We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We loved the Piney hill. The place is beautifully decorated it feels warm and cozy. Hank and WIiley are great hosts. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is awesome and so are the special treats we found in our room We cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
523
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My brother and his wife and my husband and I spent a delightful weekend at Piney Hills B&B in October of 2010. Hank and Wiley are excellent hosts and have every aspect of B&B service perfected. From the friendly greeting at the door calling us by name to a chocolate candy on our pillows and the wonderful breakfasts and detailed directions to local events and activities we were pleased with the experience. Their location in the quiet country side is the perfect location to unwind from the busy lives the four of us lead!

We are already booked again for the four of in October of 2011.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Our first trip to the Shenandoah Valley area included our first stay at a bed and breakfast. Piney Hill was rated number 1 in the area by Trip Advisor so we decided to make that our base of operations for a 4-night stay touring the area. We couldn't have been more pleased. Hank and Wiley were the perfect hosts, greeted us warmly on our arrival and immediately made us feel at home.The guys purchased the old farmhouse in 2000 and did a magnificent job modernizing the place. We stayed in the Emma Ruffner Rodgers room on the second floor. It was, as advertised, a bright, cheery room with a very comfortable queen bed and very nice private bathroom with large shower. The room was cozy and comfortable, though a clothes closet would have been appreciated. The only storage area was a two-drawer dresser and a row of coat hooks, so we mainly lived out of our suitcase. The room had modern amentities- cable TV, all-season fireplace, and a/c. Breakfasts were unbelievable- enough to keep us satisfied until late in the afternoon. There was no thought of doing lunch- we were too stuffed. The guys were also great about discussing the area with us and recommending restaurants and attractions- even printing out driving directions for us. The area is gorgeous- farms with cattle, pigs and sheep all around- we even woke to the sound of "mooing" one morning! Evidently they do quite a business with repeat customers and it's easy to see why. We will definitely return when in the area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband an I spent our five-year anniversary at Piney Hill. We stayed two nights, but I wish we could have stayed longer. The B&B is situated in a very beautiful setting, just a few miles outside of downtown Luray. The room was well furnished and very clean, and our bathroom had all the necessities and toiletries you need when you travel. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner and area attractions. The best part of the experience was the breakfast. Both days, were were served a plentiful breakfast that was amongst the best I have ever had. I'm not a "breakfast" person in general, but I thoroughly enjoyed the meals we were served. Snacks and sodas are also provided throughout the day. We appreciated that after an afternoon of nearby wine-tasting.

With only a two hour drive from the DC area, this is a fantastic and easy getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My wife and I chose the Piney Hill based on the website alone. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were wondering, as we got further away from the city, what we would find. TWO of the most hospitable gentlemen you could ever meet helped make our stay just perfect. Everything is so cozy and homelike. The rooms are amazing and all attention to detail has been paid. We look for the best things when staying away from home and there was no need to worry here. As a plus side to the warmth and good feeling you get from Wiley and Hank, the breakfasts are the center of each day. The best coffee my wife and I have ever enjoyed and the food like a picture on the plate and perfectly delicious. Conversation at the breakfast table was so heart warming and enjoyable with a sense of humor adding to the perfection of the stay. You feel like you really didn't leave home. The setting of the B & B is amazing with it's breathtaking view of the mountains. And there's just enough of the down home country feeling on the premises. We were given thorough help on local restaurants and places of interest and directions. And the gift shop was totally worth the visit. The only bad part of the trip was having to leave and feeling like we were leaving home behind us. We miss Wiley and Hank and the Piney Hill already.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Mark Ruffner Suite was perfect for us (my husband has insomnia), so the additional
bedroom was a blessing. Hank and Wiley were gracious and knowledgeable hosts,
the breakfasts were excellent and well presented. We enjoyed the conversation with
the other guests and Hank. Location is secluded but readily accessable to Luray
Caverns, Monticello, Montpelier and we even made a trip to DC to visit Arlington National
Cemetery and the tidal basin monuments (a little less than 2 hours). We went from here to The Inn at Little Washington (very pricey which was no surprise) and was a
trip to remember----------but we won't do that again, however, we will visit Piney Hills the next time we are in the area. First Class all the way!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This B&B is the best. The owner/operators are great guys and always willing to recommend the best places to eat and see (and they are always "right on" with their recommendations)! The breakfastes are fantastic and the Walter Rogers Room was clean and tastefully decorated. You cannot do better than Piney HIll. We also loved its location -- close to the Skyline Drive, horseback riding, wineries, restaurants and antique shops.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA farmhouse B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms and a 2 room suite in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.