We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose, beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luray Caverns Motel East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Luray Caverns Motel East to your Saves list
Luray Caverns Motel East
831 W Main St., Luray, VA 22835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose, beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here Thursday Sept 30th thru Sunday Oct 3rd. We stayed here with a group of guys to golf at The Caverns Country Club. If you are looking for a place to lay your head, this might work, do not expect much else. It rained hard there our first day and you could tell facility maintenance was not a top priority. The gutters were so clogged there were waterfalls off of the roof everywhere, this continued into the night where the "falls" outside our room made it impossible to sleep. I hope this place has well water, because you need run the shower for at least 12 minutes before you get anything that would be considered hot water. Like I started with, it served it's purpose for a bunch of guys playing 36 holes a day needing a place to crash. If you are looking for romance, luxury, or even comfort, forget about it. Do not expect to get any restfull sleep, beds are the worst I have ever encountered. They boasted "free in room wifi" well not really, they had free wifi but it would only connect if you were in the lobby. Some good points, it is directly adjacent to the entrance to Luray Caverns, the golf course is only a mile 1/2 away and the golf packages that they offer are very good deals, just down the street is a little cafe inside the Best Western that had good service a nd good food for breakfast, about 8 miles west on 211 is Danny's Steak House, awesome steaks, right up there with Shula's or Morton's

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    7
    9
    12
See reviews for
11
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had the most exellent time. The staff at the motel awesome. Cindy and Amanda were the friendliest people we had ever met and made are stay very enjoyable. They treated us like family. We will be returning real soon. Keep up the good work!!!!
Oh, cornholing is not what you think. Even the locals were awesome and we had a BLAST!

The Jersey Guy (larry)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a fun time we had at the Motel East. The front desk staff, Cindy & Amanda, were so personable and helpful and really made our stay at the motel pleasant and enjoyable. We had quite a few laughs with these two lots of friendly waves from the drive up window. The motel is older, but our room was nice & big and the view out the back off the balcony was breathtaking. Very clean. The staff was definitely the best part of our stay at the motel though! Loved the town of Luray especially Uncle Buck's, and the locals are very friendly.

The Jersey Girl (Karen)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

When we made out reservation we specifically asked for the West motel, but alas we were put in the East mote because of the triathaloners. Anyways, it looks pretty sketchy from the outside- the kind of place a horror movie would take place. But there was a very small pool area and a lovely view of the mountains. Inside the room had a slightly funny smell and was very dimly lit. The picture on our tv was discolored. The towels were basically napkins. Since we were there for only one night it's not like we were going to pack up and move to another place, but really the place is old and was not worth the $100 a night. The location is great, right across the street from Luray Caverns, a 5 minute drive to "downtown" Luray, and about 20 minute drive to the Thornton Gap entrance of Skyline Drive. This is it's only redeeming quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed there on July 4th weekend. They gave me room 31. The room smelled like a dead animal, the beds were dirty, there was no Wifi connection. But since there was nothing else available anywhere i just had to byte the bullet. Wouldn't recommend it to my worse enemy!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This place is AAA approved, but for what? Possibly for invertebrates - the beds were so soft and lumpy I can't imagine anyone with a spine would find it comfortable. The whole place was utilitarian at best. We paid $72 plus taxes and I'd say "you get what you pay for" but I don't think I did. For what I paid I'd expect to have a bed I could sleep on, doors and walls that I can't hear normal conversation through (our neighbors were considering getting a dog), sheets that didn't smell like they'd been stored in the attic for the past year, and a bathroom window without cobwebs. If we had made plans to stay more than one night, I would have moved to a different motel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Even though I had read the previous reviews I decided to take a chance since we were visiting Luray Caverns and the motel was directly across the street and part of that complex. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. But the room leaves a lot to be desired, its dated, that's OK but the towels were threadbare. The bedspreads are old and need to be replaced. In addition the A/C-Heater unit was very loud and was hard to adjust to the proper heat level. Overall this was an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luray Caverns Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luray Caverns Motel East

Address: 831 W Main St., Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luray Caverns Motel East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luray Caverns Motel East Hotel Luray
Luray Caverns Hotel East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luray Caverns Motel East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.