We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs! Cold shower!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs! Cold shower!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I waited too long to book nice lodge in Sequoia National Park. So, this hotel was the only one which had vacant rooms for my family and our friend's family in July. We booked 3 nights but stayed only two nights. There are bed bugs in Room 27! I got so many bites and didn't know what they were. Water in the pool was muggy green and my son found crawling bugs in it. We came back from Lake on second day in the afternoon to take a shower, but they didn't have hot water. Sequoia was really nice and beautiful, but this hotel was extremely awful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    54
    46
    57
See reviews for
65
97
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked the hotel for two nights and could bairly stay for one. We were promised a clean room, helpful staff and an all around nice stay, none of those criteria were met. The room looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in years; the carpet made our feet black if we did not walk around with shoes. The beds smelled as if the sheets were not washed and the bed was incredibly uncomftorable, and there were numerous bugs crawling around in the bathroom. Not to mention the beds, we woke up with bed bug bites the next morning. Be prepared to eat a less than adequate breakfast, not in the lobby or a sitting area, but in room 10, the lobby has burned down. When we checked out early the next morning we taked to the manager and were told that we were to be refunded for the night we didn't stay. But when the travel company we booked the hotel from called, we were informed that the hotel had no intention of refunding our money. All in all, horrible, dirty discusting hotel. Rude, unhelpful staff. Nothing about this hotel pleased my family or I. I highly recommed never staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had to make a last-minute booking, and it cost $129.99/night. For this price I was told that I would have a king-size room, which was true. But I was also told that I would have a view of the river. I think I would have to climb on the roof to see the river. The room was quite large, but the carpet is stained and the bathroom faucet is not working properly. There was a malfunction of the magnetic key, so every time I came back to the room, I had to go to the office so that someone could let me into the room. On the positive side, the room was quiet even though the hotel seemed to be quite full. It's all just a little seedy. The breakfast was good with fresh waffles you can make yourself. As others have said, there is not a large choice of lodging in Three Rivers. I don't plan to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very close to Sequoia. Loved it there. 3 hrs. from Yosimete Nat. Park. Nice rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast. Outdoor play yard and swing. Grill to cook out if you want.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed at the Western Holiday Lodge 5/29/12. Cost was $49.99 + tax $5.00 = $54.99. Very reasonable, especially in Three Rivers CA at the southern end of Sequoia National Park. Room was clean and a/c worked well. Bed was fine, but no upscale bed ala upscale hotel beds. The 3 pillows were fine. Bath had shower/tub with good water flow and hot water. Morning breakfast was nice with yoghurt, cereals, fruit, waffles, variety of coffees, milk and juice. A decent breakfast, particularly at this price point.

I ate dinner at a restaurant just up the street that was pretty good with reasonable prices. They had Mexican food and steaks cooked on a bbq grill out front. As another reviewer had mentioned, the bugs really come out after sunset. I was very comfortably eating dinner outside when sunset came and the bugs seemed to all come out within minutes, forcing me inside. .

Back to the motel, it was clean, quiet and very reasonably priced and would stay again.

A warning to those entering or exiting Sequoia Nat'l Park at the south end. There is major roadwork at this end of the park with considerable delays as 1 way traffic continues for a # of miles into and out of the park at the Three Rivers southern end of Sequoia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

there are great hotels in Three rivers, but all the hotels are very expensive for what u get. this hotel too, but it has the lowest prices in town.
anyway, I dont recomened staying in Three rivers at all... from sunset the towm is filled with mosquitoes! and in the morning the way to the park is so steep... so it is much better to just stay inside the park.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The bed was hard it was like sleeping on a board the floor would've been softer. The faucet for the sink was broken and the shower leaked horribly. Would not stay there EVER again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.