We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but functional, especially for families and the location is great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Hanford, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not fancy, but functional, especially for families and the location is great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Hotel is under different ownership and they were doing some repairs, but for a quick get away, staying near the river and for the price paid, this was a good deal. The hotel has lots of nice walking access down to the river and nice grassy grounds. For the family there was a nice horse shoe pit, tether ball, basketball court and picnic area complete with bbq's and a nice swing set!! Based off others reviews we requested the Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds and the river view and other then some of the repairs made looking a little rough it was a great room with a wonderful view off a nice balcony with chairs and a table. Also, good continental breakfast included!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    62
    48
    61
See reviews for
70
108
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The is one of the first places when you drive into Three Rivers and since I was driving at night I really liked that. There was hardly anyone there in early December so it was very quiet. The management was nice and told me where I could rent chains in the area so I could drive into the park. The room was big and clean and had a refrigerator. I could even make myself a waffle for breakfast on a waffle maker they had. And off season the price was very reasonable. I would go back.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We really enjoyed this lodge. Situated right on the Merced River, the views are amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They provide free breakfast. The room was very large and quiet. We would recommend this lodge to anyone headed to Sequoia, it is very close to the main entrance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

If you are looking for a wondefull hospitality in a hotel, this is it. This owner operated lodge is ideally located for the visitor of Sequa National park. Minutes from the main entrance of the Sequa Park, but near local restaurant to enjoy the dinner when local singer playing the music.
This lodge is practically on the bank of one of the "three rivers". If you love fishing, you can just walk to the river, catch fish and cooked at lodge's guest grill.
Rooms are spcious and clean. If you visit in summer ask for rooms with balcony, where you can relax with cup of coffee.
Do not miss their free breakfast befor you hit for the road. Owner himself make sure every body is taken care. We have enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We found this place by chance after a long drive and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was a large standard motel room, with tv, fridge and coffee maker and was everything we needed as passing travellers. Coffee/milk/sugar provided in the room, with extra available from Reception if needed. Our coffee maker didn't work properly, and was immediately replaced with no fuss and with a pleasant attitude. The breakfast was included in the very reasonable price, self service, but with someone on hand if you needed anything. We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi, but others did and seemed to be enjoying them. Free secure wi-fi an added bonus for us. Overall this place is a little gem and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The biggest positive I can give this motel is the convenient location - quick access to Sequoia National Park and surrounding attractions, very close to many restaurants and the only 2 gas stations in the area. Apparently this used to be a Best Western because we called the Best Western reservations number, and we managed to book this. I can tell you, though, that this motel is NOT to the level of Best Western standards. And the motel at some point dropped the "Best" in "Best Western" because it apparently is not part of the Best Western chain anymore.

I do have to give credit for the motel's courtyard area which had 2 swings, tetherball, a small basketball court, horseshoe pit, and picnic tables. That was very nice for the kids.

The whole complex was old and tired. It really needed updating. Our room was adequate. But the bathroom - ugh. The toilet was very weak and could hardly flush anything. It would take at least 2 flushes for just #1 business, and #2 business would take 3 or 4 flushes or would just clog. Also, the bathroom was smelly. The shower was slow to drain, although water pressure was fine.

Management was courteous but not very helpful. I asked for a dinner recommendation (wondering which of all the restaurants in the area might be good to try for my family of 4, including children ages 5 and 7). The response was a smile, a shrug of the shoulders, and a "Oh, all of them are good. I really don't know."

The "free wireless internet" was a JOKE. The connection wasn't even working in our room. Although there was a public computer in the lobby, it was SOOOOO slow, worse than dial-up. This motel should not advertise free internet if they can't deliver.

Breakfast was so-so - your standard minimal continental breakfast of muffin quarters, bread and English muffins to be toasted, hard-boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, and some fresh fruit (bananas and apples). The 4-slice toaster wasn't working right - one side would pop up too early, and the other side never popped up at all. I lost count of how many people ended up with black toast before we all figured out it wasn't working.

For $129 a night, this was way overpriced. We were there for Labor Day weekend, so I'm sure the prices were hiked because of holiday, but still - this should've been about 1/2 that price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Managers gave us a great and friendly service. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hotel is located close to one of the entrances to Sequoia National Park (about 7 miles). There is a very nice view to the sorrounding mountains from the hotel. The hotel area is clean and attractive, including the swimming pool. However, at the time we booked, I think it was overpriced (between $90 and $100 per night).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.