We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again, dirty.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Indianapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would not stay again, dirty.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Disappointing 1 night stay. The good - the wifi worked just fine, breakfast was available, really pretty views and they were cleaning the pool first thing in the morning. The not so good - the room we were given was dirty, no attention to detail, dirty windows, disgusting sink, drain was plugged and just not what we would have accepted as a 2 star property. The window in the bathroom had been left open prior to our arrival without a screen lots of bugs had made their way into the room. Basically the room needed a good scrub down. Our next stop after this was a stay near Yosemite at another 2 star lodge and that was exactly what we were expecting, so I don't think we had high expectations, could be we were given a bum room? I would say this is just 1 step up from tent camping (we are tent and rv campers) & would be more accepting if it were a 1 star property. There really aren't many options in the area but if price is your biggest concern this will probably be your least expensive option. The location is good to SNP and a wide variety of international guests, can meet lots of friendly folk from all over the world. Had some pleasant conversations and enjoyed the natural views surrounding the lodge, sorry to say would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    53
    46
    56
See reviews for
64
97
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As the title says this hotel has bed bugs and me and my boyfriend woke up with at least 100 bites all over our bodies. We lifted the bed cover and there we found 2 live bed bugs (see photo)

It ruined my stay in Sequoia as I was scratching myself like mad the whole time and the bites looked ugly.

I got back from the holiday a week ago and the bites just started to fade now.

The hotel is owned by a Indian family who don't care about anything but taking your money.

Avoid this hotel if you can and stay somewhere else in Three rivers, there is a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, General Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We would like to thank you choosing our hotel. More importantly, we would like to thank you for
bringing this occurrence to our attention. we will address this immediately, so it does not hamper
future guests' stays at our hotel, we strive to provide a relaxing atmosphere. a home away from
home. if there are any future incidents like this, it would be helpful it you could bring this to our
attention immediately, so we may find an immediate resolution, even if that means refunding your
stay. and thaks again for your concern
Western Holiday Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

For entering Sequioa N.P. from south point we took that place. From outside it looks ok, but the room was dirty. Despite of several attempts, the wifi was not accessible... due to poor service staff (most of questions/requests remain without an answer).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the western Holiday Lodge would like to first thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are taking the necessary steps to make this hotel the best it can be. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is about one hour drive from the General Sherman Tree and thus it provides a good base location for visiting the big trees. I stayed in the hotel just for one night and was satisfied with the large room which had a fireplace and balcony facing a forest. It felt like a comfy mountain lodge. In conclusion: good value accommodation; breakfast OK for the usual American 'continental' option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We are glad to here that you enjoyed you stay here with us. We hope to seen you again on your next visit to Three Rivers. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a joyful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Any trip to California should include a visit to Sequoia National Park. The town of Thre Rivers is at the entrance to the park and the best value seems to be The Western Holiday Lodge. We've been going to the April JazzAffair for 37 years and we've stayed everywhere. The WHL has comfortable beds, spacious rooms and other things that would help make the visit more fun, you know, microwave, in-room coffee, refrigerator, [which didn't work and our food spoiled], iron, hair drier and waffle breakfast. We love three Rivers and the park any time of year, but, early spring, and the Jazz music makes this trip super special.

Room Tip: Check the room ammenities as soon as you chek in to make sure they all work. The service personnel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We are glad to here that you enjoyed you stay here with us. We hope to seen you again on your next visit to Three Rivers. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a joyful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed overnight in Three Rivers to visit Sequoia National Park, We were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was spacious and clean. A sliding glass door opened to a small patio and a large grassy area. It was also extremely quiet. The only downside was an inoperable fireplace. That was a bit disappointing.

It had a microwave and refrigerator, and a regular coffee maker! Most motels we have stayed in over the past few years have done away with normal size coffee makers and have switched to single serve types. So on our road trips we bring our own.

This is a great place at a reasonable price. The only drawback is that it is about 15 minutes from the park entrance.

Room Tip: We prefer ground level rooms. These have sliding doors to patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We are glad to here that you enjoyed you stay here with us. We hope to seen you again on your next visit to Three Rivers. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a joyful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are French and this Motel looks like really typical. The staff is really kind, friendly and helpfull. The room was really clean and it's a good think's. The Motel is quiet and he have a lot of space. You can have a peace of yard to enjoy the view on the montain. The breakfast is good and you can find some typical American food.

If you need to go to the National Park this his the better place, really close, the price is good for the prestation!
I recomande you this Motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We are glad to here that you enjoyed you stay here with us. We hope to seen you again on your next visit to Three Rivers. Again we thank you kindly and hope you have a joyful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.