We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn: A decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Malibu
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn: A decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

Comfort Inn is about six miles from the entrance of Sequoia National Park. It is right on Hwy 198 but cannot hear the traffic noise at all in the room. The inn looks pretty new and is clean. It has the basic motel amenities (blowdryer, coffee maker, shampoo & conditioner...). Its complimentary breakfast includes make-it-yourself waffle, muffins, toast, fruit ,coffee & juice. There is really nothing much to complain about this inn, maybe except the coffee is too bland (hey, but it's complimentary). There are couple motels closer to the park entrance but most of them look pretty rundown. I paid $69/nite which was really affordable. Next time, I will want to try the Wuksachi Lodge inside the park but will definitely recommend Comfort Inn to anyone.

  • Liked — decent rate
  • Disliked — location
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    199
    54
    39
See reviews for
222
281
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed here because in Three Rivers, you don't have much of a choice. However, for only 50.00 you get a clean room. The bathroom was a bit small, but overall the room was quiet and the staff was accomodating. Free Waffles! :)

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

Stayed there in Dec. 06. First time to a national park with kids 9 and 5. Best hotel in the area. We have stayed at many Choice hotels in west coast and this is one of the cleanest and friendliest. Due to a slow season, we opted for the upgrade to a hot tub room and the kids loved it. We are from Hawaii so having a fire place and a hot-tub was a treat.
Our little one was under the weather and found a doctor and a pharmacy just a block away, very convinient.
Only down side was that we were too early for some snow. Saw some up in the park but we were hoping for more. Only more reason for us to return.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights in late October. (At the time of our stay, this hotel was a Holiday Inn Express so some things may have changed since the change to it being a Comfort Inn.)

The rooms are very good with a Kingsize bed, table and chair, 28" TV, Iron and Ironing board etc.

The sink (faucet) is seperate to the toilet and shower which I always find helps speed up getting ready in a morning!

The hotel has laundry facilities, which I found very handy given that we were on a 3 week long trip - you can purchase small packs of detergent and softner from the reception desk.

Internet access is free in the lobby, however it is restricted to 15 minutes (although I don't think anybody would mind if you were on longer, providing nobody else was waiting.)

Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express Start continental breakfast, with self-serve cereal, toast, waffles, bagels, pastries and coffee. Not sure how breakfast will measure up now this is a Comfort Inn though.

The location is great, just across the road from a Mexican restaurant and a Pizza Factory, and the Sequoia national park entrance is just a 20 minute drive from here.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temple City, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

We stayed for three nights. It is very close to Sequoia National Park. The room was adequate for a couple with a toddler. There was no mini refrigerator to store milk but there is a market just accross the hotel. Three Rivers is a very small town no fast food joint. The closest bigger city is Visalia which is about half an hour drive. And it seems to be the newest hotel in Three Rivers, CA. Make sure you try to Pizza also accross the street. The Post office being nearby is also an added plus.

The hotel service is adequate but the staff is not very friendly. There were no good morning or come back again or welcome to the hotel. The staff doesn't seem to be approachable and there are no brochures visible for the National Park.

There is a computer to access your e-mail in the lobby for 15 minutes maximum but no internet in the rooms.

The doors are a little thin. The stay was event less except Saturday evening or Sunday very early morning. Which seems to be drunks outside our hotel room and we heard the whole conversation. And also on Sunday morning motorcyles warming up their engine for about 15minutes. You can also hear the footsteps above you.

  • Liked — Very close to Sequoia National Park
  • Disliked — Staff are not friendly/approachable-no smiles
  • Tips/Secrets — This hotel didn't show in Expedia or Hotels.com only in Travelocity
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights while visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. The room was very nice - clean and comfortable. We paid extra to have a microwave and frig in the room and there was a problem with the microwave. BUT they changed it out after I called about it. There was a problem with the replacement also, but my husband found out that the problem was with the top outlet and was able to get the microwave to work. MOST IMPORTANTLY though is that they were very fair and accommodating and knocked off the extra charges entirely from our bill (and we don't often encounter that "going the extra mile" bit while traveling.)

The only "annoying" thing about the room - and I think I read this in another review of this hotel-- is that the bathroom door was on special hinges and it sounded just like a squeaky screen door every time it was opened/closed. Other than that though - the room was great; we would recommend it; and would defnitely stay again.

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness and staff
  • Disliked — bathroom door - annoying noise
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

This was the 3rd Holiday Inn Express we booked on our trip to Yosemite. We stayed for 1 night on 10/11/06. Construction in Sequoia cost us several hours of travel so we arrived at this hotel after dark. It seemed crowded and impersonal. The room was adequate at best, being worn and tired looking. The towels in the bathroom were thin and had holes. The bottom of the bathtub seemed slimy and the shower curtain was torn beyond usable. Soundproofing was terrible, the people above us were loud and I had to ask politely to be moved to a different room. They did accomodate my request, but seemed put out and reluctant to move us.
I understand that some guests aren't considerate, but I am paying for my room too and if it is too noisy I expect to have my request handled in a nice, professional way.
I would not stay here again, it was the least pleasant HI Express out of all we stayed in. Next time I will continue down the road to Visalia and stay there!

  • Liked — First hotel chain outside Sequoia's south entrance
  • Disliked — Noise from other rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Continue down the highway to Visalia!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.