We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Save Saved
You added The Mimslyn Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate $99.00
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Luray
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mimslyn Inn to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary and the atmosphere, charm and hospitality made our stay very enjoyable. We booked a suite with the fireplace and it was so cozy, clean and inviting. The staff remembered to have the champagne on ice for us when we arrived and every detail was well taken care of. Everyone we encountered at the Inn was extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. We plan to visit and stay again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    165
    40
    26
    11
See reviews for
109
354
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The Mimslyn Inn.Those are the words ,I am convinced, that the "little birdie" whispers. This is a really nice place; that needs a little more recognition. My wife and I have visited twice, in the last year, and have really enjoyed our stay. We love the terrace. The terrace is almost always vacant. We like to go there to play cards or just sit and talk. The service is fantastic. Everyone there seems to really enjoy making the guest feel special. Now why would I want to share this little gem? They need more business. That's my guess anyway. The only thing that The Mimslyn lacks; is the five star restaurant.
Don't get me wrong: the food is good. The trouble is because they are not as busy as their big brother/sister, " The Bavarian Inn, the restaurant is open sporadically. Their "speak easy" is generally open, and the food is good, but nothing like the five star meals you get at The Bavarian Inn. There are a couple of nice places to eat in Luray;so you won't go hungry but one can only hope that one day The Mimslyn Inn will serve dinner, seven days a week, and like their Big brother/sister serve Five Star meals to go along with their Five star service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Great location in the heart of beauty. Beautifully decorated. They were having a wedding when we arrived, Very rich, lavish, beautfiul setting, great place for a wedding. They have an area for both indoor and outdoor ceremony. Garden area out back with a pool. The dining area was gorgeous. Ate in the basement decorated in a 50s Rat Pack style. They even have their onsite spa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We came to Mimslyn from Washington DC area for a Valentines Getaway. The staff is so friendly, the front desk, waiters and everyone is extremely friendly. We enjoyed eating and drinking at the Speak Easy Pub, Jim the bartender is the Best! They have great food and prices. Breakfast at Circa 31 was great. Dinner was a bit pricey. For a room, we had the largest suite, it was very nice, has jetted bathtub, nice toiletries, fireplace. The spa wasn't very big, but nice. Wasn't the best massages, but for the price, they were good. The pink Page theatre was cute, and the sandwiches at West End Market were real good (on Main Street). Luray Caverns is very closseby. If you have a f rig in your room, Walmart Superstore is nearby and you can load up on wine and beer and snacks.The Shenandoah and Massanutten Mountains offer picturesque views from your room!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We visited during the Christmas holidays and the hotel was absolutely beautiful. The service was exceptional. Our room was beautifully decorated and top notch!! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband and I felt pampered from start to finish. The inn is elegant but cozy. The spa was wonderful for a massage and the food and service was great at the Speakeasy. Our suite was very comfortable and pretty. The whole atmosphere of the inn is restful and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

The people working here were wonderfully helpful. The suite we stayed in was gorgeous and the bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The only thngs I would suggest would be to clean the bathrooms better (hair still in the tub makes your jacuzzi tub not nearly as much of a treat) and we were shown another room (for future reference) that definitely had a moldy smell that would've been unbearable to stay in. The value we got was amazing because it was winter rate season, but paying an extra $150+ for the same room in high season would definitely make this just an okay value for the location. Overall, if you're staying in the Skyline Suites and get a winter rate, the value is exceptional. The staff is great, the food is too and the inn's architecture is gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mimslyn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.