We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Formality Isn't Stuffy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mimslyn Inn to your Saves list
The Mimslyn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Where Formality Isn't Stuffy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent weekend sharing friends' wedding party. Was treated with the utmost service without feeling like the staff was scripting anything. Very personable atmosphere where no detail was left unattended. The warm, friendly attitude of every staffer I met made me never wanting to leave. Obviously smart management kept the entire weekend smooth, flawless and had me leaving with that once in a lifetime memory. Truly a magnificent operation through and through.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    184
    54
    27
    11
See reviews for
121
407
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only live 45 minutes away, but were there to attend a meeting and decided to make it a romantic getaway. The price was right, the inn is beautiful and the service was gracious, especially Paul the Bellman. The room was elegant and the gas fireplace came in handy. Dinner and breakfast were very good--just wish it had been warm enough to lounge around the pool!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mimslyn Inn over a Saturday evening and had a great relaxing time. They pride themselves on their southern hospitality and this showed well through their excellent servce. We arrived at the inn at noon and tried their lunch buffet in the restaurant. It included soup, salads, several entree choices and I visited the dessert table a couple times. All in all, very delicious and reasonably priced. We checked into our room early and took in the Luray Caverns nearby (which is the main highlight of the area). After exploring the town, we checked out the Speakeasy Bar in the basement of the inn and enjoyed a local duo on acoustic guitars. Dinner was standard pub grub but tasty. After sitting out on the beautiful veranda after dinner, we then retired to our room.

Our standard room was small yet quiet and very comfortable. Wifi was available in the room, lobby and veranda. The bathroom was our only complaint as it was very cramped and the water pressure was weak. The inn serves complementary coffee, juice and pastries in the morning. Overall, a great stay in a beautiful historic building. I would recommend the Mimslyn Inn to anyone planning to stay in the area of Luray!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Mimslyn Inn is conveniently located on Main Street which allows you to walk to restaurants and attractions with ease. The Inn itself is beautifully designed coupled with the service and food, this is a perfect place to spend away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I always enjoy The Mimslyn Inn in Luray, Virginia. For a small town it has lots to offer. Beautifully restored and tastefully done. The staff are friendly and professionally dressed. Dinner was lovely and beautifully presented. It is located in the awesome Shenandoah Valley, a little heaven on earth. Convenient to the Luray Caverns, lovely little shops nearby for those that like to antique. I enjoy staying at The Mimslyn Inn.............try it!

Room Tip: The northern rooms offer a wonderful view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a similar experience to the reviewer below. When I called to make our reservation and then change it due to bad weather, the ladies on the phone were not friendly, so I was a bit hesitant, but as we arrived the inn looked very welcoming. However, the facade was the best part of our stay. It was a different gal at the front desk than the one I had spoken with, and she was not one bit nicer. There was no "Welcome" or "How are you?", and her tone of voice definitely let us know she was at her "job" and not enjoying it.

Our room looked fine when we walked in, it was cozy and clean. However when we entered the bathroom, there were hairs on the floor, and we later found out our bathtub did not drain well, gross. I am sure had we called down, someone would have been sent up to vacuum and fix the drain, but that is something I would assume would have been done prior to our arrival.

Like other reviewers, sleeping was tough. The pillows were halfsize and filled with lumpy foam. They look like down, until you touch them. The sheets felt sandy, so we pulled back the comforter and realized it wasn't sand but the sheets had pilled. It was not a good night's sleep.

We tried to make the best of our weekend getaway but will not be back, nor do we recommend the inn to others. There are plenty of other charming towns in VA with nicer inns and B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the first time in many years that TripAdvisor reviews have led me astray. There was nothing restful or relaxing about our time spent at the Mimslyn Inn. "Luxury Accommodations" is a misnomer here, as it is so often these days. Managing expectations is pretty easy as long as the bar is not set too high from the onset.

The building itself looks nice and the grounds are not so bad either despite the hospital construction next door. It is on Main Street and basically walking distance to just about everything in the area, not that parking is a problem in Luray! All the staff we interacted with were pleasant.

On to the disappointment. So the room we were in was exceptionally small, we expected it, but were still a bit shocked probably because the furniture filled it. We are skinny people, but it still felt rather crowded. In the welcome packet there is a large section about "quiet hours" which begin at 10 PM. We were pleased to see this. After enjoying the day in Luray and having a great dinner at Triple Crown BBQ (see separate review) we returned to get some sleep before having more adventures the next day. Unfortunately, that was not going to happen.

Initially we were bummed out because the sheets (which are advertised on their website as 300 thread count) are not nice at all as they seem to be worn out and the little half sized pillows are a joke. The mattress is lumpy and uncomfortable. I really wish the issues had been limited to those. Simply stated, the walls between the rooms are PAPER THIN! On one side we could hear a conversation, belching and a TV blaring. On the other side there were squeaky springs and other noises I will leave to your imagination. Needless to say, we were unable to drift off several hours past the start of "quiet hours". We were then awoken around 6 or earlier (I was too groggy to check my phone) by a train's repeated horn. Not once or twice but 6+ times. The tracks aren't even that close by. My office is next to some highly trafficked tracks, so trains are white noise to me. Apparently this one was the exception! Sleeping in was out of the question as the neighbors were causing a ruckus by 7:30. I'm a heavy sleeper (I've slept through smoke alarms before) and have lived in dorms, apartments and condos for 15 years not to mention staying in scores of hotels. This hotel by far had the worst sound attenuation I've ever experienced. It was even worse than the Ahwahnee in Yosemite, and that's a historical landmark hotel!

Suffice it to say, we should have gone camping. At least then you know full well going into it that the walls are thin!

Room Tip: Pick a room somewhere else. You'll sleep better. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mimslyn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.