We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal with great live music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speakeasy Bar

Speakeasy Bar
401 West Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
800 296 5105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Luray
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good meal with great live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This seems to be the meeting place for the locals on a Thursday night. The live music was great and the food delicious. We had the meatloaf and the spare ribs, both of which were served quickly and hot. If you are a wine drinker, they have a special with a main entree, where you can get a bottle of reasonable wine for $10. The service was good and friendly. It's in the basement of the hotel, and a bit confusing on how to get there from the lobby, however, the side door leads outside to the parking lot. We had a good night at this location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    41
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A very friendly welcome and a pleasant evening!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Staying at the Mimslyn Inn it was an easy, convenient choice for dinner. There is a very pleasant pub atmosphere. The service was exceptionally friendly and prompt. The food was above average for the type of place. Fish and chips were fresh and moist. Platter of mussels were, again, fresh and delicately prepared. Homemade apple pie and bourbon ice cream to share rounded out the meal. All homemade and very nice!

Throughout the evening there was live country music. Overall, a nice evening and good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service was above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

we recently stopped in the Speakeasy for dinner last week and I just wanted to review the great service we received. The restaurant was busy so we grabbed the last 2 seats at the bar. We were greeted by a young man (Tony I believe) who told us Casi would be with us in a moment. We realized she was in the middle of a wine tasting with guests of the hotel. We received our drinks as well as dinner in a short amount of time but while we waited she introduced us to the locals at the bar who helped us find a great hiking path for the next day. We enjoyed every minute of our evening in the Speakeasy what we thought would be an hour long dinner turned into 3 hours sitting at the bar laughing and learning all about luray. We will definitely be back and hope to see familiar faces. Thanks Casi for being so kind and helpful and to the locals the waterfall hike was beautiful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good times!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

good menu, we had salads that were very good, live entertainment, and a great staff, reasonably priced and a great decor

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ok food, Ok service, Ok ambience. We didn't have many options in Luray on a Sunday evening and chose to eat at the Speakeasy Bar as we were staying at the Inn. We ordered fairly standard fair (caesar salad, steak sandwich, apple pie)...it was all okay, at best. The apple pie tasted like a frozen pie that had been warmed up for us. The service wasn't much better. While the bartender was very sweet (we sat at the bar), she was not the least bit attentive. We regretted ordering dessert as it took forever for it to arrive, then another long wait before she came back to clear and we had to ask for the check. Another long wait. The bar area is cozy but the rest of the "room" could be cozier with something to divide the room into smaller areas. Would not recommend the Speakeasy for food but perhaps drinks at the bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Speakeasy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speakeasy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.