We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The low point of our trip and the worst place we've ever stayed!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Basingstoke
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The low point of our trip and the worst place we've ever stayed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived to a decent sized but fairly dark and depressing room... on closer inspection the pillows were dirty and did not have pillowcases on all of them, although they did have several hairs from presumably the previous guests, which was delightful... upon requesting clean pillows I was simply told they would be changed and was not even offered so much as an apology... The breakfast the next morning was so pathetic we stormed out of the room without even bothering, there was hardly anything there and what was there looked dry and revolting - admittedly we had arrived about 20 mins before the end of breakfast, but still did not expect what we got, or rather didn't get. Appreciating there is not much choice at 3 Rivers I can honestly say this place was the biggest and only disappointment of our near 3 week stay in the USA and although 3 Rivers is lovely in itself, if this was the only place left to stay, I would have to skip it in the future (or sleep in the car!!).

Room Tip: Hire a big car and fold down the back seats!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    67
    48
    61
See reviews for
73
112
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this hotel to be GREAT! It isn't the Hyatt or Ritz but it's clean, close to the park's entrance and the owners are very friendly. The hotel also has a clean pool, basketball court, BBQ pit, swings and playground so if you are traveling w/children it's perfect!

Our room was spacious n there weren't any bed bugs. The beds were also comfy and everything worked well (including the heater).

We highly recommend it if ur looking for a hotel that's comparable to Days Inn (we paid $70) and will definitely be staying here again.

Oh and they are pet friendly!! =]

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel looked very run down when we pulled up. All other hotels on the area were booked so this one was our last hope for staying in three rivers for the weekend. The rooms have been updated in the last 10 years including art work and bathrooms but the spreads on the beds looked like they have been in them since the motel opened. The room we stayed in was very spacious but the view made the whole trip worth it. We didn't have a balcony but could still see the beautiful scenery of the moutains. The river at the back of the hotel is just a short hike away. There are big rocks surrounding the river which we climbed up onto and just looked and listened to the surroundings of nature. It was relaxing, romantic great weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It has to be said that this hotel doesn't inspire with confidence from the road, but once you are in it quickly grows on you. Tthe rooms are of a good size with plenty of storage space there's room for vanity unit and kitchenette space, keeping the two functions separate. Disturbance from neighbouring rooms is virtually non existent. Outside the room there is a good deep shaded balcony, which is excellent for early evening and breakfast time. The breakfast is very adequate and wide ranging in choice. There's a good sized playground for children, a swimming pool and there's also a good barbecue area which got put to use during our stay. Despite being beside a busy road, there's no disturbance, and it's easy to get away up to explore the woods or down to leave town! Our only disappointment was that the cleaning staff made a real mess of changing linen etc, leaving us with one dry and one wet towel and no tea towels so we needed to use face cloths to dry mugs etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Western Holiday Lodge in Three Rivers. Would not recommend this location due to uncomfortable beds, thin walls, dirty exterior, noisy air conditioner. Reminds me of a 60's style hotel that has not seen paint, new linens or furniture since it opened. There has to be better choices in the Three Rivers area. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Everything in the room was in working order, although the AC was a little loud. The decor is dated, but that's not a deal breaker. We could have used more than one bar of soap for two people and towels were not replaced durring a two night stay. In room coffee was not restocked. We used the free washing machine and 75 cent dryer. The breakfast room was too small for the weekend crowd and I gave up hope of getting a waffle. Eating outside in the morning was actually a plus to me. The pool looked ok and several people used it. The place looked nearly full on a Saturday night after Labor day. The location is outside of town and turning onto the highway with traffic coming down hill at you at 55 mph is a minus.

If I were to stay in this town again I would probably think about the comfort inn in town and close to the market, mexican restaurant, and pizza place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I found this hotel on Kayak.com. It had okay to decent reviews on Kayak and on Tripadvisor.com so I decided to book my labor day vacation here. Their website had beautiful pictures and was put together well. I was most pleased at how close of a distance this hotel to the entrance to Sequia National Park. We got a better deal calling the hotel direct versus booking a reservation thru Kayak.com. That was awesome. When we arrived, all the reviews that I read were far from the truth. I was not pleased at the appearence of this hotel. Their grass looked yellow and dry. Their office was located in room 11 because of a fire that happened more than a year ago destroyed their main check in office. It looked like the owners had no intentions in rebuilding their office again. Their dining area was room 10. The rooms smelled musty and had furnitures looked like they were bought from craigs list. The dresser had some with handles and some with missing handles. The TV were the big old school tube TV.

We checked in and dumped our stuff in our room and left to the park. We came back in the evening to discover our toilet was leaking and not flushing properly. When we would flush,the water would rise up to the rim of the bowl and then slowly drain down. It wouldn't flush so the toilet paper stayed till we had to fish it out to put it in the trash. We immediatly went to the office and a guy answered. We told him our toilet was not working and he told us he could not do anything till tomorrow morning. He gave us a plunger and extra towels and that was that.


We were furious! The plunger was not a solution to the toilet issue. It did not help at all nor could we stop the leaking. Besides we had traveled for hours to get here and to not be able to use the toilet was ruining our trip. I wouldn't have cared so much if the TV didn't work or the AC was broken or if lights could not turn on but to have a broken toilet could not be tolorated. In the morning we spoke to the owner and he said he could fix it and although there was no vacancy he would switch rooms for us, however he would not comensate more than that. He insisted that we let his employee in our room while we go hiking and it would be fixed. I didn't like the idea of strangers being in my room with my personal items so we decline and told him to fix it when we come back. He was not pleased that my request was not convienct to him and his worker. We asked for partial refund on the room due the inconvience and the lazyness of his employee but argued with us that it was our fault for not notifying him sooner of the situation. FIRST- we did notify his employee when we first learned about the problem. Beside we didn't have to use the bathrooom till we came back later in the night after coming back from the park. Beside him arguing with us in front of other guest, he demanded that we stop eating our breakfast to show us that our toilet was indeed broken. How dare he accuse of lying. I have never been treated so badly for something that was not our fault.


In the end, we decided to leave this terrible hotel and pay more money and stay elsewhere. It was a has a hassle moving all our stuff and took time away from our trip but I couldn't bare the idea staying at such a crummy hotel and give my business to an owner who did not value his customers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.