We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cabins at Brookside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cabins at Brookside
Save
You added The Cabins at Brookside to your Saves list
2978 US Highway 211 East, Luray, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
DeKalb, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed two nights in the smallest cabin. It was a wonderful stay. The cabin was cozy and comfortable. The cabin is recently renovated--clean and well appointed. We liked the skylights and the front porch. There is a back door, with a small deck. The brook runs behind the backyard. Easy access to Shenandoah National Park, where we hiked two days. We ate a dinner and two breakfasts in the restaurant at The Cabins and had good, basic food and excellent, friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

It's was our first time to Luray VA . We stayed in Cabin 4 for a mid-winter getaway to visit the Luary Carvas for the first time. The people were so very warm and friendly. It was very modern and nicely decorated for a log cabin. The "WiFi" worked which was a blessing for us computer nerds. We will be coming back to "Brookside Cabin" in for a mid-spring getaway because the service was great. These prices are affordable for any newly married couples who are on a very tight budget for a min-vacation or any wealthy couple too. The only downside for us was they do not have a ATM onsite, so you must have cash on you to tip your housekeepers. There was a bear walking around our car and the cabins. The bear got into their kitchen garage can outside of the restaurant, so be careful and do not forget you are in the mountain with mother nature. This is a place where we bring our future children as a mini family vacation.

Room Tip: If you need more space than you might want a larger room but if you are on budget with "soul-ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I've been there twice and look forward to return again in the near future.
Clean, convenient, nice people and great food in the resturant.
Heads and shoulders above most of the other lodging options in the area.
AMERICAN OWNED
If you do plan to go make reservations ahead of time or you may miss out like I have a few times.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

In an area that has more log cabins than anywhere else in VA, the Cabins at Brookside stand out. The cabins are nicely decorated and the kitchen is well-equipped. Beds are comfortable and everything well cleaned.

Room Tip: We had the big cabin which has a lovely terrace overlooking the brook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 6 for a mid-summer visit to Shenandoah. We've previously stayed at other mountainside-style cabins, and were impressed with the Brookside. It's simple, clean and well-appointed lodging with easy access (via 211) to hiking in Shenandoah National Park and attractions in downtown Luray. The Cabin 6 layout (two separate bed/bath combos and a separate living room/sitting/eating area) was perfect for setting up a porta-crib in its own room and for hanging out after kid bedtime. Yes, as other reviewers have said, the window ACs are loud, but frankly, AC is often a luxury in cabin settings, so we weren't complaining. Rates during high season are comparable to some hotel rates, but the personal space and home-like feel of the cabin is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We traveled with our two-year-old son and stayed in Cabin 7. The website gave the impression that the cabins were quiet and secluded but failed to mention that they are located right on the main highway. Jacuzzi was nice after a long travel and the brook behind the cabin was great for wading with my son, but the perks end there. The decor is outdated, the cabin smelled musty (I sneezed uncontrollably from check-in to check-out), and the bathroom was full of water damage. This is not a place to bring a toddler, as there are just too many tacky nicknacks for them to get a hold of. Overall...overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Cabin number 3, and it was just lovely. Clean, cozy, romantic, the hot tube was perfect right in the middle of the room. The cabins are very well localized, the breakfast is also very good, we chose the buffet and had a delicious meal. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Would definitively recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cabins at Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Brookside

Address: 2978 US Highway 211 East, Luray, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than eighty years, Brookside has been welcoming guests from around the world in Luray, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, USA. Our vacation rental cabins are near the entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The rear of the cabins open to decks or sun rooms which overlook a scenic bubbling brook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Brookside Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cabins at Brookside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.