We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Motel, excellent staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers to your Saves list
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean Motel, excellent staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night in January 2012. The hotel is in a great location if you're looking to visit the Sequoia National Park as the park entrance is a short drive away. The room was clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was great with a variety of options. The thing that impressed us most about this motel was the helpfulness of the staff. The airline had lost my luggage so I was trying to contact them to track it down. My mobile phone had no signal and I couldn't work the phone in the room. The manager let me use his phone to contact the airport several times and even offered to let me phone my family in England and wouldn't accept payment for any of the calls.
If you're looking for a basic, clean motel with excellent service then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    60
    47
    61
See reviews for
67
105
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

The room was good and quite big and there was a nice terrace but the bedroom very clean... There was hair all over the blankets! Breakfast was average but there was a nice waffle machine so hot self made waffles every morning. The staff was nice and helped us out when we had a flat tyre. The Position is very good to visit the park.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our fanily including two children (aged 6 & 9) stayed here in October 2011. The room was spacious and included three double beds, one of which was in a seperate room. It was the first time on our month loing holiday to America that our boys did not have to share a bed. The breakfast was great and motel just a short drive to Sequoia National Park enterence. The motel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel was not bad: there were no bedbugs as reported in previous reviews (first thing I checked when I arrived), the room was not dirty, it was relatively cheap and is not far from the Sequoia Nat'l Park but several things should be improved: our shower did not work (the water flow was rather poor), there was no hot water and the hair dryer was missing. Besides the hotel is a bit off the Three Rivers town, which makes it a bit inconvenient. Summarizing, probably we will choose another hotel closer to the park, even if it is a little bit more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

In August, I stayed at Western Holiday Lodge in Three Rivers, CA. This was a Holiday Inn so not much has changed except it is now owned by Magnuson Hotels. It's has a two story and one story building. Rooms are large. I stayed on the 2nd floor (may not of had an elevator). My room had a electric fireplace, medium sized balcony, mini refrigerator and microwave. There was a small view of the lake.

It has many extras: basketball court, guest Bar-B-Que pit. Several couples in the evening would sit out on the swing, eat and enjoy the great views. The entrance to the Sequoia National Park is very near by. Phone 559-561-4119 takes AAA

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked this hotel for a 3 day stay because AAA rated it. It has a pool, playground (a single swing and tether ball), BBQ (not well maintained), kitchenette's (a small refrigerator with a microwave sitting ontop). Checking in we saw the pool, which was crystal clear and would have been inviting if it had been heated. Apparently there was a recent fire in the office so check in was a hotel room converted into the office. Continental breakfast would be in the room next door. We walked into our room and was immediately bombarded with a musty odor. Our beds did not look "safe", as I was prepared to pull out our sleeping bags and lay them on top. We were still trusting AAA, after all, if AAA has it in their tour books and travel maps, how bad could it get? We turned on the air conditioner and left for a few hours of daylight in the Park. Upon returning for the night we stopped in a couple of hotels that were much closer to the park to see if they had any openings, as well as get their impression of their other sister local hotel. Boy, did we get an earfull. After reading the other reviews on TripAvisor, I can see why. I did not want to take the chance of returning home with an infestation of any critters, compounded with our already weary feeling when we checked in. We booked another hotel and returned to WHL to cancel our stay and get a refund. Mind you, we did not even sit down on the bed. We had checked in at 4:30, and it was at around 9:30 that we returned. The night clerk needed to call her onsite manager for approval for the credit. She declined to refund our fees. We insisited on speaking with the manager and was told that she had left the premises. Really? Within a minute or two the manager was no longer available. Only alternative is to call the credit card company and dispute the charge. Luckily we do have a check in time and check out time on our receipt showing that we did not even "stay" in the room for more than 5 hours. We should have known when we pulled in and only saw one car in the whole parking lot. Should have read my TripAdvisor first! I do not recommend and most definitely not AAA material.

Room Tip: Do not stop, drive past and never look back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Picked this hotel because it wasn't expensive and close to the Sequoia Parc. Room was quite big and ok. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Breakfast room was very small due to a recent fire but should be ok soon. Internet only worked outside room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.