We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, terrible breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location and service, terrible breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've spent just one night at this hotel. It was easily accessible, parking lot is free and big and front desk staff was polite and helpful. The hotel is very close to Sequoia N.P. entrance which can be a great advantage if you want to start your park trip very early in the morning.

The room was ok, rather clean, but some details (like bathtub color suggesting it's time for serious refurbishing) made the whole experience less pleasant.
There is a laundry room available which can be nice when you're on your road trip.
Wireless Internet was available for free but was laggy and connection was unstable.

But the biggest dissapointment was the breakfast... OK, I get it - the hotel is rather unexpensive and you shouldn't expect much... but it was the only time in our life when we couldn't find anything worth eating! And believe me - my girlfriend loves eating! :) There was no fruit, no vegetables; only toast bread, jelly, milk and some strangely looking corn flakes... It was truly a disaster.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    230
    197
    53
    38
See reviews for
217
274
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here twice over the last 3 years, each time for 2 nights. It is in a great location for visiting Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. The hotel is easy to find, being just off the main road to the parks, with plentiful parking. It has been full each time I stayed, but it was summer. My room was clean, quiet despite visitor numbers, and had all amenities. Each of the buildings has elevators. The price was reasonable - but I did pay by advance purchase. I have to say that breakfast was only fair - OK but limited choice, and the breakfast room was packed both days.

There is a good big outdoor pool (seasonal I believe). My only minor gripe was that it did not open until 10 am. My perception (rightly or wrongly) was that this was to deliberately discourage morning swimmers, who are either touring or close to check our by this time. Certainly it was not for pool maintenance, which seemed to be completed by 9 am each morning. Still, this is a minor whinge, and I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floors are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Can't recommend this hotel despite the fact that the staff is friendly and helpful, the proximity of the road is not a problem and the landscape (in the back is quite pretty).
I requested a quiet room. The room I was given was adjacent to the elevator in dire need of repair. In addition the toilet flushes of the neighboring room were quite loud, but mercifully quickly over, unlike the noise made by my neighbors showers which woke me up (and I am not a light sleeper) and lasted what felt like an eternity on three occasions.
I switched to another room which had none of these problems, but instead seemed to be located under some kind of engine which ran non stop - as if I had been sleeping on a plane.
Finally the breakfast area is really too small for the number of guests - hence noisy, crowded, and may require a wait before a seat becomes available.
Too bad.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the only hotel I've heard of in this area (the only chain). It was very well kept and very clean. About 7 miles from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. Different pillows to choose from was a nice perk. A small grocer/market is across the street for snacks as well as a decent amount of dinner options. We didn't have time for the outdoor pool, but it looked clean and useable. Continental breakfast included. It had breads/muffins, cereal, make-your-own belgium waffles, egg things (looked like a pancake, but it was an egg), sausage. It wasn't GREAT, but for free it was definitely not bad. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Check in was smooth staff friendly. Facility appeared clean. Appearances can be deceiving! Noted what appeared to be minute dried blood spots on the bedding but all else seemed clean. Discovered a bedbug in the bed with us the next morning. We crushed it and it was engorged with blood. Found a 2nd bedbug on the wall it too was engorged with blood. The next day my wife had probably over 100 post bedbug bites. On line research showed bedbug bites are painless and the welts and severe itching may occur as late as 2 weeks after 1st bitten. My wife had welts from bites covering both arms, both legs and on her torso. This stay at bedbug inn was at the beginning of our 14 day trip. This bedbug problem greatly diminished the joy of this trip. This place needs to be tented and fumigated. Management has replied there is a bedbug problem everywhere. We stayed at 7 different lodgings on this trip. This is the only place that we encountered bedbugs

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights while visiting kings canyon/ sequoia. The location is perfect. 5 minutes drive to the 198 entrance to the park. Mineral kings exit is also a few minutes drive. Room was big, clean, comfortable with refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was not the greatest though ! My other complaint was the awkward presence of the coffee maker next to the toilet. It could have been placed anywhere else in such a big room.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights while visiting Sequoia. We were pleased to find that the couch was actually more of a futon and easier to use and more comfortable for our third child. The refigerator was nice to keep our picnic lunch supplies cool overnight. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The only thing that was less than savory was the egg "pucks". They had the regular make it yourself waffles in addition to blueberry waffles. I would stay here again and refer others.

Room Tip: Some rooms are interior entrance and some exterior. We preferred the exterior with three kids and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.