We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falls short of our expectations for the brand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Falls short of our expectations for the brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros: location - it’s within a short drive to the Park entrance; coin laundry on site; ample parking; within walking distance to a couple of restaurants and a grocery store.

Cons: Rules, rules, rules! I understand loss prevention, but treating your guests like children with posted rule after posted rule is something else. For a fairly new property, I was surprised that the room seemed so cramped, this was made additionally so by a large wardrobe taking up a portion of the vanity area near the bathroom. Weak wifi. Breakfast was chaotic, under-supplied, and under-staffed - broken coffee maker, one staffer on to replenish food items and clean up, not enough meal items to serve the crowd. And this was during the off season in Oct., so I can’t imagine what it’s like during the high season. I was also disappointed to see the reliance on Styrofoam and plastic consumables, especially in the quantity they likely use each week. Staffing in general seems to be an issue at this property, both in quantity and quality. Front desk staff are not friendly, even minor problems are not taken care of at that point, guests are referred to an off-schedule manager. Also, be aware that this hotel charges an “early departure fee” - so even if this property doesn’t meet your expectations, you’re stuck for the duration of your reservation unless you’re willing to pay extra to get out of it. This is a very busy property with both national and international guests visiting the park, and there are a number of issues that need to be addressed in order to ensure a quality guest experience - location and brand association will only last so long.

Verdict: 2.5 stars, below average. This property falls short of our expectations for the Comfort Inn/Choice Hotels brand. Next time we visit SNP, we’ll look elsewhere for accommodation.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    199
    54
    39
See reviews for
222
281
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I checked in around 9pm and the receptionist gave us rooms that were not made at all. But they were kind enough to switch them to rooms that were an upgrade one up from the ones we booked. Its nice and quiet, mountain experience. Very close drive to sequioia national park. Enjoyed the stay we had. We were the last to check out.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here before exploring Sequoia national park. I booked the hotel through the Comfort inn website because we were going to arrive late and didn't want to have any problems looking for a room. Prices seemed really low but it was off peak so i went ahead.

Checkin was a breeze, the lady at front desk said everything was ready. My husband went in to check both rooms we booked and lo and behold- both rooms haven't been cleaned by housekeeping yet. Mind you it was 10pm and we were tired from travelling so my husband went to the front desk and angrily told them that there must have been a mistake because we were given dirty rooms. She said that it must been the fault of the computer system through online booking and we would be moved and given upgrades for the trouble.

So we went to the new upgraded rooms and i wondered why they looked like standard rooms. My husband said that the previous unmade rooms he saw were really small, had older tv sets and had no refrigerator or microwaves in them. These new rooms were upgrades because of the added 'amenities''. Apparently the cheapest rooms were cramped and bare.

The rooms we got were very comfortable and breakfast was great, but i hazard to think that we wouldn't have been so happy if we hadn't been upgraded to the better rooms. Cheap rooms here don't necessarily mean a better value, they're simply cheaper because you get less for your money.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear M C,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn & Suites, Sequoia Kings Canyon and for taking the time to complete the survey

We appreciate all comments from our guests as we continue to strive to give our guests a comfortable and great experience during their stay. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced about the dirty rooms.

We do hope that you will give us another chance to give you an excellent stay on your next visit.

Thank you again.

Joe Quitugua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two days in September with two rooms. Clean, comfy beds, nice hot showers, ok breakfast. Walking distance to couple of resturants and a market ( just across the street). National park entrance was about 10/15 minutes by car. Would stay here again .

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel past weekend. This place is a joke. They act all nice there and charge you extra money when you are gone. I saw an extra charge of $100 on my account. Called the hotel thinking it was a mistake and the Front Desk informed me that they did charge us for a pet. Apparently they "discovered" that we had a pet in the room and decided to charge us $100! The Front Desk was rude and said that the owner is not going to wave the fee. She told us that if you were to inform us upfront that would be way cheaper. When we checked in, nobody asked us if we had a pet or not. Don't stay in this hotel, there is plenty of hotels around to choose. We ended up paying for this small motel more than for expensive nice hotel. Would never come back there. Theytotally ruined our Thanksgiving today.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear World1_9

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn & Suites, Sequoia Kings Canyon and for taking the time to give a review.

Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication regarding pet fees, the registration card that all our guests initial and sign does have the pet disclosure as it a part of the check in procedure. I do apologize again if you feel that you were mis-informed.

We do hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to the Sequoia Kings Canyon area.

Joe Quitugua
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights (Sept 25 to 27). We chose accommodation in Three Rivers because of its proximity to the entrance of Sequoia N.P. The room was clean and everything was in good repair. The microwave and fridge were convenient for lunches and meals. Breakfast is included in the room rate and there was a good selection of options. Cold cereals, pastries, bread, fruit, juices, coffee, waffles, eggs and sausage. There is a conference next to the breakfast room that offered additional seating space. The breakfast area was busy in the morning. There is a grocery store in Three Rivers and some dining options. We ordered pizza one evening that was very good. The wifi wasn't working well in the room one morning. We would stay here again.

The drive from the park's Visitor Center (near Three Rivers) to the Giant Forest is winding. Saying that is an understatement. The ascent can be steep in places and we read that the portion between Hospital Rock and the Giant Forest has 130 curves and 12 switchbacks. We made three return trips during our stay and can believe those stats. If someone is a really nervous driver, it might be best to stay near the Grant Grove entrance at Kings Canyon NP. There are vehicle length restrictions between the Giant Forest and the southern entrance at Three Rivers. Long vehicles are prohibited on that section.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights so that we were close to Sequoia National Park as Three Rivers is only around a 20 minute drive away.

The staff are so lovely here and I have to say that I was really impressed with the level of service we had here.

When we arrived it was very late, the receptionist was very welcoming and everything was sorted with ease. We were put on the bottom floor. I don't know if it was just our room, or every bottom even room, but you can clearly hear people walking around above you, and the noise is very loud! It sounded like a bunch of elephants above us.

I rang reception on the second night at midnight as people were still walking around and I couldn't sleep. I asked for us to be moved and the night manager gave us a different room, which I was so grateful for.

The breakfast is great, there is a gym and a pool and a post office opposite.

Maybe just request to be on the top floor, if you can!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.