We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gennaro's Pizza & Italian Restaurant

Gennaro's Pizza & Italian Restaurant
402 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
540-743-2200
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 34 Restaurants in Luray
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the NY style pizza. The toppings were fresh and the crust was crisp on the bottom but still doughy and chewy enough. Excellent service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    19
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Wonderful food but very slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very much enjoyed this wonderful find. Food was so good we went twice this weekend. Pasta dishes were delicious, pizza was fantastic and steak sub was the best. And absolutely loved the garlic knots. All that being said, service was extremely slow. Poor young lady today was overwhelmed. Our dining experience totaled 2 hours, a bit much, luckily it was raining so we had no where to rush off too. Actually had to ask for our appetizer 3 times. Was served after the meal, sad. Would go again food was so good, but owner needs to bring in more experienced staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Color me surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I guess with a name like Gennaro's, I should have expected good Italian food. I must say, I was more than surprised! My chicken piccata was tender and lemony with lots of yummy mushrooms. My fiancé's fettuccini Alfredo was custom made with sausage. He loved it! Plus they delivered to Once Upon A Mountain, the B&B where we stayed (which is a ways outside of town). We even stopped back the next day and ordered Italian hoagies for lunch. They were equally delicious. Fast, friendly service right in the heart of Luray.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gennaro's Pizza & Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the greatest place to eat if you enjoy great, homemade Italian food. The cannoli were the best we have ever eaten - even in San Francisco! I'm embarrassed to say but we ended up eating there 4 times in the three days we were in Luray. We absolutely loved it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The food here is excellent. We were visiting for a few days and ate here twice. Their pizza and pastas are well worth it. The salad and bread that come with entrees are great. Yes service is slow but it is not bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Pizza & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Pizza & Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gennaro's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.