We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone doing their best but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everyone doing their best but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place tries hard but appears to suffer from a short and busy season near Sequoia and Kings Canyon. The hotel is old and pretty tired. Mud Swallows have formed nests in the eaves over the rooms which keeps the bugs down but their leavings make for a kinda "skeivy" walkway. The air conditioner in the next room didn't work at all. Our either frose us solid or left us melting in 100 degree hear. The toilet was so slow we just kept the plunger in our room. The beds were so so. The breakfast is pretty minimal was poorly set up: eg pick up bread on one side of the room and make your way thru the crowd and tables to the toaster on the other side. A third counter was being used to store dusty, old plastic plants and the little fireplace was decorated with a kinda grim plastic wreath. The rest room off the breakfast room was not labeled and did not have an automatic door closer so while we ate breakfast, children leaving the rest room regularly left the bathroom door open to the food area.Yuck! The WiFi worked less than half the time and we were forced to leave our rooms to use the breakfast room to access Wifi. While we worked on the computer, my husband kept hearing the sound of water running. We figured out that thesound he was hearing was from the toilet off the breakfast room. It too was broken and they were losing water at about a gallon a minute. The property is well located to the park. While I understand the challenges that the seasonality presents these owners, I have to say that next time I'm going to try to get a room at the Comfort Inn down the road.

Room Tip: Go down the road to the Comfort Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    53
    46
    56
See reviews for
63
97
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Need to upgrade EVERYTHING. There are so many to mention but I will only write about the most upsetting experience! My nephew got hurt from the swing. The chain broke and he fell while swinging up - landed on his chest and had a minor cut and scrape on his arm. When we reported it to the night staff, the guy in the office told my sister, "It's just a cut!" It was a painful cut. I saw my nephew flew off that swing...I know it hurt him bad. No sympathy whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Western Holiday Inn during our 3 week trip across the US. The motels is just a short jaunt to Sequoia National Park and it does have great views. Be that as it may, the beds were uncomfortable, the carpeting was very dirty (socks and feet were black from the rug), the overstuffed chair in the room was so soiled I didn't want to sit in it, the dresser had so many handles off it not all the drawers could be opened to use, there were long black hairs in the tub area, and to beat all the water pressure fell to just a trickle after just lathering up. Would ot recommend this motel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We got a 1st floor room, clean and comfortable. Good location, very near Sequoia Park entrance. Fron desk attendant very nice and helpful. Nearby restaurants (not many).
I would recomend for a stay of 1-2 nites.Good breackfast included in rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this kind review. We are glad the hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to Three Rivers. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Disappointing 1 night stay. The good - the wifi worked just fine, breakfast was available, really pretty views and they were cleaning the pool first thing in the morning. The not so good - the room we were given was dirty, no attention to detail, dirty windows, disgusting sink, drain was plugged and just not what we would have accepted as a 2 star property. The window in the bathroom had been left open prior to our arrival without a screen lots of bugs had made their way into the room. Basically the room needed a good scrub down. Our next stop after this was a stay near Yosemite at another 2 star lodge and that was exactly what we were expecting, so I don't think we had high expectations, could be we were given a bum room? I would say this is just 1 step up from tent camping (we are tent and rv campers) & would be more accepting if it were a 1 star property. There really aren't many options in the area but if price is your biggest concern this will probably be your least expensive option. The location is good to SNP and a wide variety of international guests, can meet lots of friendly folk from all over the world. Had some pleasant conversations and enjoyed the natural views surrounding the lodge, sorry to say would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As the title says this hotel has bed bugs and me and my boyfriend woke up with at least 100 bites all over our bodies. We lifted the bed cover and there we found 2 live bed bugs (see photo)

It ruined my stay in Sequoia as I was scratching myself like mad the whole time and the bites looked ugly.

I got back from the holiday a week ago and the bites just started to fade now.

The hotel is owned by a Indian family who don't care about anything but taking your money.

Avoid this hotel if you can and stay somewhere else in Three rivers, there is a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, General Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We would like to thank you choosing our hotel. More importantly, we would like to thank you for
bringing this occurrence to our attention. we will address this immediately, so it does not hamper
future guests' stays at our hotel, we strive to provide a relaxing atmosphere. a home away from
home. if there are any future incidents like this, it would be helpful it you could bring this to our
attention immediately, so we may find an immediate resolution, even if that means refunding your
stay. and thaks again for your concern
Western Holiday Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

For entering Sequioa N.P. from south point we took that place. From outside it looks ok, but the room was dirty. Despite of several attempts, the wifi was not accessible... due to poor service staff (most of questions/requests remain without an answer).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.