We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for this location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for this location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the only hotel I've heard of in this area (the only chain). It was very well kept and very clean. About 7 miles from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. Different pillows to choose from was a nice perk. A small grocer/market is across the street for snacks as well as a decent amount of dinner options. We didn't have time for the outdoor pool, but it looked clean and useable. Continental breakfast included. It had breads/muffins, cereal, make-your-own belgium waffles, egg things (looked like a pancake, but it was an egg), sausage. It wasn't GREAT, but for free it was definitely not bad. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    229
    196
    51
    37
See reviews for
217
270
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights while visiting kings canyon/ sequoia. The location is perfect. 5 minutes drive to the 198 entrance to the park. Mineral kings exit is also a few minutes drive. Room was big, clean, comfortable with refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was not the greatest though ! My other complaint was the awkward presence of the coffee maker next to the toilet. It could have been placed anywhere else in such a big room.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights while visiting Sequoia. We were pleased to find that the couch was actually more of a futon and easier to use and more comfortable for our third child. The refigerator was nice to keep our picnic lunch supplies cool overnight. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The only thing that was less than savory was the egg "pucks". They had the regular make it yourself waffles in addition to blueberry waffles. I would stay here again and refer others.

Room Tip: Some rooms are interior entrance and some exterior. We preferred the exterior with three kids and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So we came from the western holiday lodge were we found bedbugs (we checked as soon as we walked in because trip advisor reviews had warned us). We knew that the comfort inn had ONE bedbug review but figured we'd be safe in a chain hotel.

Not so much. Huge group of bedbugs in the corner under the mattress over the skirting. Gross!!

A few miles up the road, we ended up at the gateway inn. Glenn is awesome. Privately owned and they take CARE of their property and it shows. I'll be giving them a glorious review. Sad that my standards are so low that all you have to do is have no bedbugs to have a positive review. Sigh.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was OK, about what you would expect. The breakfast, too, was OK. The "designated smoking areas" were on the outskirts of the parking lot. To reach the ashtrays you had to walk through dirt areas covered with stickers which imbedded themselves in the soles of your shoes, tracked into your room, stuck in the carpet, and ultimately in your feet. All in all, the landscaping could stand some attention, although perhaps the water shortage is to blame.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place would be fine and get a good review if not for the bed bug infestation. The rooms appeared clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights. The first morning we woke up and noticed some old blood stains on the bed linens but thought nothing of it until I killed a bug in the bed and one by the bed on the wall. Both were full of blood and we mistook them for dog ticks. We informed the management and moved to a different room. The following morning we woke up with many bites on our arms, hands and legs. It was not until after we had checked out and done some research online that we realized that the bugs we killed and bites we suffered are indeed from bed bugs!!! I also found 3 other complaints about this motel on the bed bug online registry.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We deeply apologize for your issue regarding bed bugs. Unfortunately this problem is not isolated to just this property and it is an issue with every hotel nation wide. The only way for a hotel to acquire the bugs, are to be transported in from other properties via guests luggage and belongings.

Upon you reporting it to us and moving you to another room we did thoroughly treat that room and take it out of service for the required amount of time. We also had to do the same with the room you were moved to as that room would now be affected. This is the only way to stay on top of this obvious and well documented problem throughout the country and hopefully every hotel is as diligent about treating the problem as we are.

In no way is our entire hotel infested or there would be many more than 3 reports as you say online. I do again deeply apologize for that experience as we know it is not a pleasant one.

Sincerely,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only here for one night, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel because it was clean and comfortable with courteous staff. It was close and convenient to the park entrance. Although I didn't eat at the breakfast buffet, my husband said it was fine.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which is preferable for an older couple like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate that you choose us to stay with and hope that the rest of your journey was met with the same hospitality and comfort.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
FDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.