We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Western Holiday Lodge on the way to Santa Barbara and just needed a place to stay and had booked in advance. Got upgraded to a suite which was nice unfortunately our other traveller got a standard room in spite of us making just one booking, which was a bit awkward. The room was massive but dated and in need of an update, however clean and the shower powerful. Had a small balcony where we had takeout pizzas and a few G&Ts which was nice touch. Good A/C in our room but our friend told us that his switched off at around midnight leaving his room very hot. Breakfast was basic but in line with what we got at other motels. I think the downside of this motel is that the owners were very indifferent and to be honest not very friendly. All of the other places we stayed on our road trip even at the cheap Motel 6 staff were really friendly and welcoming. At the Western Holiday Lodge it seemed they just could not be bothered and just is not good enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
All of us here at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you for your kind words about our hotel as well as your generous advise. It is understandable that you enjoyed your stay slightly better than your friend as you were in a suite and he a standard room. However we understand that these problems need to be addressed and we are doing everything we can to make your stay at the Western Holiday Lodge the best it can be. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a joyful day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    53
    46
    56
See reviews for
63
97
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Socorro, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend when we visiting Sequoia National Park. The location is good -- only a short drive from the park's entrance -- and they were one of the few lodges in the area that still had rooms available for our spur-of-the-moment trip.

I should have been tipped off that something was wrong when I noticed blood on my pillow when I got up in the morning. I certainly hadn't seen it there the night before, and I wasn't aware of any cuts on my face. But we were excited to get going with the day, which was spent on a very pleasant hike in the park.

The second night, I didn't see any blood, and I chalked up the experience to the fact that the place is, after all, pretty grungy. We had a good rate ($90 / night) so I didn't register a complaint. Then, a couple days after we returned home, my husband and I both started noticing what looked like bites all over our bodies. He was reacting worse than me. The distribution was on places that would have touched a bed, and his immediate thought was "bedbugs." We tore apart our bed at home, and didn't find anything.

Then he did some research and found out that the appearance of bedbug bites can often be delayed by several days. A little more research turned up the fact that we weren't the first travelers to notice bedbugs at the Western Holiday Lodge. We put two and two together with the appearance of blood on my pillow, and we're 99% sure that we were bitten up pretty badly while staying at the Lodge. (If you squish the bug while it's biting, it will ooze blood onto a pillow or sheets.)

We've never been bitten by bedbugs before, so we didn't think to pull up the mattress and look for the actual bugs. Others have done this as the Western Holiday Lodge, and there is actually photographic evidence if you look through the Traveler Photos.

In short, don't stay here if you prefer not to be bitten by bedbugs, and hope not to take bedbugs home with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at The Western Holiday Lodge would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel. however to address your issue specifically we have to look at all of the factors. In this case while you think bed bug is the answer there are many other things that could have caused your problem for example, poison oak. Poison oak is very common in our National Park area and and does not appear until several day later and spreads very easily. Another cause may have been, due to the fact that you are out in the county, many other various types of bugs. Being out in the country it is very common that bugs will attach themselves to you and hitch a ride home with you so to speak. However we are not ignoring your concerns. We are doing what we can and looking into this bed bug issue, as we don't want this to happen to our future guests. We thank you very kindly for bringing this to our attention and we hope that this has brought you knowledge and insight as to what may have happened. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in June 2013 and took two rooms. The beds, linens, & towels were clean. But the rest of the room and the exterior walkways all look like they've needed a coat of paint and new carpet for years. The rooms were very expensive for what you get, but I think that's the order of the day in Three Rivers (location location location!) The owners know they'll be able to be close to full even without maintenance or improvements. Really felt like a rip-off. The rooms were, at least, quiet except for the drone of A/C.
The pool area was grungy. They have a tiny spa, but only heat it up when requested, so don't expect it to be hot unless you've asked and then reminded them a couple of times. Reception desk service was OK. Breakfast was beyond bleak (as in "stocking up at Costco would improve it").
There were hundreds of birds who'd nested under the eaves of the stairwells and walkways, which was kind of charming.
I hope to not have to stay in Three Rivers again, but will definitely avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Bryan, We at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you for your generous advise. We will take all of your issue into consideration in hope to better accommodate our future guests. We also would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel however please do understand that we have made very many improvements and are working hard everyday to better accommodate our guests. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a charming day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room (3) - The place is beautiful but the motel is divided into two blocks: an old plant and a new one. We were in the old one: big rooms but not very clean. / Services (4,5) - The Indian personnel is very gentle. The breakfast was plentiful but not very rich. / Location (3,5) - In this valley you need a car to get everything. The closest mexican restaurant is good, even if not too clean. [1-6 scale]

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We will take your few words of advise into consideration in hopes of making our hotel the best in can be.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff, near to amenities, easy road access, safe environment, nice little swimming pool, adequate breakfast, clean rooms with bath tub in bathrooms. I would definitely recommend this place for people visit the National Park. Located near to many nature attractions.

Room Tip: If you are four people going together, then you stay will end up being very cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday lodge are more than happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We can only hope the all of our guests feel the same way that you do. We wish you good fortune on your future endeavors and have a beautiful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was clearly the worst deal we had in our trip. The place is nice, about 10 minutes from the start of the Sequoia National Park after which you have to drive for about 50 minutes to get to see the sequoia. The hotel is not what you would expect paying about 170$ !! You should not pay more than 100$ max: not well maintained and old. The picture you get on the site is NOT the room you get for $170: it has no balcony, a badly looking and maintained bathroom and old accessories. The breakfast is served only until 9:00 AM and therefore, even if the personal is friendly, a rate of 170$ is outrageous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel. and we thank you kindly for your generous advise and will take your issues into consideration in order to make our hotel the best in can be. We thank you again and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To be honest I don't quite understand the negative reviews on here. Perhaps the older part of the motel is not in good shape? We arrived late without a reservation, having had a booking instead many miles away where we weren't going to get that night. When i explained our problem the very pleasant lady on reception offered us a room in the newer building and dropped the price by $20. The room was large, very nicely furnished, had a fireplace and its own patio with table and chairs to the back. The bathroom wasn't the most modern but all was very clean. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and was being replenished all the time with a smile. We didn't use the pool, but it was being cleaned first thing in the morning. Lots of children in the playground made for a joyful scene. I would very much recommend this lodge, but perhaps ask for a room in the new part?

Room Tip: If you go into Sequoia National Park, take your time and don't underestimate how long it takes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We all hope to see you back at our hotel the next time you are in Three Rivers. Thank you again and we hope you have a beautiful day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.