We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but could be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Martinez, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok, but could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You can tell that this place try and I'll give them that. They have a pool, basketball hoops, tetherball, and a play structure for kids, but the inside is outdated. For the price I guess I excepted something a little nicer which is why I booked it. The bed was the most uncomfortable mattress I've slept on! ! It was so hard and felt a spring jabbing me in my side. The outdoor patio furniture was stained like it doesn't get cleaned. The bathroom was a good size and clean. The WiFi wasn't working, but not a big deal.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHL_93271, Front Office Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. We take every issue into account and make efforts to improve.
Best wishes,
Western Holiday Lodge, Three Rivers, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    57
    47
    57
See reviews for
66
99
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here with some trepidation after recent reviews but found a comfortable room in this motel style accommodation with rear balcony, plentiful parking, and decent breakfast (though it gets a little crowded in the breakfast room). There is also a small swimming pool which is useful after a hot day's sightseeing. The real star though is the location very close to Sequoia's western entrance with plenty to see and do - climb the Moro Rock, go river swimming, drive round and see the amazing big trees (better than Yosemite's). The motel is a short drive away from Three Rivers small centre shopping area which has a good general store and a very good pizza restaurant where you can sit outside and watch the moon rise. We stayed for 2 nights and would recommend it as an affordable convenient base for this very good part of Sequoia.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHL_93271, Front Office Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your visit. We thank you for your feedback and hope you will return soon.
Best wishes.
Western Holiday Lodge, Three Rivers, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is obsolete, old style, not very clean, but the rooms are quite large and comfortable. Very well located (15 minutes from the entry of the Park). The noise of the air conditioning was unacceptable...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHL_93271, Front Office Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. My apologies for any discomfort you had while your stay with us. We take everyone's issues into consideration and take action to resolve them. Again, thank you.
Best wishes,
Western Holiday Lodge, Three Rivers, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room I stayed in was not clean and comfortable. Everything is dated, worn or broken. There were bugs...alive and dead, spider and web. The mattress is old and uncomfortable, two small pillows for a king bed, torn decorative pillow on the bed with stuffing coming out. Two old worn bath towels with frayed edges and no bath mat. There are large gaps under the door and around the wall air conditioner. The porch looks out to weeds and a gravel embankment. Unfortunately, it was a holiday weekend and everything was sold out. It was expensive for such poor quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well located to Sequoia NP and a great place if you just want a place to sleep. Do not expect much, though it was clean. The place is an older motel, which they have made some upgrades. The bed is cheap hotel bed: if one person turns over, the other person feels it. The staff were kind to turn on the air conditioning prior to arrival. With single panel windows for the hotel room and 90+ degrees outside, it was necessary.

At the registration desk, they did have menus from the local restaurants along with Park information.

They do have a pool, though we did not use it, it looks like it is well maintained.

Breakfast was included, which was simple: waffles (expect a line to wait to make them), cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, coffee, and juice. Nothing outstanding, but did the trick. The breakfast room was small, so expect to wait for a table, sit outside, or bring it back to your room. My biggest complaint is they used all non-recycleable Styrofoam plates, bowls, and cups along with disposable plastic dinning utensils for breakfast. In an age that is sensitive to the environmental waste and an establishment supporting the National park, I would expect more environmentally conscience decisions.

With that the soap, shampoo, and conditioners offered in the rooms were organic. I would give them that! :-)

Room Tip: We had room 39, which was on the second floor at the end. It was excluded from the other rooms. Bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Looking for an Okay place to stay that is 6 miles to Sequoia Park. The place is older. Okay kept. Good price compared to those further away. Takes pets. Clean. We had two bedrooms, neither remote worked and not many channels. But, we weren't there to watch tv.Good air conditioner. Nice area to get out and walk. Area of a small park out front with cooking grills and tables. The pool and hot tub, however, were very dirty. I would not get in, when you can see dirt and mold around the edge and can't see through the water. The breakfast said buffet on line. No, it is coffee and Danish. So for a place to sleep, shower and go on, I would say yes. To stay a few days, no.

Room Tip: ask to see room and sit on beds first before taking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The busy holiday weekend was the only reason we stayed here as the other hotels were all booked. We would not stay here again. The first night we could only receive 2 channels on the old-style TV (TNT & CNN only!) My husband re-programmed it himself, resulting in only 11 mostly lame channels (still no ABC or NBC.) So do not believe their claim that they have cable TV when they don’t even offer all the major networks. The shower curtain was disgusting and the water temperature kept changing based on usage from other rooms. Getting scalded and then frozen is tortuous and completely unacceptable. The breakfast offerings were average but the coffee was horrible. For some reason, the bar soap and plastic cups were not replenished daily. The internet connection wasn’t the best but it was acceptable. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and fairly clean (but please clean off the cobwebs from the bathroom window so it is possible to see outside), and it had fridge & microwave & coffee pot (a broken one but was promptly replaced when I requested.) Three Rivers is further from the National Park than I thought, due to slow-going winding curvy roads. Definitely try to stay inside the park if at all possible (which it wasn’t for us.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.