We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Triple Crown BBQ

Triple Crown BBQ
1079 U.S. 211 Luray, Luray, VA 22835
(540) 743-5311
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Luray
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Jamestown, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stopped here for dinner after spending a day at Luray Caverns. The food was overpriced. The ribs were tough. There are picnic tables outside, which is great, but there were flies everywhere. This was a terrible experience. Avoid this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    17
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Real Friendly Folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stopped here for lunch (we'd heard about it before coming to Luray) Friday, June 6. We got baby back ribs, coleslaw and baked beans. The line was very short. There are picnic tables behind the trailer, some with umbrellas up. Music playing. Food was delicious. The husband came over a couple times while we were eating to see if we needed anything. The only thing I could ask for was a bigger stomach, something they don't sell. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stop there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I stopped here after a day of zip-lining and the pork bbq sandwich absolutely hit the spot. The meat was tender , moist, and very flavorful. wish we could've tried everything on the menu as we both felt certain everything would be just as delicious. If you're looking for this place its on 211 on the other side of the road from where the walmart is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Delaware
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This little trailer on the side of the road has great BBQ and the sides are very good. I would definitely go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, way better than fast food options across the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I got detoured on our way from NoVA to Blacksburg and ended up coming through Luray around lunchtime. We were about to stop at a fast food place when we noticed the BBQ stand/trailer. A quick look at our TA App and we decided to eat here.

We got the sampler (I think) which had ribs, maybe 1/4 chicken, pulled pork, and a side of beans. we also got a few corn muffins that were good. I liked the flavoring on all, nothing bland but not too hot or sweet. Meat was cooked good. Good sauces available as well.

We'd stop by again. Spoke to one of the owners (I think) and he was very personable and friendly

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Triple Crown BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple Crown BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.