We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a vacation...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
Save
You added Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins to your Saves list
6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a vacation...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Cast-A-Way Cabins called Reel-It-In. The cabin had 2 bedrooms with a loft that we used as a third bedroom. It has a large bathroom and a kitchen. The hot tub was an added bonus as was the wi-fi and satellite TV! We saw bears, deer and many other awesome wildlife. We were only 15 minutes from town and enjoyed nature! What a private gem in the woods!!! Can't wait to get back!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in the Sierra cabin . Yes the photos on website are a true picture of the interior but when it was clean !!! Had to wash all the kitchen utensils before we could eat, it was very off putting. Under the sofa seats were disgusting covered in hairs it was horrible, and the place generally hadn't been dusted and cleaned properly since heaven only knows. On the plus side the fridge and beds were clean otherwise we would have turned around and left. Hot tub was clean but the outside area wasn't didn't feel you wanted to eat outside.
There are much nicer places to stay in the area .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The pictures above are quite deceiving in the sense that all 5 cabins the owners have, are rolled into one review site and they have took the best parts of each one, for example, the cabin provided a hot tub that looked nothing like the clean pictures above, but was quite dirty and grimy. Although, it was quite relaxing but had to be turned on at the breaker switch creating a electrical hazard. I have given 2/5 mainly because of the positioning, it gives a beautiful view of the Shenandoah River and is as close as you could get without being inside. It is also close to the Skyline drive (which is fabulous) and the Luray Caverns, two popular tourist attractions.

We found the policy on sheets and towels VERY tight. On top of the expensive cabin, we found we had to pay an extra $35 for sheets (which did not fit) and towels.

The BIG thing that let the cabin down was the beds. Looking through the book of reviews and messages other visitors had wrote in, most have mentioned the beds are too hard and me and my family agreed. they felt as though we were sleeping on brick walls giving us back problems which contributed to us leaving one night early. Due to us being tourists, we were unaware that fishing was a great activity to do in these areas and it would be nice if some rods were provided.

Overall, this cabin is placed fabulously but the facilities provided were NOT up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Angler Cabin 20 miles outside of Luray. It was quite a drive, half on gravel road, so make sure you pack EVERYTHING you could possibly need! We went back into town once to go to the caverns and grab a few supplies, but the drive is beautiful none-the-less. We had access to a private ramp into the river and enjoyed swimming with our dog.
There was a fabulous private hot tub in its own gazebo for us to enjoy. The cabin was very clean and the amenities were great. There were a few utensils and cooking items that make the few things we cooked inside a breeze. The best part was sitting on the porch at night and watching the lightning bug show in the trees. It was wonderful! Cant wait to go back. (PS. excellent as a getaway, because there is no cell service).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I came here for a girls weekend getaway. One of the girls had been here a few years ago and promised us a relaxing weekend in the woods - these cabins delivered! Upon entering the cabin we noticed how clean it was - always a relief! These cabins aren't large by any means but are laid out well and have all the creature comforts you need (minus cell reception for the techie lovers like myself!). We spent our first night in the hot tub which was so relaxing and had a great time. The following day we went into the town of Luray and did some shopping in the local antique shops, browsed an art gallery and then headed to Luray Caverns for a tour (really cool and informative!). We also enjoyed grilling out on the grill and starting a firepit as well as getting to know our cabin neighbors who were all very friendly.

The only negative thing I have to say about the cabins was that the water had a really terrible sulfer smell that lingered after using the faucets. It didn't taste bad to drink but the smell was really quite offputting.

Beyond that, the cabin was perfect for a relaxing girls getaway and we've all made note to remember this place the next time we want to get away to the country!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was real rough trying to find a last minute camp site on Labor Day weekend but we did at Shenandoah River Outfitters. The women on the phone were not very polite when I mentioned we would be coming in after dark from NJ. She said we'd have to be super quiet because it's quiet hours, however when we got there people were walking all over with beer cans and having a blast.

We found Nick, one of the campground hosts and he helped us find a site in the dark (it's an odd setup campground)

Overall, it's an average campground. Ive been to better but I've been to worse...sites are fairly close together with no real privacy between but the sites are decent size. We put up two family size tents and a screen house (we used the screen house as a barrier from the site next to us)

I want to try the campgrounds inside the national park, but on a whim, I would come back to this one if I had to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We hired a raft for the 4 of us when we visited Luray in July. The river was at its calmest, but we spent a pleasant 3 hours floating along with only one set of small rapids to raise the blood pressure. The river itself doesn't look particularly clean and the few places to stop were covered in litter so disappointingly we abandoned our plans for a swim. Booking in was efficient and friendly, as were the staff who drove the bus to the drop off and pick up points. Only complaint is that we were picked up as planned at 2 pm but then sat waiting for 40 minutes as others drifted in from the river - so make sure you don't need to get anywhere in a hurry on the day you do this.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

Address: 6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.