We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rates Way Too High” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Liberty, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rates Way Too High”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were just passing through Three Rivers and needed one night to stay. When we got to Western Holiday Lodge, we were expecting a lot more for $175 a night. Instead we were in a room that had stiff towels and sheets and was very outdated. The breakfast was okay, but the food was running out rapidly and not being replaced. It was an okay hotel for a shower and bed, but definitely not worth the price. I feel with the limited lodging, the owner takes advantage of travelers. Stay here if you have no other options.

Room Tip: Look at the room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We assure you that we are working out best to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we Thank you kindly for your feed back and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    49
    47
    53
See reviews for
59
87
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is an absolute toilet!!!!

We were desperate for a place to stay for one night and everything else in town was sold out so we ended up here.

- The hotel must be at least 40 years old with no updating since it was built
- The carpet was filthy and just plain nasty
- They had Wi-Fi but it does not reach all rooms
- The tub and shower are ancient and nasty. Chips and cracks everywhere and probably a case of caulk oozing from every seam that must have been applied by a third grader
- Breakfast buffet was a waffle maker, cold cereal and some cut up pastries from Sam's Club
- The pool and hot tub were nasty
- We opened the fridge and the previous guest had leftover food from the previous guest in it
- The shower had a partially used bar of soap in it
- The AC was an old window unit that made noise all night long
- This place is so disgusting that I'm still freaked out that I may have picked up bed bugs and just praying I didn't
- The furniture makes college dorm furniture seem upscale
- Old pre-flat screen TV's

I always try to say something positive in my reviews so here is it… I didn’t catch yellow fever or typhoid from my stay.

Avoid, avoid, avoid this place. I would rather sleep in my car trunk then ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge Would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while you were here and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are working very hard to insure that our guest have the best stay that they can and are taking each step that we need to to improve our hotel. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a wonderful day .
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

When we made the reservations my wife was told we would get a lower level room due to my bad knees. We were placed in a second floor room overlooking the site where two people were murdered the night before. There were cleaning supplies left in our room, Which I guess was kind of ok, because my wife could make sure the restroom was clean before touching anything in there. Unfortunately it was the carpets that needed a good cleaning and the didn't leave a carpet cleaning machine in the room. The towels that were in the room were clean, and the pool was clean. The big problem was that four different people in our group of about 25 had credit card fraud since going here. Two of those people had cards that were brand new and not used anywhere else but here ( the murder thing was pretty bad also). If we weren't with a group of people we probably would have left when they didn't give us the room we supposed to get. I can't say we had a bad time because the people we were with were fun to be around. The bottom line is that our group has found a different place to stay on our annual trip next year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We have taken the necessary steps to ensure that an experience like this will never happen again. However we would like to take the time to address a specific issue of yours. While it is unfortunate that your friends have experienced credit fraud, we can assure you that our hotel has no history of credit fraud and we do not intend to create one. However if you are able to prove credit fraud against us we take all matters very seriously. Until then we thank you very kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is very close to the south end of Sequoia National Park. We stayed for one night and while the facility is a bit worn, the room was clean, large and comfortable and the AC worked great. Breakfast was the standard waffle makers, toast, pastries and cold cereal and there was plenty of it. The room is small and many folks had to eat at the tables outside. The desk staff was polite and the free wi fi was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and can only hope that all of our guests felt the same was. Again we thank you kindly and hope you come stay with us again on your next visit to Three Rivers.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Has been almost a month since our visit and within the big group that stayed here several have had their credit card hacked by this place!! They take your card info and somehow copy it & make charges! We found out it happened to us (a month later from our visit) due to some others warning us to what happened to them. Our charge is being investigated but we know others had been told their charges were somehow affiliated from the hotel personnel.

In addition to this place the rooms are not very clean. We arrived to our room the door was wide open and cleaning supplies were still in our room. And our charges to the room were more than they quoted us previously. They never sent us a confirmation so we took their word on price. They said our name was the confirmation. We will never go here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you have have experienced. We have taken the necessary steps to insure that an experience like yours will never happen again. However we would like to take the time to address a specific issue of yours. While it is unfortunate that you have experienced credit fraud we can assure you that our hotel has no history of credit fraud and do not intend to create one. However if you are able to prove credit fraud against us we will take all matters very seriously. Until then we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good place to crash for a night, The place was clean. Had WIFI. One hour away from the Sequoia National Park. Price was good. The breakfast was awesome. Has swimming pool. Lot of parking place . Adjacent to three rivers lake . Loved it.

Room Tip: book in advance to get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kinda review. We are more than happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and can only hope our future guests feel the same way that you did. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I wish we could say great things about this hotel because the staff were lovely but it's dated, the rooms feel old, the curtains felt grimy, the bath seemed dirty because its bottom is so scuffed. The showers were a nightmare because the taps were unreliably giving out hot and cold water. The breakfast was simple but fine. The coffee was great. One of our party saw a mouse/rat beside the vending machine and although we slept soundly, we would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We would also like to thank you for your generous advise. We are working hard everyday to make improvements and make this hotel the best it can be. We will gratefully take your advise and take the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a beautiful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers
Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.