We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls getwaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn of the Shenandoah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Inn of the Shenandoah to your Saves list
The Inn of the Shenandoah
138 East Main Street, Luray, VA 22835 (Formerly The Victorian Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Girls getwaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I took Mom to Luray for her birthday, since she wanted to see the Caverns.
I found The Inn on the internet and could not wait to stay there.
Ann, the innkeeper, is the most welcoming, gracious, hostess that I have ever met.!!!!
She welcomed us with a complimentary bottle of wine on our arrival and was available when we needed her.
Our room was spacious, cozy, with a sitting room, plus a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi for two.
The next morning, Anne made us an INCREDIBLE breakfast starting with a lovely fruit plate, New Orleans style coffee, and homemade peach waffles.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Large multiroom suites with Jacuzzi, shower, stocked refrigerator, luxurious bedding, patio area and other thoughtful touches at excellent prices. Ann, the innkeeper, knows the area thoroughly, provided local color and great dining recommendations. A highlight is the gourmet breakfast that she cooks with the freshest local ingredients. And for the gluten-free guest, there is no loss of quality as she made the finest choices in substitute breads and baked delights to maintain the quality of the abundant breakfasts. Perfect for a romantic getaway, and comfortably complete for a respite from the big city hustle. Luray adds to the attraction with its urban greenway along the local stream, caverns, rescue zoo, in addition to scenic mountains, byways, and trails.

Room Tip: All suites have different arrangements, have patio access, and are large and comfortably above avera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to Virginia and my husband and I had such a great visit! The Inn was very clean and beautiful. The innkeeper, Ann, was a gracious hostess and all of our interactions with her were lovely. We were thankful to have time away, just the two of us and this was the perfect place for our romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow Suite which had a little sitting room. We loved relaxing in the jacuzzi too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my hubby here for his birthday and it was WONDERFUL! The inn is absolutely lovely. It's a restored Victorian building with lots of nice touches. I especially loved all of the stained glass in our room. The innkeeper was a charming and gracious host. You MUST try her amazing peach waffles!!! We definitely will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this lovely cozy and welcoming Inn in September. Ann Merrigan and her staff were so accomodating and made me feel so incredibly welcome. My room was spacious, very nicely decorated, and spotless. And I have to say I really enjoyed the jacuzzi.

Breakfast was made by Ann in the morning - and it was delicious. I enjoyed staying here so much - I lam so looking foward to my next trip in October!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Inn of the Shenandoah, is beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The Inn Keeper and staff are very pleasant and welcoming. Sit on the front porch and look out over the valley and beautiful mountains. It's the perfect setting for such a beautiful Inn.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from a weekend getaway at the Inn of the Shenandoah. We had a wonderful time. The Inn is beautiful, our room was well-appointed and we loved the double jacuzzi tub. The Innkeeper Ann was also so gracious and served us the most delicious breakfast the next day. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn of the Shenandoah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Shenandoah

Address: 138 East Main Street, Luray, VA 22835 (Formerly The Victorian Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn is an elegantly remodeled Victorian home located in the heart of Luray. The Victorian Inn offers 3 elegant suites with king beds and Jacuzzi's for two. Guests may also choose to stay in The French Cottage which houses two oversized suites with kitchenettes, Jacuzzi's bathtubs, and private decks. The French Cottage is located directly behind The Victorian Inn. Travelers may also enjoy one of our three Shenandoah River Escape Cabins located on the banks of the Shenandoah River. Each cabin has it's own unique personality and offers full kitchen amenities, Jacuzzi's or Hot Tubs (depending on cabin), onsite BBq grills, firepits perfect for roasting marshmallows, and much more. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Inn of the Shenandoah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn of the Shenandoah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.