We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful weekend at Piney Hill!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Another wonderful weekend at Piney Hill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second weekend stay at Piney Hill B&B. We discovered PIney Hill in 2010 and vowed to return! Our second trip was even better than our first. The Emma Ruffner Rogers room was still immaculate, beautifully decorated (as is the whole house) and cozy...just as I remembered it! Hank and Wiley are the perfect hosts who have truly thought of EVERYTHING! Umbrellas when it is raining, the perfect dinner recommendations for every occasion, gourmet breakfast, quiet outdoor spots for enjoying the beautiful 360 degree mountain views, vineyard recommendations, hiking recommendations...you name it, they've got it covered! Plan a get-away to Luray just to stay here...you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
523
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary and absolutely loved everything about Piney Hill. The warm welcome, the breakfast, view, and suggestions were perfect. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a great stay! Wiley and Hank were great hosts and educated us on everything we needed to know about the area. The breakfast was amazing-- come hungry! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very cozy. If you're feeling energetic, there are great hikes and activities around town, Luray Caverns among them. If you're feeling lazy (or if the weather isn't cooperating), Hank and Wiley have a huge DVD collection, and all rooms have satellite TV.

Overall, this is probably the best B&B we've every visited. Would make a great weekend away from DC or any other city in the region.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It has hard to add much to the 600+ well-deserved 5-star reviews, but we will try. The views of the mountains on all sides are breath-taking. The historic cabin main-house is charming and very comfortable. When we pulled up we were welcomed by Prissy--the cat welcoming committee. So sweet. Wiley and Hank are two of the most gracious and thoughtful hosts we have had at a B&B. Their gourmet breakfasts were nothing short of 4-star restaurant-quality one would expect from the best-trained chefs in the world--from innovative pumpkin pancakes one day, a perfect spinach quiche the next, and decadent peach french toast, the last. Our room was very comfortable. Our hosts gave us great advice on hiking trips and on restaurants. In short, this B&B is everything a B&B should be...and more. Come here and become part of their extended family for life.

Room Tip: The room we chose had a dedicated bathroom, but it was across the hall. It was fine, but the next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and just returned from a romantic weekend in the Hurley Byrd cottage. Hank and Wiley were spectacular hosts, making us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The cottage is wonderfully designed, and positioned for unobstructed mountain views in multiple directions, including an amazing sunset view. From making dinner reservations, scheduling a couples massage in our cottage, to delivering delicious snacks and breakfasts, to recommending local activities, Hank and Wiley handled every detail to make our weekend relaxing and memorable. We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time with Wiley and Hank. Very knowledgable of the area and made excellent suggestions for things to do. Shared with us wonderful and fun stories about the house and the area. We felt at home and when we left we felt like we made good friends. The food is fantastic and the place is cozy and clean. Hank and Wiley were very thoughtful. They kept checking on us on the ride to their place and left my husband a card wishing him a great birthday. We will be back for sure. We miss them already!!

Room Tip: We stayed at Emma Rufner's room or as we like to call it the yellow room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgely, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is by far the most exceptional B and B we have ever visited. Wiley & Hank went above and beyond to make our anniversary weekend special. Hurley Byrd cottage was beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. Each morning our breakfast arrived in a picnic basket on the porch. It was a nice change of pace to get to eat a special breakfast in pajamas with a view of rolling fields and the occasional cow roaming the pasture behind the cottage. What makes this B and B truly special are the hosts. Hank and Wiley are welcoming and laid back, and have lots of suggestions on everything from hikes in Shenandoah to local restaurants.They made our (delicious) breakfasts vegan on request and even left vegan desserts for us on the table inside the cottage. When we came home late one evening we found they had turned on the cottage light for us. It is this attention to detail that really made the stay special. Staying in the cottage was delightful and definitely worth the extra cost. We can not wait to come back and visit again!

Room Tip: We loved Hurley Byrd! Cozy and clean and beautifully decorated! You will love breakfast arriving in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA farmhouse B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms and a 2 room suite in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.