We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
Save
You added Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins to your Saves list
6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A buddy and I stayed here for a weekend fishing trip. It offered a great location and all the amenities that we needed. We stayed in the Hook cabin and will be back! Two comfortable double beds, heat, A/C, mini kitchen (minus an oven and dishwasher), kitchenware, Direct TV, full bath, hot tube, picnic table, fire pit and grill. In general it is clean and well kept up. You can opt to have linens added to the rental or bring your own. About 50 yards to the river to hang out or throw a line in. Well worth the trip and a great place to know about. Do not expect to be on line or get cell service which was OK with me for the weekend and plan on bringing all that you need as you will be about 20 min drive from any type of services. The firefly show at night was amazing. Only thing that we did not really care for was that you need to take the trash with you down to the outfitters when you leave which is the opposite direction to get out of town. Was not a big deal for me since I had a pick up and opted just to toss it in the back and dispose of after driving home.

Room Tip: Bring what you need becuase you are a little bit of a drive from any stores or services, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed in Paddler which has a hot tub on the deck, wonderful to lie listening to the night noises and see the fireflies, (tub was v. hot). Cabin was well equipped, clean and comfortable, massive fridge/freezer, good showeretc. Agree with previous review, we were given the impression that the cabin was beside the river, which it is not, you can walk there, but cannot see it from the cabin.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, his sister and her husband. We stayed in the cabin called "Sinker" which has one bedroom and a double bed up on a mezzanine.
The cabin was ideal, very compact and basic, but thats all we needed. It was great to have a hot tub and we also went swimming in the river right near the cabin.
The location was excellent, we really felt like we were out in the wild and really enjoyed having a bbq and camp fire in the evenings.
The accomodation was very clean and had most things you'd need (except bed linen).
This would be a lovely palce to go as a couple or a family.
I would also recommend doing a canoe trip down the river. The scenery is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

The Angler cabin is small but very nice, clean. The website is misleading in that you think the cabin is "on" the river. It's actually in a large field facing the mountains. The river is a 5 minute walk, or you can load your car and drive. The cabins came w pillows/blankets, silverware, cookware, grill and fire pit. Make sure you pack well because you are 40 minutes from town. The river is very clean and warm. We tubed one day w the Outfitters. We did the part of the river from 16-19. Unfortunately they hadn't had rain in awhile and the river wasn't moving so it took us 5 hrs to get down. Luckily you're surrounded by beauty so you really don't mind. We also did the Caverns and Garden maze in Luray. We would definitely go back but I think I would book the Hook cabins since they're on the river and a lot closer to town.

  • Liked — cleanliness, views
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

My family and I just returned from a weeks vacation in the "Hook Cabin" in Shenandoah. I could not have been more happy with this trip. The cabin was breathtaking..much better than I had expected. The best suprise was how close the river was, to the cabin. Traveling with a few children, the accessability of the River, was my biggest concern. They were able to catch minnows, swing from the rope swing, swim, and tube, all in front of the cabin. The water was free of debris, and pretty clear. We are already planning our next stay at this cabin. You WILL NOT be dissapointed.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Loved everything about it!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

This place is #1 in my book. My husband and I stay at their Osprey cabin at least once a year, if not more. Directly on the Shenandoah River, these little cabins are perfect for a stay full of outdoor adventure. We kayaked everyday. The Outfitters store run their own kayaking, tubing, canoeing business, but since we had our own kayak, for a small fee, they will pick you up and take you back to your vehicle. They even picked us up one day all the way on the other side of the River in Bentonville when we wanted to go down further than their normal trips. Everyone is friendly and accomodating and their drivers are great. The cabin is small, but its plenty of room for what you need to do. Two full beds, with twin bunks over, could sleep 6. Bathroom with shower...and AC! Small fridge, microwave and two burner stove (which tends to work when it wants to) But use the outside Grille. Theres a firepit for each cabin too. Must start fires to keep bugs away.

  • Liked — Location on River
  • Disliked — Spiders and gnats that are immune to bug spray
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We were looking for a place that we could get a group of friends together for a camping/canoeing weekend. I started searching online and I found Shenandoah River Outfitters. I called them on the phone initially to see how to make reservations and they were so friendly. We stayed in the Drifter and the Paddler cabins. These cabins are very far out and they take some time to reach because you travel on a gravel road. The peace and quiet out there was what we all really needed. Everyone loved the cabins and we already have our cabins booked this Memorial Day 2007. All the beds were equally comfortable and the cabins are perfect for people who just need a place to lay their head at night. The only time we used the cabins were to sleep and shower. The views and air outside were so incredible we all just wanted to stay outside. We liked it so much in May 2006 that we booked again for another weekend in August 2006. Each time we got back we take new friends with us and they get hooked on the place too. So this year when we go back we’re renting 2 cabins instead of just 2. It’s very affordable and worth every penny. We have our own canoes, but Shenandoah River Outfitter will rent canoes for a reasonable price. I highly recommend this for anyone! Just make sure to take every thing you need because like I said you are out in mother nature and it's a long ride back to the grocery store.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

Address: 6502 South Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.