We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspect for bedbugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
California
1 review
“Inspect for bedbugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had bedbugs and gnats in the room. The assistant manager tried to tell us the bedbugs were a relative of bedbugs and not actually real bedbugs ... said they were brought in by the birds and hikers. What a crock! The management should deal with this problem and get rid of them. We spent the entire time upon arriving home washing clothing and taking other measures to make sure we hadn't brought them home on our luggage or in our books. Time will tell if what we're doing is enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    244
    200
    54
    40
See reviews for
225
285
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

A guests car alarm was on for the entire night. Management refused to tow the car. The entire vacation was ruined. Enough said. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I think we all love the sound of a rushing river or a gentle waterfall. That’s not the same as the sound of the shower running in the next room AND the room above…and toilets being flushed in adjacent rooms. Life is imperfect. So are the damaged wood doors and the gouges in the stucco (?) walls. And then there’s the less than sparking clean bathroom and the dirty wall switches.

In all fairness, it’s not horrible. This is an “okay” hotel if you’re visiting Sequoia National Park. You won’t be spending much time watching television, so I guess it doesn’t matter that there’s really no way to orient the fairly nice stuffed chair so you can sit and watch the t.v.

My room does have its plusses. Small microwave and fridge. Ceiling fan. Really good wifi connection.

Perhaps I’m just in a negative mood because of check-in yesterday. I should say attempted check-in. I arrived before noon hoping just to register, and then go into Sequoia National Park. The curt man at the desk simply said, “No. We are busy and have plumbing issues.” Period. In fact, I couldn’t check in at the normal check-in hour. Never been refused this before when arriving at a hotel early. On the other hand, the young lady at the counter in the very late afternoon was friendly and charming.

As I said, the hotel is “okay”. It suffers from what I find in some hotels that are isolated and near tourist destinations -- you don't have to try to hard when you're close to being the only show in town. I'd like to suggest that the general manage (who has been mentioned in other reviews) read the hotel's own "Commitment To Satisfaction."

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Hotel was convenient to Sequoia Park, but that was it's omnly good point. Hotel was noisy, dirty and staffed by unpleasant people. GM was very surly. Continetal breakfast was a joke - they cut an average size muffin into quarters and serve them that way. We left after one night, but were charged for the second night anyway. Three rivers is a tiny little "town" with no decent restaurants. The Pizza Factory had the worst pizza I've ever experienced anywhere and was staffed by scruffy teeneagers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We weren't familiar with the Comfort Inn hotel chain before accidentally coming across this one, but once we did we fell in love. The rooms were clean and spacious, the bed was huge, there was a swimming pool and an outdoor jacuzzi, a washing machine and a wonderfull breakfast, and all for an extremely affordable price. After this visit, our first choice was Comfort Inn hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We arrived on April 6, 2009 (only stayed one night). Our room wasn't ready but an upgraded room was ready so we went ahead and upgraded so we could get settled and on with our day. The "upgrade" gave us a little sitting area, fridge, and microwave, all of which came in handy. The room was clean and comfortable. The young gal at the front desk was helpful and gave us a lot of information about the area/motel. She got us excited to see some black bears with their cubs in town (apparently that is common in April) but no such luck. We ate lunch at The Gateway (on the right as you head toward the park from the motel). The food was okay and the service was a bit slow but the scenary was wonderful. The resturant is right on the river and the scenery while we ate really made the experience memorable. They do have a nice kids menu for those traveling with youngsters. The park entrance is a quick drive from the motel (less than 10 minutes). We LOVED this national park. Very beautiful and no where near the crowds as Yosemite (although we love Yosemite too). We climbed Moro Rock and really enjoyed the views from the top. The kids loved the climb but us parents were a bit nervous because there are a few spots with no barriers. We took our time and it was no problem whatsoever. On the walk back to the main road (1.5 ml walk to the rock) we did hear a bear somewhere nearby but didn't get to see it. In the moment I was kind of glad about that. We ate dinner that night back in Three Rivers at a pizza place (on the right as you head away from the park back to the motel) The pizza was pretty good, (good beer selection). They were very crowded so service was pretty slow. he salad bar looked decent. We enjoyed talking to many different foreign travelers at the resturant. Lots of Italian and Spanish families were visiting the park on a tour. My husband and the kids enjoyed the hot tub in the evening. Pool was still too cold. We had the breakfast offered by the motel. It was better than I was expecting. We all liked the waffle maker. They had muffins, pasteries, waffles, cereal, bread, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice and milk. We used the free internet in the lobby to send a quick e-mail. Nice extra. We spent the next day in the park visiting the Gen Grant and Gen Sherman trees and hiking around. We ate lunch in the park at Wuksachi Lodge. Pretty good food but again slow service. We weren't in a hurry but with hungry kids waiting for food isn't ideal. This lodge seemed really nice and when we go back to the park we will most likely stay here. We loved our quick visit to the park and our overnight stay at the Comfort Inn was pleasant and did right by us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed at the Comfort Inn near Sequoia from April 15 - 17, 2009. It is six miles from the park entrance. We stayed in a 2 Queen Bed room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean for the most part, although I would not let my 8 year old daughter take a bath in the tub and instead made her take a shower. There was a coffee maker in the room, but it cost additional money for a room with a fridge. The room is a typical hotel chain room, except the bedcovers were an obnoxious bright orange. It was clean and functional though, and conveniently close to Sequoia and local eating establishments. Do not expect much from the breakfast, but it is edible and free. The breakfast area was extremely small with just a few small round tables. My family of four sat at one the first morning, and we had barely enough room for four plates and four beverages. The second morning, we sat in the adjacent meeting room. I sent my husband in there because I had seen a large rectangular table, which is the meeting room and table on the motel website. When I finally sat down, I noticed three or four plain white cribs squeezed along the side of one wall. We joked that we felt like we were in a Romanian orphanage. There is also a microwave and a television in there. There are two waffle makers, for which we had to wait on line (because it is the only hot food available), and the batter dispenser always seemed to be running out. But the front desk man came to replenish the batter when asked. There are muffins cut into quarters, hard boiled eggs, bread and English muffins to toast, and two types of cereal (Fruit Loops and Raisin Bran). Caffeinated and decaffeinated coffee and tea were available, as were milk and juices (dispensed from a juice machine). Not a great breakfast, but it was free and it served the purpose. We paid around $65 a night, so I am not complaining. The only thing I thought was tacky was the cups set out for juice were large Dixie bathroom cups. People do waste a lot of food at free breakfasts, but I thought the Dixie cups were a bit much. Also, when we checked in, it was obviously the off season and they weren't going to have a large number of guests, but the front desk girl (Christine from the other review) put us in a room that was like a dungeon all the way in the back of the motel under a stairway. However, when my husband went back to request a different room, she did honor it and gave us one on the 2nd floor where you could see the light of day.

The Comfort Inn is no frills. It isn't scenic or picturesque, but you can spend the day at the park for that. It is clean, has cable, and provides a good place to sleep. I would recommend staying there if you want to visit Sequoia but don't want to spend a lot on accommodations.

We ate at the Pizza Factory across the street, and the food was pretty good. The people who worked there were pleasant. It is a good place to go especially if you have kids because the tables are big, it is informal, there are older version arcade games to play, and they have an ice cream counter. The ice cream cost $3.50, but they put enough ice cream in the cup to seriously satisfy two if not three people.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.