We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside Hog Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triple Crown BBQ

Triple Crown BBQ
1079 U.S. 211 Luray, Luray, VA 22835
(540) 743-5311
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Luray
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Roadside Hog Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was driving down HW 211W and the little roadside stand caught my eye. Owned and operated by husband and wife with their three small kids by their side. You wouldn't think it would be superbly savory goodness. The pulled pork sandwiches were fantastic and the baked beans just perfect with the pieces of bacon and apples just right. So YUMMMM

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    17
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food, lack of seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food was terrific! Pork BBQ sandwich and sausage sandwich were our choices. Pork BBQ was great with some seasoning and the bark left on some of it. Very large portion. Sausage sandwich was very tasty as well. This is a permanently anchored food truck and service was pretty quick, they were fairly busy. They only have a few tables and all of those were taken but one of the folks there recommended a local park at a resevoir that was about 15 minutes away. That turned out to be a perfect place to enjoy our feast. They have a variety of sauces available at a bar outside and some "to go" cups which made it nice to sample.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food and very friendly service!!! Casual out door seating. Loved it! The price is reasonable and they even take credit cards. It a little gem!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ with Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is the Best BBQ I have had in a very long time. It was a little hard to find, but well worth it if you are going to be out in Luray for the day. The permanent food truck is located right across from the Wal-mart on 211.

The food is AMAZING and all the employees are super friendly and genuinely interested in making sure your food is great and you enjoy your meal.

The pulled pork sandwich was fantastic and the corn muffins were moist and delicious. And the best part is the sauces! They are all so tasty. I ended up mixing the molasses one with the regular BBQ sauce and it took my sandwich to the next level.

I will definitely go back if I am ever out that way again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MessyCaos
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious VA BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stopped by this place for lunch after a visit to the Luray Cavern. It's just a few minutes drive away right off Hwy 211 -- I'd describe it as a food-stand (almost like a stationary food truck?) type location.

We ordered the baby back ribs, chicken, and sides of cole slaw and potato salad. Everything was deeeeeeeeeelicious! The owner was also kind enough to let me try the pull pork which was juicy and tender. My particular favorite was the ribs - every bit of the meat was flavorful, juicy, and succulent - just what great BBQ ribs should be -- there was not a bite of the meat that was dry. The BBQ sauces were also great - but both the ribs and the chicken had a lot of flavor/spices already on their own.

(note: picture doesn't do the food justice)

The owner mentioned that the smoking process gives the meat a slight 'red' color. This is very different from the color of undercooked meat -- but I suspect it may have been mistaken as such by a previous reviewer.

There are 3 - 4 picnic style tables where you can sit down and enjoy the food. Credit card is accepted but I recommend bringing cash to avoid the 3% cc service fee. Portion size is good -- we spent $25 for lunch and both of us were quite full afterward.

We'll be adding this place as a stopping point during our future hiking/winery trips. If you're in the area, I highly recommend you to stop by as well. =)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Triple Crown BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple Crown BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.