We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome Getaway in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Escape to your Saves list
1132 Jewell Hollow Road, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Whiskey Wine Loop
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An awesome Getaway in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Shadow Mountain Escape is the place to go! We have never seen such a beautiful cabin with European flair. The host Ralph and hostess Karen are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met. The hospitality we received was amazing... The welcome we received was the biggest surprise with homemade jams and jellies and baked breads and cookies!!! Too many treats to mention, you have to go and stay there..... We are a family of five and we rented the Bear Dance Lodge, consisting of The Bumble Bee and The Dragonfly... The cabins are separate and private, yet if you rent the entire lodge you can leave both doors open, and its like living in a huge house!!!! There are two outer doors which you lock and you have such privacy. We loved being fortunate to rent the entire lodge, and when we go back we will do it again. The timber frame home is just pristine, along with the furnishings and the Cantina, and observation tower. there aren't enough words to compliment SME!!!!! The observation tower is high up and it overlooks the property and the view is spectacular! At night you can touch the stars from up there!!! A sight you must see for yourself...
If you want privacy and need an escape please make sure your next stay is at Shadow Mountain Escape. The name says it all.
Our son had a birthday while we stayed at SME, and when we returned from driving around Luray, we had surprises waiting for us. The Cantina was decorated with ballons and hats and party horns and last but not least "an awesome birthday cake" with candles!!! Karen doesn't miss a thing ever!!!! There is much to see in Luray a great town. We went during the fair and had tons of fun. But when the fair was over we returned to Shadow Mountain Escape for peace and quiet.. Thank you Shadow Mountain Escape and thank you Karen and Ralph, we love ya and we'll be back!!!!!

  • Liked — not enough room to list just lets say it was an experience we will never forget AA+++Shadow Mountain Escape is the place to go! We have never seen such a beautiful cabin with European flair. The host Ralph and hostess Karen are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met. The hospitality we received was amazing... The welcome we received was the biggest surprise with homemade jams and jellies and baked breads and cookies!!! Too many treats to mention, you have to go and stay there..... We are a family of five and we rented the Bear Dance Lodge, consisting of The Bumble Bee and The Dragonfly... The cabins are separate and private, yet if you rent the entire lodge you can leave both doors open, and its like living in a huge house!!!! There are two outer doors which you lock and you have such privacy. We loved being fortunate to rent the entire lodge, and when we go back we will do it again. The timber frame home is just pristine, along with the furnishings and the Cantina, and observation tower. there aren't enough words to compliment SME!!!!! The observation tower is high up and it overlooks the property and the view is spectacular! At night you can touch the stars from up there!!! A sight you must see for yourself..........A+++++++++++++++++ALL THE WAY TO KAREN AND RALPH
  • Disliked — Nothing At All
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
95
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We spent only one night at Shadow Mountain Escape and wish it could have been more! To classify this place as a cabin does it an injustice. These are beautiful timber frame homes!

Karen does a fantastic job in taking care of the property and providing special little touches for her guests that you don't normally find in a cabin rental.

You feel like you are really out in the wilderness but with all the amenities, yet only a few miles from town.

There were half a dozen deer in the yard and even a bear came though. It rained the night we were there. We left our patio door open a bit so we could hear the rain coming down. It was pure heaven.

We loved our little one night get away in the mountains. Thanks Karen!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — We liked it all
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

My extended family of 5 adults and 2 children (9 and 10) stayed one night at Shadow Mountain Escape after touring Washington DC. Our cozy cabin and the tranquil setting was perfect for unwinding after the busy pace of the city. The children (and adults) loved playing darts in the Cantina, climbing the winding stairs to the observation tower and sitting around the bonfire that Karen, the owner and manager, thoughtfully made for us. She even provided the marshmellows! My only regret is that our schedule allowed us just one night to spend at Shadow Mountain Escape. But that one night was a perfect end to our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

I recently took my fiancee to Shadow Mtn. Escape for her birthday. We stayed in the "butterfly loft". I cannot describe in words how amazing this trip was for us. The subtle quaintness of the cabins, the european influenced design and architecture, and the overwhelming beauty of the surrounding wilderness all amounted to a trip that was nothing less than pure relaxation. The thing that impressed us the most was the very personalized way in which Karen (owner / operator) helped us so tremendously in setting this whole thing up....with her correspondance and help, she really went above and beyond in making this a special weekend for us. I strongly recommend Shadow Mtn. Escape for anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway, and a special experience with their significant other. Thank you Karen!

  • Liked — it was very personalized
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

After 4 visits to Shadow Mountain Escape in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, we decided to finally share this secret vacation spot with fellow Europeans. We travel from Zurich, Switzerland to Virginia on a yearly basis - and no where in America have we felt more at home or have we been better received. We travel with our "Harley" and enjoy the ride and views in the Shenandoah National Park - the Timber Frame cabins are beautiful and unique in America - they are located next to the Shenandoah National park with endless hiking trails and a short drive from the legendary Shenandoah River. The owners Ralph and Karen will gladly help you coordinate your outing to get the best of the experience. Karen will spoil you with her home baked snacks and Ralph is happy to bring you fishing on the River - or at least give you fishing tips. The Butterfly loft offers a comfortable Queen size bedroom and great deck with nice views of the pond (Be sure to ask the owner's for some fish food). On every visit we have been impressed with the cleanliness, care and attention to detail. There is a local farm (Griffith Farm) within 2-3 miles from the cabin - be sure to try their fresh beef. There are many wonderful Virginia Wineries within a 30 minute - 1 hr drive. There is a BBQ grill near all the cabins. The Cantina was just added recently - it's a great room and will remind a German or Italian of home! It is conveniently located for short trips to the beaches of the mid-Atlantic coast, Washington DC., and numerous great shopping locations.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Just returned from a weekend at Shadow Mountain Escape. It truly lives up to its name. Very private and relaxing, the "cabins" are really two condos inside one building, but because of the way they are built there are no adjoining walls, and you feel like you have the place to yourself. Even better than pictured on their website.

Our cabin, the Dragonfly, was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Leather sofas and deck off the upstairs den were added bonuses. We were greeted warmly by Karen, the owner, and then left to enjoy the property and relax. We didn't participate in the evening bonfire, but it would be great for families. We did walk the short trail, and the deer appeared as if they were scheduled.

Two couples or a big family would have plenty of room here. It would also make a great rendevouz point for friends. Access to Shenandoah Nat'l Park and town of Luray is excellent. We'd recommend the Artisans Grill for lunch or a light dinner, and a Moment to Remember for cappuccino.

We will absolutely visit again.

  • Liked — Every detail was top notch
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

If you are seeking a quiet, secluded, scenic place to relax and chill out, you cannot do better than Shadow Mountain Escape. Karen & Ralph have created an environment which immediately makes you feel welcomed and at ease. The property, with an abundance of trees, nature trail, pond, and evening campfires offers a unique experience. We especially enjoyed sitting outside on the elevated deck of the Butterfly loft. The deck afforded a peaceful view of the night sky, as well as a great place to linger a little longer over the delicious basket of pastries with morning coffee on those early fall mornings. You should know that Karen is a blue-ribbon-winning baker then you will understand our delight when tasting the plum cake!

With so many interesting local activities, I appreciated Ralph’s recommendations on the nearby wineries, Luray dining, Shenandoah Forest hiking/driving, and the Caverns, even though there were plenty of detail brochures in the cabin.

I have traveled a fair amount and spent my share of nights in a variety hotels & lodges. Shadow Mountain Escape now ranks at the top of my list! I highly recommend it! I dare you to be disappointed!

  • Liked — Quiet, secluded, embedded in forest
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Road, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia’s “Simply Charming” authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park – Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple’s escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the “Blue Ridge Whiskey Wine Loop”… only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.