We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Couldn't have picked a better place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from an amazing vacation at Piney Hill bed a breakfast! Hank and Wiley are amazing hosts. The homemade breakfasts were out of this world and different every day (Peach French Toast and Homemade Quiche, can you say YUM!!) They were very knowledgable of the area's local trails, wineries, horseback riding and other activities and were readily available any time we needed anything. They even helped my boyfriend plan an amazing proposal while we were there! We stayed in the "Emma Room" and had amazing views of the mountains/rolling hills all around. We're going to give this as a christmas present to my parents this year and can't wait to come back ourselves! If you're looking for a B&B in the VA area look no further, Piney Hill is a guaranteed great time!

Room Tip: Rooms in the house a great but small so if you like a little more space when you travel we got a pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
485
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Luray, VA and in planning, he tasked me with finding a place to stay that was close to nature, affordable, and impeccably run. Well, we found it all at Piney Hill B&B. Hank and Wiley are wonderful hosts who made our stay there wonderful. As you can imagine, we didn't want to leave when the time came. We stayed in the Walter Rogers room, which was tastefully decorated, very clean, extremely comfortable and private. Their breakfasts are delicious--words won't even begin to do them justice. Every day I wanted seconds! The B&B is away from the hustle and bustle in town, so it makes for a truly relaxing stay. The air even smells fresher out there! There are great views from the house of the Massanutten Mountains AND the Shenandoah Mountains so you can get unobstructed views of the sunrise and sunset. If you're going to be visiting Luray, VA or anywhere nearby, I highly recommend Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast. We'll most definitely be returning...again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Piney Hill Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Rosebud Cottage which was lovely. We were greeted by charming hosts and chocolate cake. Tired from a hike, we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. In addtion to the great soak, we were able to enjoy beautiful mountain views. We also took some time to sit on the back porch of the cottage and enjoy more mountain views. We saw beautiful stars in the sky after dark. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has a very comfortable bed. In the morning,one of the hosts brought us a lovely picnic basket containing a fabulous breakfast..... a wonderful egg dish with sausage and cheese, fruit, juice, poached pears and warm, fantastic sticky buns. I might add that I travel frequently and have not yet written a review for trip advisor. Hank, Wiley and Piney Hill are outstanding and deserve a great review. We will be back to Piney Hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B prior to this trip. All our worries and concerns were soon put to rest by both Hank and Wiley.Although we were familiar with the valley, they had a lot of knowledge about different restaurants and the type of food served as well as other area venues which helped us plan our daily agenda. Our agenda included visiting different local attractions but also just enjoying the setting we were staying at. The porch has chairs and rockers to curl up in in every nook and cranny. The view is breathtaking and the gentle stillness calming. There is a hot tub to enjoy as well. Hank and Wiley have a way of anticipating any needs or questions you might have while allowing for guests to enjoy alone time. The breakfast was delicious and cheerful conversation followed suit.It truly was a home away from home (only we didn't have to do any of the work!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I can't say enough kind words about Wiley and Hank. Prior to our arrival I called to check with Wiley and Hank on recommendations on where a beautiful area would be to propose. They recommended a beautiful hike through Shenendoah which was perfect. I purchased the Sweetheart package which was a perfect touch to our trip. Everything was immaculate when we got there, beautiful roses and delicious chocolate covered strawberries. The Emma Ruffner was nice and had lots of country charm like the rest of house. The food in the morning was amazing every morning. Wiley and Hank are full of phenomenal recommendations to do in and around Luray as well. I would highly recommend Piney Hill to anyone that needs to escape!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hank and Wiley are great folks who make you feel at home. As newlyweds we wanted somewhere that was near the action of Shenandoah but also a place to recharge the batteries after an awesome wedding weekend. Hank and Wiley have created a great property and a nice atmosphere. They are also fixing up another private cottage on the property and it's always nice to see a business expanding.

Things we liked: Great breakfasts (peach french toast, sticky buns, egg casserole and fruit), the hammock and yard chairs, the dvd collection, Hank and Wiley's hiking recommendations.

Make sure to stop by the Gathering Grounds and Artisans. Some of the other restaurants weren't open on Monday and Tuesday. Luray caverns are nice and cool. We could spend months at Shenandoah National Park. Piney Hill is a great jump-off spot for the action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I escaped DC for a romantic weekend getaway and Piney Hill B&B was the perfect oasis we needed. Wiley and Hank were warm and gracious hosts. The food was incredible and we’re so glad they have a cookbook so we could take the interesting recipes home with us. Wiley and Hank also know everyone in town so they were able to help us plan and reserve our activities such as horseback riding and a boat cruise. We also loved the hot tub out on the patio under the stars, the afternoon snacks, and the movie collection. Thank you for such a relaxing weekend – we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA farmhouse B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms and a 2 room suite in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list