We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its BEST!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty lodging in Luray
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its BEST!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rustic, Simple, out-of-the-way, no cell phone service..........Perfect!!!!!! Stayed at the Osprey, Blue Heron, and Wood duck for a work retreat. One minute walk from the cabins to the riverfront revealed a flowing piece of heaven-on-earth. Access was not bad and shallows provided a calm and tranquil place to veg out without drowning. The only things that will disturb your peace and quiet are the friendly canoers and curious fish that you share with the river. The cabins provided the bare essentials and the hot water was never in short supply with 15+ firefighters. The canoe trip was just as peaceful floating down river being awestruck by the scenery. Don't miss out on this excellent locale and tubing opportunity!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the rear of the cabin......extra dark!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Osprey and really enjoyed the quaint, bare bones cottage and the great location. Easy check-in was great on a busy holiday weekend. The grill and fire pits were great for gathering around after a long day of tubing. Plenty of places on the way to the cabins to get firewood as well.

Room Tip: These are away from restaurants, so plan to cook if you do not want to ride to town. No toaster in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything said "cabins on the river" but you couldn't see the river until you walked through a mosquito infested woods. Every shelf in the cabins had dust and dead bugs on them. I had to clean before I could put things away. Our family rented 3 Cabins and 2 of the hot tubs were not hot and ready to use until the end of second day. Young girls were sent to fix them who had no idea what they were doing. Attitudes by managers were not at all apologetic about our inconvenience. We won't go back. Poorly maintained and managed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This spring my company hosted a an employee canoe trip and overnight camp, including lunch and dinner for twenty, at the cost of $70 per person, We used Shenandoah River Outfitters this year. all went well with the boat and camper drop off at 10am. Some did not make lunch due to fishing and other boat issues, including mass sinkings caused by very high and swift waters after 3 days of rain. Apparently these conditions were not an issue according to the Mgmt during a call to check the river conditions the day before. 4 of us were 2 hours late getting off the river and even and missed dinner, but the bus was there and the driver indicated that this happens a lot. back at camp we were greeted by an irate owner who seemed to be possessed by who knows what and muttering that the police had been called on us and promptly told us to leave and never come back.BEWARE... GOOD TRIP BAD OWNER... GOOD LUCK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Awesome! Went with my 7 year old. We got there at midnight and you have a code to get the key at the cabin. If you are going to the Blue Heron at night my advice: After you see SRO office and then you hit the gravel road...you will come to a Y in the road...stay to the Left! If you are traveling from Charlottesville in the dark...keep in mind you will be hitting windy roads and a lot of switchbacks and fog too.
Okay the office (we met the next day) was super nice and asked while we were leaving if we had a good stay.
Yes yes I would love to come back here with the rest of my family too. The Blue Heron is in between the other 2 small cabins.
It has a place out back for grilling, sitting at your own fire (each cabin has their own area but they are close to eachother), a HUGE yard area that is beautiful with a lot of trees and you walk right down to the river. Gorgeous.
If you want to save $25 bucks then bring your own linen and towels. I only had my kid and myself and we slept in the same bed. But I didn't know about the towels. I ended up using our beach towels that I brought.
There is no oven in the cabin but everything else you could use in a kitchen. There aren't any lamps either but only overhead light. So if you are trying to lay down and relax you may want to bring a flashlight. Also, there is no t.v. but personally I don't watch it while on any type of vacation. There is also NO CELL. I have both AT&T and Verizon and neither worked here but did work up by SRO office. I also have pics I will post later.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be right next to another cabin you might ask how close you are to the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I guess it's all in what you're used to. The location on the river was picturesque, and the cabin size was fine for the four of us, but it the overwhelming smell of damp and must was a problem. We guessed there may have been flooding in its past. We paid extra for linens, but on arrival the beds were not made. We called the owners who were helpful in telling us how to access the closet, but who needs that problem at the end of a long day of travel? And there was the issue of trash disposal -- the town reclamation site was closed on the day we left, so we had to find a gas station dumpster to stash our trash in. All this might be OK for a group of guys on a fishing trip, but did not fly well with the ladies in our party.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Quality Organization! We will be back every summer. Luray is about an hour 15 minutes from DC and is very relaxing compared to city/urban life. We took the canoes for 13 miles and really enjoyed ouselves. Floating down the river is super peaceful and you see a lot of wildlife. The Rapids are fun too. So awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

Address: 6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty lodging in Luray
Also Known As:
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins to your Saves list