We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mimslyn Inn to your Saves list
The Mimslyn Inn
401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Spring Brook, PA
1 review
“The only place in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

to stay is here. Hotel was beautiful and clean but lacked true historic charm due to its restoration which showed poor craftsmanship. Staff did have pride of ownership. There is NO WHERE to go in Luray for diners, extremely limited choices so you are pretty much forced to eat at the inn, which was fine. Their Circa restaurant was average "pricey", but the speakeasy down stairs, although very dark and "basement like feeling" had a wide variety of menu items. We were there on a Friday and there was a special for half price on their bottles of wine, but our waitress was not informative of that until we pressed her for information and specials. Our room was lovely, but we paid for the upgraded. It had a jacuzzi and actually had a lot of wasted space. Again, I think when they did their restoration, a much better job could have been done. On a positive note, if you are going to the Luray Caverns, which is the only thing to do in this very depressed seeming area, the Mimslyn Inn is the only place in town to go that offers you a way out of the rest of the dingy, boring area.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    177
    50
    29
    11
See reviews for
119
391
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed one night in late February. The inn is lovely. The standard room is small but comfortable and extremely clean. They reward returning guests with very good discounted rates. They advertise muffins and coffee in the morning, it would be much nicer if they included breakfast in the room rate.
Shenandoah Valley is absolutely beautiful in the Summer, Winter is barren, unless its covered in snow. The town doesn't have a lot to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Reception was wonderful-Paul was very friendly and even brought our 2 little girls coloring books and crayons while we were checking in. The hotel is very lovely, loved the lobby with the piano and spiral staircase. Dinner at the Speakeasy was delicious as was the Sunday brunch at Circa 31. There is a spa in the hotel which was a HUGE plus for me-both my husband and I had amazing massages by Rich.

Overall, it was a fabulous one night get away, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found the Mimslyn Inn on Groupon and we spent a Friday and Saturday night there in an "Historic Room". The hotel was very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was comfortable. I highly recommend both the Speakeasy Bar & Restaurant downstairs and the Circa '31 Weekend Wine Dinner. The food and service were excellent in both places. We were there at the beginning of March, so we couldn't take advantage of the pool but, there are still lots of things to do in the area. We went to several of the local wineries and I highly recommend visiting the Copper Fox Distillery. Even if you don't like whiskey, they offer a free tour and it's very interesting to see the entire distilling process. We would definitely go back and are planning on another weekend trip when the weather gets warmer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is listed in the Historic Register and deservedly so. After undergoing extensive renovations the public rooms take you back to the high life in the early 1900's that the Washingtonian folks enjoyed. The room was very comfortable and clean. The only shortcoming in the bathroom was lack os shelf space. We were told that was being addressed now. The solarium on the third floor was very relaxing for reading or watching the sunset with a glass of wine. The gardens must look beautiful in spring and summer. What a wonderful venue for a wedding! The staff, including the GM Jim Sims, were knowledgeable and friendly. I'd love a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We experienced friendly and excellent service from the moment we checked in. The staff was attentive. The hotel lobby is very nicely decorated! The room was simply clean in addition to being well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. The housekeepers seem to take pride in their work and the room was meticulously prepared. We arrived on a Friday night and ate a late dinner at the Speak Easy Lounge and we were impressed by the quality and taste of the food that we ordered and the servers were quite attentive. The lunch buffet at the Circa ’31 was deliciously prepared. The prices in both hotel restaurants are quite reasonable. The warm muffins at the complimentary continental breakfast were tasty, but get there early since they do run out by mid-late morning (at least on the weekend we were there). Plus, I wish they would have hot tea available, too, instead of just coffee and orange juice.

One thing that we really appreciated is the Hotel policy regarding extraneous noise between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. and it is enforced. This alone helped to make the overnight stay restful. The common areas (the upstairs outdoor terrace with gas fireplace and the sunroom with comfy sofas and gas fireplace come to mind) are inviting. Unfortunately, it was winter (February), so we could only appreciate the hot tub and pool from afar. Wi-fi worked fine.

The hotel is only a block away from what looks to be “downtown” Luray. There are a couple of great restaurants there (I recommend Gathering Grounds!). There is a very nice greenway that cuts through downtown and you can walk north or south from the main drag. The Luray information booth at a renovated train station is a source of much information regarding the locality and its events. Overall, our experience at the Mimslyn Inn was excellent. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are going back in April!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is architecturally impressive...The dining room...yes, extremely nice,,,the Sunday buffet...Excellent. Service, food, ambiance - great..
Luray is not on the way to anywhere.
The Mimslyn is an excellent Sunday Buffet..!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mimslyn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.