We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I came here for a girls weekend getaway. One of the girls had been here a few years ago and promised us a relaxing weekend in the woods - these cabins delivered! Upon entering the cabin we noticed how clean it was - always a relief! These cabins aren't large by any means but are laid out well and have all the creature comforts you need (minus cell reception for the techie lovers like myself!). We spent our first night in the hot tub which was so relaxing and had a great time. The following day we went into the town of Luray and did some shopping in the local antique shops, browsed an art gallery and then headed to Luray Caverns for a tour (really cool and informative!). We also enjoyed grilling out on the grill and starting a firepit as well as getting to know our cabin neighbors who were all very friendly.

The only negative thing I have to say about the cabins was that the water had a really terrible sulfer smell that lingered after using the faucets. It didn't taste bad to drink but the smell was really quite offputting.

Beyond that, the cabin was perfect for a relaxing girls getaway and we've all made note to remember this place the next time we want to get away to the country!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was real rough trying to find a last minute camp site on Labor Day weekend but we did at Shenandoah River Outfitters. The women on the phone were not very polite when I mentioned we would be coming in after dark from NJ. She said we'd have to be super quiet because it's quiet hours, however when we got there people were walking all over with beer cans and having a blast.

We found Nick, one of the campground hosts and he helped us find a site in the dark (it's an odd setup campground)

Overall, it's an average campground. Ive been to better but I've been to worse...sites are fairly close together with no real privacy between but the sites are decent size. We put up two family size tents and a screen house (we used the screen house as a barrier from the site next to us)

I want to try the campgrounds inside the national park, but on a whim, I would come back to this one if I had to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We hired a raft for the 4 of us when we visited Luray in July. The river was at its calmest, but we spent a pleasant 3 hours floating along with only one set of small rapids to raise the blood pressure. The river itself doesn't look particularly clean and the few places to stop were covered in litter so disappointingly we abandoned our plans for a swim. Booking in was efficient and friendly, as were the staff who drove the bus to the drop off and pick up points. Only complaint is that we were picked up as planned at 2 pm but then sat waiting for 40 minutes as others drifted in from the river - so make sure you don't need to get anywhere in a hurry on the day you do this.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rustic, Simple, out-of-the-way, no cell phone service..........Perfect!!!!!! Stayed at the Osprey, Blue Heron, and Wood duck for a work retreat. One minute walk from the cabins to the riverfront revealed a flowing piece of heaven-on-earth. Access was not bad and shallows provided a calm and tranquil place to veg out without drowning. The only things that will disturb your peace and quiet are the friendly canoers and curious fish that you share with the river. The cabins provided the bare essentials and the hot water was never in short supply with 15+ firefighters. The canoe trip was just as peaceful floating down river being awestruck by the scenery. Don't miss out on this excellent locale and tubing opportunity!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the rear of the cabin......extra dark!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Osprey and really enjoyed the quaint, bare bones cottage and the great location. Easy check-in was great on a busy holiday weekend. The grill and fire pits were great for gathering around after a long day of tubing. Plenty of places on the way to the cabins to get firewood as well.

Room Tip: These are away from restaurants, so plan to cook if you do not want to ride to town. No toaster in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything said "cabins on the river" but you couldn't see the river until you walked through a mosquito infested woods. Every shelf in the cabins had dust and dead bugs on them. I had to clean before I could put things away. Our family rented 3 Cabins and 2 of the hot tubs were not hot and ready to use until the end of second day. Young girls were sent to fix them who had no idea what they were doing. Attitudes by managers were not at all apologetic about our inconvenience. We won't go back. Poorly maintained and managed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This spring my company hosted a an employee canoe trip and overnight camp, including lunch and dinner for twenty, at the cost of $70 per person, We used Shenandoah River Outfitters this year. all went well with the boat and camper drop off at 10am. Some did not make lunch due to fishing and other boat issues, including mass sinkings caused by very high and swift waters after 3 days of rain. Apparently these conditions were not an issue according to the Mgmt during a call to check the river conditions the day before. 4 of us were 2 hours late getting off the river and even and missed dinner, but the bus was there and the driver indicated that this happens a lot. back at camp we were greeted by an irate owner who seemed to be possessed by who knows what and muttering that the police had been called on us and promptly told us to leave and never come back.BEWARE... GOOD TRIP BAD OWNER... GOOD LUCK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

Also Known As:
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel Luray
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel
Address: 6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty lodging in Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins to your Saves list