We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Meadows Lodge Restaurant

Big Meadows Lodge Restaurant
Shenandoah National Park, Mile 51.2, Skyline Drive, Luray, VA
+1 540-999-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 34 Restaurants in Luray
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Good variety, a little pricey. Vegetables seemed fresh. Dinner was good. We had breakfast buffet and that was pricey as well for what you got.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice dining room and service - upcharges for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If there was a 'good' button I'd click it. Count as three and a half stars. Never been anywhere where toast wasn't served at breakfast. Not only wasn't it included in the meal, but not available at all! Butter for the grits was an extra $1. Coffee was surprisingly fine, but no bottomless cups! We had a pleasant young man serving us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“big meadows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

You can always see deer between Skyland and Big Meadows.

We also saw a bear at Skyland,
The pizza at Big Meadows is recommended for a light meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go to the Wayside instead...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Lodge restaurant, like the restaurant at Skyland, has tremendous potential but is now best avoided. It was better last year but the improvements they tried to make to the menu in 2014 fail because the service and the cooking is so bad. I visit the Drive at least once a week and ate there a day or so after it opened this year and it has remained just as bad on each of the five occasions I ate there this spring/summer. Mixed up orders, poorly trained staff, grubby tables and food that has clearly sat under the light too long are my main complaints. As of early July, I stopped going there because it was so bad. Go to the Wayside (more of a cafeteria) back out on the Drive beside Big Meadows — it is cleaner, the food is way better and it costs less though it closes earlier. In the Lodge, I don't know what the bar is like (as oppose to the main restaurant) -- maybe worth trying. I probably should have rated the Lodge as terrible but I don't like giving bad reviews.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Trae was a great waiter; ran himself off his feet!! My wife got the great salmon she wanted and I got a great turkey dinner I wanted.
!Delicioso!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Meadows Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Meadows Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Meadows Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.