We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall decent and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Luray Shenandoah

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Luray Shenandoah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Whispering Hill Road, I-81 North & Rt 211 East, Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Luray
Virginia Beach
1 review
“Overall decent and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall, was a decent, clean, dog-friendly hotel and the staff was very nice. Even though the room was pretty small, and the bathroom tiny, it served it's purpose. I was wanting to stay in a larger room, but they only had several "dog designated" rooms and they were all standard rooms, so I could not upgrade. Parking and big green space right outside our door was a plus for the dogs. We missed the breakfast 6am-9am - but they did have coffee in the lobby even after the breakfast hours. I was concerned it would be a little loud there right by route 211, but it was not. Beds were decent quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    114
    67
    44
See reviews for
154
106
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The location is good, easy to get to the Luray Caverns and Old Rag Mountain. Other than that, it was somewhat disappointing. My girlfriends and I, five of us, shared one room with two double beds plus a rollaway. We constantly had to ask for towel as they only provided three, how do they expect us to share among five people? On our last night, they didn't make the bed or clean the room, they left a note saying that they don't want to disturb our belongings. They didn't refill the soap/shampoo/conditoner, we had to request and went down to the reception to get them. As some other travelers noted, the room is dated, the bathroom doesn't look clean and small, when we open the bathroom door, the toilet is right at the door (this might due to the fact that the sink is outside of the bathroom, therefore, it takes up some of the moving room inside the bathroom where the toilet is). But this is the cheapest place we could find in Luray. Breakfast was basic, toast, bagel, muffin, hot and cold cereal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Seems to be an older property that the management is doing their best to maintain. Was surprised that all the standard rooms were available to those taveling with pets. Would recommend staying on the second floor, guessing that the pet owners would be placed on the first floor, if availabilty allows. Tranquill location, set back from the highway and surrounded by fields. Breakfast was underwhelming - just bagels, toast and cereal and ended promptly at 9AM. The employees were helpful and friendly. Swimming pool and pool area were clean. Rooms were also clean - TV and AC worked fine. Outside stairways to the second floor were not clean or well lit. Overall, a mixed bag but suitable for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was comfortable, the beds good. Towels were rough and bathroom left a lot to be desired

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Luray Shenandoah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Luray Shenandoah

Address: 138 Whispering Hill Road, I-81 North & Rt 211 East, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Luray Shenandoah 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Luray Shenandoah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah Hotel Luray
Luray Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Luray Shenandoah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.