We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To be honest I don't quite understand the negative reviews on here. Perhaps the older part of the motel is not in good shape? We arrived late without a reservation, having had a booking instead many miles away where we weren't going to get that night. When i explained our problem the very pleasant lady on reception offered us a room in the newer building and dropped the price by $20. The room was large, very nicely furnished, had a fireplace and its own patio with table and chairs to the back. The bathroom wasn't the most modern but all was very clean. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and was being replenished all the time with a smile. We didn't use the pool, but it was being cleaned first thing in the morning. Lots of children in the playground made for a joyful scene. I would very much recommend this lodge, but perhaps ask for a room in the new part?

Room Tip: If you go into Sequoia National Park, take your time and don't underestimate how long it takes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We all hope to see you back at our hotel the next time you are in Three Rivers. Thank you again and we hope you have a beautiful day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    52
    49
    55
See reviews for
61
95
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Despite some of the comments from other trip advisor entries we booked a room for a visit to Sequoia National Forest. We had a room with two beds. It was clean and functional with all the facilities I would expect for the price. Staff were friendly and polite and pool and grounds were in good shape. Compared to some hotels costing a lot more this hotel was good value and perfect for a one night stop-over. It's location was perfect for our needs being only a short drive to the entrance to the sequoia park entrance (though the Sequoia forest was an additional one hour drive from the park entrance)- this made three rivers an even more appropriate starting point for the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in the beautiful National Park. We you like to thank you kindly for taking your time to write such a pleasant review. We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
sincerely ,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's close to the entrance to Sequoia National Park but still 1 hour from the main parts of the park. The hotel appears a little run-down but the room was clean and large enough for 3 adults. The beds need replacing and were not terribly comfortable. It was not worth the money we paid for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Western Holiday Lodge. We appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We will take your issues into consideration and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. We appreciate your time and hope you will stay with us at the Western Holiday Lodge the next time you are in Three Rivers. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. \
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

recently stayed, out of the limited options we had to choose from in three rivers, this place had the most to offer..at arrival first thing I noticed that there were many families enjoy themselves ..in the pool area the hotel offers a lot of ground picnic areas, barbecue, playground for the kids, a basketball court, and two old favorites tedderball and horse shoe the price was reasonable compared to nearby choices which were more for less. our room was fair, spacious and clean. I checked out a nearby place and simply this offered more for my money. I enjoyed watching my kids enjoy there stay at a hotel...and playing a few games with them something I don't always get to do..as for the room it was clean..needed a few extras blankets and towels and they provided them. most of my time was spent on there grounds and at the park, I want to complaint because I read the other reviews but I checked out the nearby options and for less the price this place simply offered more for the same type room.

Room Tip: ask for a view room second floor private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western holiday Lodge would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write such a kind review. We are very happy to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope to see all of you again soon and hope that you will choose our hotel the next time your are in Three Rivers. Again we thank you very much and hope you and your family have a joyful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

NIGHTMARE!!! This place was really filthy and unkept. We stayed there for one night and was charged $230. The carpet was dirty,linens were not washed, the water smells bad, cobwebs everywhere. We had to use our own drinking water to brush our teeth and did not even dare to take a shower. The sliding door was broken. If this was $50/night, I would understand but still, hotels/motels should be kept clean. We were very disappointed. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank your for choosing our hotel and taking the time out of your day to write this review. We would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay. We are very grateful that you have brought this to our attention. I assure you this is not a common occurrence at our hotel. Again we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we are working everyday to fix these problems. We hope that you will come stay with us again and have a wonderfully pleasant time.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were just passing through Three Rivers and needed one night to stay. When we got to Western Holiday Lodge, we were expecting a lot more for $175 a night. Instead we were in a room that had stiff towels and sheets and was very outdated. The breakfast was okay, but the food was running out rapidly and not being replaced. It was an okay hotel for a shower and bed, but definitely not worth the price. I feel with the limited lodging, the owner takes advantage of travelers. Stay here if you have no other options.

Room Tip: Look at the room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We assure you that we are working out best to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we Thank you kindly for your feed back and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is an absolute toilet!!!!

We were desperate for a place to stay for one night and everything else in town was sold out so we ended up here.

- The hotel must be at least 40 years old with no updating since it was built
- The carpet was filthy and just plain nasty
- They had Wi-Fi but it does not reach all rooms
- The tub and shower are ancient and nasty. Chips and cracks everywhere and probably a case of caulk oozing from every seam that must have been applied by a third grader
- Breakfast buffet was a waffle maker, cold cereal and some cut up pastries from Sam's Club
- The pool and hot tub were nasty
- We opened the fridge and the previous guest had leftover food from the previous guest in it
- The shower had a partially used bar of soap in it
- The AC was an old window unit that made noise all night long
- This place is so disgusting that I'm still freaked out that I may have picked up bed bugs and just praying I didn't
- The furniture makes college dorm furniture seem upscale
- Old pre-flat screen TV's

I always try to say something positive in my reviews so here is it… I didn’t catch yellow fever or typhoid from my stay.

Avoid, avoid, avoid this place. I would rather sleep in my car trunk then ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge Would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while you were here and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are working very hard to insure that our guest have the best stay that they can and are taking each step that we need to to improve our hotel. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a wonderful day .
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.