We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beyond my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for an out-of-the-way B&B in Luray where we could just relax, and we definitely found it. Upon arrival we knew right away this was a well taken care of home with all of the beautiful landscaping, flowers, and fall decorations placed just right. One of the innkeepers, Wiley, greeted us at the door and immediately made us feel at home. He showed us around the inn and gave us a brief history of the home with some very interesting facts. While talking with Wiley, the other innkeeper, Hank, walked in the kitchen to greet us and we felt like we were having a conversation with great friends from the past. They both left us with useful information about the town, musical events and restaurants. We spent a fantastic evening in town, came back to Piney Hill B&B, and spent a comfortable night in our room. We woke to the wonderful aroma of breakfast baking in the kitchen, and when we finally made it downstairs, we grabbed a cup of coffee and spent a few minutes in the side yard surrounded by the view of the mountains. When Wiley let us know breakfast was ready, we were seated at a gorgeous 10 foot long old barn-style table and had the most delicious breakfast I've had in years. Wiley and Hank were both in the kitchen preparing breakfast, but it's still up in the air as to who cooked what - I think they both need to get credit for it! After breakfast, we were given even more information about what was going on in town, so off we went on our adventure in the Luray area. The inn was very, very clean, and was tastefully decorated with so many items placed in the perfect places. My only regret is not bringing my bathing suit for the hot tub - it's outside and looks like it would be so nice to relax in the hot tub while surrounded by the mountains. We will definitely be back to Piney Hill Bed and Breakfast - I'm already checking my schedule for when we can go!

Room Tip: Emma Ruffner Rogers room has a wonderful mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
499
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the newly created Hurley Byrd Cottage this past weekend for a total of 3 nights and 4 days. Hank and Wiley outdid themselves with the attention to detail and level of hospitality. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, they both took every opportunity to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

To begin, I want to discuss the cottage. We were the second guests to ever stay in the building. It has recently been designed, decorated, painted and loved. It is apparent that Hank and Wiley love what they do, because the cottage was resplendent. I constantly was taking pictures of little details because of its charm and whimsy: the cute lamp in the bathroom, the hand-stitched artwork by the front door, the antique bureau...The list continues.

The food was equally impressive. Food is always appreciated. But great food is admired. That is to say, that the breakfasts were delightful and completely consumed. Each morning a basket was thoughtfully placed at our front door. A slight rap at the door indicated that a hot meal awaited us. It was like opening a present, anticipating what lucky meal we would be eating. From blueberry stuffed French toast to a sausage frittata--we were amazed. As a gourmand, I took complete pleasure in savoring every bite.

Lastly I want to point out the Inn itself offered many great features. We awoke every morning to mist on the horizon and cows out to pasture. A hot-tub was available to guests (which we gladly partook after a long hike). Additionally Hank and Wiley have gone crazy for movies. With at least 200 selections, plus HBO and satellite TV, it was easy to cozy up at night with a blanket. Finally, they have a small store that offers all sorts of country decor and vintage finds. It literally felt like walking into a Pottery Barn. We left with a small hand-stitched "no place like home" art piece. A nice reminder for the great time we had.

So overall, I think we couldn't have had a better experience. Trust that from the time you arrive till the time you leave, you will be completely relaxed. They both have this down to a science. Many many thanks!

Room Tip: The cottages offer complete privacy and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Piney Hill B&B in the Rosebud Cottage to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We could not have asked for a more pleasant stay or more gracious hosts. Owners, Hank and Wiley, have really found their calling. They have truly thought of everything. Our cottage was so warm and inviting. Beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. We were greeted with rose petals and an anniversary card on the bed, and amazing homemade cookies on the table. Each morning a picnic basket filled with an amazing gourmet breakfast was delivered right to our cottage door. Everything about this B&B is so romantic. Gorgeous gardens, mountain views and the hot tub add to the appeal. We can’t wait to return to Piney Hill for our next trip to Luray.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from an amazing vacation at Piney Hill bed a breakfast! Hank and Wiley are amazing hosts. The homemade breakfasts were out of this world and different every day (Peach French Toast and Homemade Quiche, can you say YUM!!) They were very knowledgable of the area's local trails, wineries, horseback riding and other activities and were readily available any time we needed anything. They even helped my boyfriend plan an amazing proposal while we were there! We stayed in the "Emma Room" and had amazing views of the mountains/rolling hills all around. We're going to give this as a christmas present to my parents this year and can't wait to come back ourselves! If you're looking for a B&B in the VA area look no further, Piney Hill is a guaranteed great time!

Room Tip: Rooms in the house a great but small so if you like a little more space when you travel we got a pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Luray, VA and in planning, he tasked me with finding a place to stay that was close to nature, affordable, and impeccably run. Well, we found it all at Piney Hill B&B. Hank and Wiley are wonderful hosts who made our stay there wonderful. As you can imagine, we didn't want to leave when the time came. We stayed in the Walter Rogers room, which was tastefully decorated, very clean, extremely comfortable and private. Their breakfasts are delicious--words won't even begin to do them justice. Every day I wanted seconds! The B&B is away from the hustle and bustle in town, so it makes for a truly relaxing stay. The air even smells fresher out there! There are great views from the house of the Massanutten Mountains AND the Shenandoah Mountains so you can get unobstructed views of the sunrise and sunset. If you're going to be visiting Luray, VA or anywhere nearby, I highly recommend Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast. We'll most definitely be returning...again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Piney Hill Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Rosebud Cottage which was lovely. We were greeted by charming hosts and chocolate cake. Tired from a hike, we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. In addtion to the great soak, we were able to enjoy beautiful mountain views. We also took some time to sit on the back porch of the cottage and enjoy more mountain views. We saw beautiful stars in the sky after dark. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has a very comfortable bed. In the morning,one of the hosts brought us a lovely picnic basket containing a fabulous breakfast..... a wonderful egg dish with sausage and cheese, fruit, juice, poached pears and warm, fantastic sticky buns. I might add that I travel frequently and have not yet written a review for trip advisor. Hank, Wiley and Piney Hill are outstanding and deserve a great review. We will be back to Piney Hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B prior to this trip. All our worries and concerns were soon put to rest by both Hank and Wiley.Although we were familiar with the valley, they had a lot of knowledge about different restaurants and the type of food served as well as other area venues which helped us plan our daily agenda. Our agenda included visiting different local attractions but also just enjoying the setting we were staying at. The porch has chairs and rockers to curl up in in every nook and cranny. The view is breathtaking and the gentle stillness calming. There is a hot tub to enjoy as well. Hank and Wiley have a way of anticipating any needs or questions you might have while allowing for guests to enjoy alone time. The breakfast was delicious and cheerful conversation followed suit.It truly was a home away from home (only we didn't have to do any of the work!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA farmhouse B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms and a 2 room suite in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.