on at the breaker switch creating a electrical hazard. I have given 2/5 mainly because of the positioning, it gives a beautiful view of the Shenandoah River and is as close as you could get without being inside. It is also close to the Skyline drive (which is fabulous) and the Luray Caverns, two popular tourist attractions.

We found the policy on sheets and towels VERY tight. On top of the expensive cabin, we found we had to pay an extra $35 for sheets (which did not fit) and towels.

The BIG thing that let the cabin down was the beds. Looking through the book of reviews and messages other visitors had wrote in, most have mentioned the beds are too hard and me and my family agreed. they felt as though we were sleeping on brick walls giving us back problems which contributed to us leaving one night early. Due to us being tourists, we were unaware that fishing was a great activity to do in these areas and it would be nice if some rods were provided.

Overall, this cabin is placed fabulously but the facilities provided were NOT up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Angler Cabin 20 miles outside of Luray. It was quite a drive, half on gravel road, so make sure you pack EVERYTHING you could possibly need! We went back into town once to go to the caverns and grab a few supplies, but the drive is beautiful none-the-less. We had access to a private ramp into the river and enjoyed swimming with our dog.
There was a fabulous private hot tub in its own gazebo for us to enjoy. The cabin was very clean and the amenities were great. There were a few utensils and cooking items that make the few things we cooked inside a breeze. The best part was sitting on the porch at night and watching the lightning bug show in the trees. It was wonderful! Cant wait to go back. (PS. excellent as a getaway, because there is no cell service).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I came here for a girls weekend getaway. One of the girls had been here a few years ago and promised us a relaxing weekend in the woods - these cabins delivered! Upon entering the cabin we noticed how clean it was - always a relief! These cabins aren't large by any means but are laid out well and have all the creature comforts you need (minus cell reception for the techie lovers like myself!). We spent our first night in the hot tub which was so relaxing and had a great time. The following day we went into the town of Luray and did some shopping in the local antique shops, browsed an art gallery and then headed to Luray Caverns for a tour (really cool and informative!). We also enjoyed grilling out on the grill and starting a firepit as well as getting to know our cabin neighbors who were all very friendly.

The only negative thing I have to say about the cabins was that the water had a really terrible sulfer smell that lingered after using the faucets. It didn't taste bad to drink but the smell was really quite offputting.

Beyond that, the cabin was perfect for a relaxing girls getaway and we've all made note to remember this place the next time we want to get away to the country!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

Address: 6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.