We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gathering Grounds

Gathering Grounds
24 E Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1902
+1 540-743-1121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Now open at our new location!! We offer a unique dining experience: serving breakfast, gourmet sandwiches, soups and salads with a full-service espresso bar, homemade pastries and pies in a relaxing atmosphere. Wine and beer - on and off. Open 7 days a week.
nyc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

What a great find! After a tour of Luray Caverns, my husband and I happened upon this place while searching for a spot for late lunch. We each had a delicious sandwich and a yummy dessert. We agreed that we wished we could take this cafe home with us! DonT miss it if you're in the area. By the way, the staff was lovely and the restroom spotless also.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    73
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food breakfast/lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place closes at 6pm. It's a great place for lunch. They have a wide variety of sandwiches. Coffee is very good. The restaurant has a cozy but clean atmosphere. Staff is friendly and we were promptly served.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very good lunch for the three of us. The variety of sandwiches is impressive - different bread styles, meats, cheeses, etc. We really enjoyed the coffee (and especially the free refill). Service was excellent - prompt, efficient, and friendly. The atmosphere is cozy and a bit more up-scale than your typical main street meat-and-three.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or an early dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We skipped lunch so chose this restaurant for an early dinner. They have lovely special soups--a great tomato bisque on the day we were there. The only drawback is that they close at 6pm so if you want this for dinner, you need to plan an early meal or takeout.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been here countless times being that I am resident of the county. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Coffee is a little expensive, but they have to recoup the price from buying locally from a small roaster. Great decorations for every season. When in Luray give this place a chance, and say hello to Leigh, Becky, Stacy, Julie and all the other great staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gathering Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gathering Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.