We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piney Hills B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Reston, VA
1 review
“Piney Hills B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a comfortable and relaxing stay at the Piney Hills B&B. We stayed in a lovely cottage that was warm and cozy. A great cottage to hang out in and come back to after exploring. The guys were great and friendly and the food for breakfast was just wonderful. We look forward to going again.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
530
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
annapolis, md
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Look no further. This B&B was simply wonderful for a nice relaxing getaway. The food was great and the hosts were top notch. They really tried to think of anything and everything to make your trip comfortable and enjoyable. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My fiancee and I were looking for some where different to go. He had never been to Luray Caverns before and so we started looking in the area. We came across Piney Hill B&B and they happened to have just one room vacant for the weekend we were going. This was going to also be our first weekend as an engaged couple. We had a lot of preconceived notions about staying at a B&B and we were very nervous. When we got there our preconceived notions went away almost immediately! The next morning when we sat down for one of the most amazing breakfast's I've ever had we knew we had been very wrong about the B&B scene or at least this one! We had the most perfect weekend imaginable and a lot of that had to do with Wiley and Hank. They had amazing suggestions for what to do for the weekend and they sent out an email in advance to us with these. They went above and beyond in every instance. They are both truly amazing people and amazing hosts! If only they could do our wedding!!

The room was downstairs and we expected it to be a little loud and less private, but we never experienced that. We found the room to be very cozy, quiet and private. It had a beautiful bathroom and the gas fire place was amazing! Wiley and Hank were so wonderful and they felt like good friends that we had known for years. They made everything feel very relaxing. They seemed to know what we needed and wanted from the very start without us telling them. The house was spotless and uniquely beautiful. We would recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The bed and breakfast is a close 2 hour drive out of the Northern Va area and is the perfect way to escape the pace of the area out into a calm countryside. The drive was great and had many sights to see along the way. I imagine during the spring, summer or even better the fall the colors of the surrounding nature must look incredible.

My partner and I were only able to stay just the one night but we will definitely be retuning. The location was very easy to find aside from my iPhone deciding it would be a fun idea to take me down a few random back roads. The bed and breakfast is tucked into the countryside but only a good 10min from Main Street of which you can find shops, restaurants and trail to walk/bike. Hank and Wiley (innkeepers) were great! Made us feel at home the minute we walked in. Hank took the time to let us get settled in and then told us all about the history of the home and surrounding sights/restaurants to check out.

After we settled in we spent some time just relaxing in the very comfortable cozy room we picked and enjoyed time away from hectic schedules of work and life back home. We went out to Main St. in the evening to get some dinner and returned home to sink ourselves out back in the outdoor jacuzzi. It was also perfect. Just what we needed. The temperature had dropped in the evening and there was a good breeze coming thru the area but even with that the jacuzzi was great!! And a perfect sight above with the sky covered in stars as there aren't any real lights around since it is out there in the countryside.

The next morning we awoke to coffee prepared for us and the most delicious breakfast I've had in awhile. It's not often we take the time to prepare a breakfast like that so it was nice to get pampered with a good ol' country breakfast. Wiley made some incredible peach French toast!

Overall like I said above it was a great visit and we were truly taken care of with great hospitality. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want the best home-cooked breakfasts, delicious home-baked goods, and great service all with amazing mountain views and adorable rooms, STAY HERE! If you don't want any of that, well, you're an idiot and you're wrong. So get over yourself and stay here. Hank and Wiley are literally the best innkeepers we've ever had the pleasure of meeting.

Love,

Web and Rachel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We met up with our best friends from PA at the Piney Hill B & B. Our stay was wonderful. Neither couple knew much about the area but within minutes of our arrival Hank and Wiley made us feel at home and provided us with lost of things "to do" in the area.
The B & B is lovely. It's clean, private and incredibly decorated with tons of antiques. It takes about 10 minutes to get into Luray from the B & B. And the food...to die for. Cookies upon our arrival, dessert on our beds in the evening and the breakfasts were truly wonderful.
We hope to return in the fall to see the autumn colors. Can't wait! Thanks again, Hank and Wiley for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

As a Christmas gift to each other my boyfriend and I wanted to take a weekend trip out of the city and Piney Hill provided us with that perfect getaway. Not only is the B&B quaint and peaceful but the hosts, Hank and Wiley, were fantastic. They immediately made us feel at home and genuinely cared how our days were. They provided a real breakfast each morning, no cereal or bagels but French toast, quiche, sticky buns (which were scrumptious!), yogurt parfait, sliced fruit and other foods. They are amazing cooks. The B&B is close to the Shenandoah mountains, wineries, Luray Caverns and great restaurants. We definitely became fans of this B&B and we're looking forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA farmhouse B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms and a 2 room suite in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.