We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a very, very average, basic place to stay (quite, but not very close to Sequoia National Park) The hotel is ok, breakfast is horrible in crowded conditions, but it is the customer service that is truly terrible - any problems that you have while you're there are met with a take it or leave it attitude. No orange at breakfast for the two days i was there because "the machine is broken"!

Room Tip: A room in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I apologize that we fell short on making you feel appreciated and welcomed. I hope that the remainder of your journey was safe and happy.

Thank you..

Shelly Matlock
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    211
    171
    45
    31
See reviews for
186
250
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and comfortable, and located about 20 minutes from Sequoia, also a stop for the Sequoia shuttle. A little expensive, but expected for the convenience to Sequoia. Check-in took quite awhile as the hotel was sold out and a number of people were checking in at the same time, but despite how busy she was, the desk clerk was pleasant and patient, giving everyone maps, information, recommendations for dining, and answering the same questions over and over. Pretty much the standard room arrangement and furnishings, micro/fridge, plenty of towels and good linens. A/C worked very well on a really hot day, and the pool was refreshing. Wish there were a fan in the bathroom - our room got really steamy after we all showered. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, waffles, cereal, and muffins. Even though the breakfast area was large, it was very crowded with everyone leaving for Sequoia. The breakfast attendant tried hard to keep up with demand and cleanliness, but there were just SO MANY people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest..

Thank you for such a thorough review I very much appreciate that. Im pleased that you were happy with your room and the other amenities that we offer and hope that someday you will return to allow us to be that place of comfort again for you.

Many Happy Thoughts,

Shelly Matlock
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itajai, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in fast and good. Room clean and very good.
Wifi terrible. Breakfast is simple but good.
Depending where y think to go in Sequoia NP could be a long distance!
There are average restaurants near the hotel.
You need a car to go everywhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the review. We very much appreciate that you chose us to stay with and I hope that someday you can return.

Many Thanks,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I usually don't give a 5 rating unless it is something special. But it just worked for me.

They had some problems with the wifi, but it got fixed (I like when things get fixed).

There were some buds outside the room, but... I can probably not blame them for that.

The employes seemed professional.

I had a good night sleep, and it did it's job.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.... Im so pleased that you found us to meet your needs and expectations. We look forward to serving you again and hopefully your friends and family in the future..

Thanks again,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Motel is covered with spider webs on the outside it could use a good pressure wash.The office and Breakfast Room could have the air conditioner turned on with 50 or more people eating Breakfast.the Breakfast is a Joke ,two waffle irons for all these people? Come on.The rooms are DIRTY they need to vacuum their carpets,when i stepped into the shower my feet had black water running down the drain.When i checked in they wanted 171 dollars for the room when i made mine thru Auto Club for $ 134.10 when I questioned the price they blamed it on the new girl working at the Front Desk.To make up for the room price difference i got a call from the front desk at next morning saying house keeping seen me coming out of my room with 3 Dogs. I DON'T HAVE ANY DOGS.After going to the front desk they said they will investigate.NO dogs were found but no apology was given.They were just trying to make up extra charges.stay away don't bad memories like this ruin your vacation, who needs this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your unhappy remarks about our property. Regarding the dogs that were reported coming from your room; it turned out they were coming from the room next door and when this was discovered you had already left and I was unable to apologize. I completely reject though that you would imply that we are padding the bill to make up for lost revenue as we are not unethical nor thieves; however we have had guests that are and that keeps us always paying attention to what is going on within the property.

I hope that the remainder of your trip was awesome and the time you spent in our National Parks was as well.

Respectfully,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed the proximity to Sequoia National Park and the pillows were wonderful. At least the breakfast was free and the wifi worked well.

The breakfast choices were extremely limited and of low quality. We could see the staff microwaving scrambled eggs that came right out of a plastic bag. This was not very appetizing.

Even though the afternoon temperatures were in excess of 100 degrees during each of the days of our stay, we came back to the room to find the housekeeping staff had set the room temperature up to 80 degrees, which left the room hot and stuffy - not pleasant on such hot days.

The pool hours are ridiculous. The area is padlocked when closed and is only open from 10 am until 9 pm. So much for a morning swim or a relaxing night at the pool. Also, the hot tub was broken during our visit.

It was nearly impossible to get ice from the two ice machines. Part of the problem may have been the staff using the machine to get ice for the breakfast buffet. One morning, I saw the woman preparing breakfast get four large bags of ice from the machine nearest the lobby.

There was no knob on the refrigerator in the room and it was set to such a low temperature it would take all night to cool drinks.

There was no sheer curtain so your choice was to either have the drapes closed or completely open so that people could look directly into your room.

One afternoon, we returned from Sequoia Park to find that none of our keys worked so the staff had to make us new ones.

There was not enough seating for breakfast.

There was mold visible all over the exterior of the building that did not instill confidence in the cleanliness of the property.

There was a large feral dog that would wander the property in the morning for which the staff had little concern. In fact, the woman preparing breakfast seemed surprised that I would be leery of a large strange dog standing outside the lobby on the sidewalk.

It was abundantly clear that the owner of this location (who we were told was Mr. Lee) did not care much for the comfort of his guests and was much more concerned with maximizing his profits. After a long day hiking at one of the most beautiful spots on Earth, the last thing we wanted was to come home to a hot, stuffy room; be unable to get ice; find that our key did not work; or have a total of 45 minutes after dinner to relax at the pool.

While we did not let our experience at this hotel ruin our time in the area, we will never be able to recommend this hotel as anything other than a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review as we see every review as an opportunity to improve. Since your stay with us we have painted the entire property with a fresh coat of white paint. The ice machines do get used to fill up ice chests and that, regretfully leaves no ice for our guests later in the morning. My front desk staff does fill up a few pitchers of ice water for breakfast so yes we do get ice for that from the ice machines. I apologize for all of your issues and to not sound patronizing I won't comment on all of them but I am happy that you were able to enjoy the park and all that it has to offer. I hope that you arrived home safely.

Sincerely,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location close to Sequoia NP. Room size average, but want to stay on the second floor as the ceiling seems thin. Breakfast is nice, but usually a wait for food. Good "base of operations," not a place you stay to just enjoy the hotel. Wifi very spotty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay. I hope that while in the park you were able to see all the sites and perhaps a bear or two. Please come again and allow us to be a place of comfort for you and your family.

Many Thanks,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.