We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night with my family at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Three Rivers on our way up to the Sequoia National Park and Yosemite. We arrived earlier than the stated check in time but had no problems getting into our room. This was spacious and comfortable with good air conditioning which was essential given the 100 plus degree heat outside. After a long drive from LA the pool was a fantastic was to relax. With breakfast as part of the price of the room this was not only good value but mightily convenient.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a great review, we always like to know when we are doing things right. I hope that the remainder of your journey was met with the same comforts and appreciation that you experienced here with us.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    199
    53
    39
See reviews for
222
280
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

From reading the other reviews, I was pretty concerned about this hotel. We got a good room in the newer 3-story building. Newer carpet, room had fridge and microwave. The A/C worked although it had been adjusted to 80 degrees while we were out.

The breakfast was ok. You get coupons for each person that you turn in each morning. Waffles (original was runny, blueberry was normal); Costco muffins; English Muffins; Toast; Cereal and eggs/sausage. Disappointed that they did not have better fruit or breakfast potatoes. Other reviews are accurate about the breakfast area being too small and crowded but there's nowhere else to expand to.

Pool was small but looked inviting. Unfortunately, it's only open from 10:00 am to 9:00 pm. Opens too late in the morning if you are going to go to Sequoia and closes too early at night if you leave the park around sunset.

Be prepared for a long drive to/from Sequoia national park. It's about 15 min to the park entrance and another 45 min up a windy mountain road to the General's Forest Museum. Same goes for the way back.

Overall, I would say it's average. Probably better than any other place in Three Rivers, though.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding our property. I appreciate your understanding on the breakfast area as you are correct, there is no space to expand. But I do hope that you were able to find some items that you enjoyed and was able to have a wonderful day in our National Parks. I hope that someday you will return and give us another opportunity to make more comfortable for you.

Many Happy Thoughts,

Shelly Matlock
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a very, very average, basic place to stay (quite, but not very close to Sequoia National Park) The hotel is ok, breakfast is horrible in crowded conditions, but it is the customer service that is truly terrible - any problems that you have while you're there are met with a take it or leave it attitude. No orange at breakfast for the two days i was there because "the machine is broken"!

Room Tip: A room in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I apologize that we fell short on making you feel appreciated and welcomed. I hope that the remainder of your journey was safe and happy.

Thank you..

Shelly Matlock
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean and comfortable, and located about 20 minutes from Sequoia, also a stop for the Sequoia shuttle. A little expensive, but expected for the convenience to Sequoia. Check-in took quite awhile as the hotel was sold out and a number of people were checking in at the same time, but despite how busy she was, the desk clerk was pleasant and patient, giving everyone maps, information, recommendations for dining, and answering the same questions over and over. Pretty much the standard room arrangement and furnishings, micro/fridge, plenty of towels and good linens. A/C worked very well on a really hot day, and the pool was refreshing. Wish there were a fan in the bathroom - our room got really steamy after we all showered. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, waffles, cereal, and muffins. Even though the breakfast area was large, it was very crowded with everyone leaving for Sequoia. The breakfast attendant tried hard to keep up with demand and cleanliness, but there were just SO MANY people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest..

Thank you for such a thorough review I very much appreciate that. Im pleased that you were happy with your room and the other amenities that we offer and hope that someday you will return to allow us to be that place of comfort again for you.

Many Happy Thoughts,

Shelly Matlock
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itajai, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Check in fast and good. Room clean and very good.
Wifi terrible. Breakfast is simple but good.
Depending where y think to go in Sequoia NP could be a long distance!
There are average restaurants near the hotel.
You need a car to go everywhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the review. We very much appreciate that you chose us to stay with and I hope that someday you can return.

Many Thanks,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I usually don't give a 5 rating unless it is something special. But it just worked for me.

They had some problems with the wifi, but it got fixed (I like when things get fixed).

There were some buds outside the room, but... I can probably not blame them for that.

The employes seemed professional.

I had a good night sleep, and it did it's job.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.... Im so pleased that you found us to meet your needs and expectations. We look forward to serving you again and hopefully your friends and family in the future..

Thanks again,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Motel is covered with spider webs on the outside it could use a good pressure wash.The office and Breakfast Room could have the air conditioner turned on with 50 or more people eating Breakfast.the Breakfast is a Joke ,two waffle irons for all these people? Come on.The rooms are DIRTY they need to vacuum their carpets,when i stepped into the shower my feet had black water running down the drain.When i checked in they wanted 171 dollars for the room when i made mine thru Auto Club for $ 134.10 when I questioned the price they blamed it on the new girl working at the Front Desk.To make up for the room price difference i got a call from the front desk at next morning saying house keeping seen me coming out of my room with 3 Dogs. I DON'T HAVE ANY DOGS.After going to the front desk they said they will investigate.NO dogs were found but no apology was given.They were just trying to make up extra charges.stay away don't bad memories like this ruin your vacation, who needs this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your unhappy remarks about our property. Regarding the dogs that were reported coming from your room; it turned out they were coming from the room next door and when this was discovered you had already left and I was unable to apologize. I completely reject though that you would imply that we are padding the bill to make up for lost revenue as we are not unethical nor thieves; however we have had guests that are and that keeps us always paying attention to what is going on within the property.

I hope that the remainder of your trip was awesome and the time you spent in our National Parks was as well.

Respectfully,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.