We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent motel near Sequoia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent motel near Sequoia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

It's your basic chain motel and just fine for a night or two near Sequoia (but lots of the smaller local inns are closer to the park, the Comfort Inn is just about the farthest away at 6 miles). Bathroom wasn't the cleanest (I was wishing I had flip flops for the shower) but wasn't the worst I've experienced in a motel. Main room was reasonably clean and comfortable, no problems. The "breakfast" is a joke though - some fruit loops and bread are about all there is. For a great breakfast, stop at the We Three Bakery down the road a few miles on the way to the entrance of the park - great food and well worth it! I'd stay there again if I had to, if I couldn't get anything closer to the park (and it's reasonably cheap compared to some of the other inns).

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Location, a bit far from the park
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    278
    220
    55
    43
See reviews for
243
324
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

A convenient location near Sequoia National park. There are not many hotels nearby. This Comfort Inn is the only newer one in the area. The hotel needs to upgrade their older TV sets and the aircondition units. The courtyard needs a better maintenance. (Holiday Inn Express sign board was still in the back of the hotel.)
The jacuzzi water was the same temperature as the swimming pool's. Continental Breakfast was average. Coffee was not very tasteful.

Dinner option was quite limited in the area. We found a Mexican restaurant , a short distance from the hotel. It appeared to be the only place in the immediate vincinity. For Saturday night, they were understaffed, no hostess to seat guests,. There's seemed to have an electrcal problem - power was on and off at that time and was quite annoying. However, the food was very good.

  • Liked — newer in the area
  • Disliked — maintenance
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

I was horrified to find bugs (red mites or chiggers) in my bed the first morning. I called management up to look at the bugs. They said that hikers leave bugs in the rooms...but on supposedly "clean" sheets? I don't think so! Was offered a pittance of a refund for my "inconvenience" I will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We arrived early and the rooms were not ready. They did have the rooms ready by the time promised. The grounds were poorly maintained, the grass needed to be mowed and there were weeds growing in the planters. There were birds nests under the eaves, dirt and spider webs on the outside walls. The locks on the hallway doors were not working. The room however was clean and the air conditioning was working( not too noisy). The shower curtain was partialy torn and the fan in the bathroom was not working. The jacuzzi was the same temp as the pool. The jets did not blow out into the pool, but bubbled out around the jets. This was an ongoing problem according to other reviews. The breakfast was good but get there early. According to my more traveled friends the breakfast could have been better.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Upon arrival at 2am in July, 2008, we smelled an overbearingly strong sewer smell in the hallway of the 1st floor leading to the elevators and found a very yellow stained washcloth in the bathroom, even though we were assured there would be no sewer smell and that towels there are always clean. We were told breakfast ended at 10:00am, but the next morning, all food & drink was rudely taken away at 9:45 and we were rudely told that breakfast ends at 9:30. Maybe a big sign could be put on the doors as weary travelers enter their rooms so they know to get to breakfast really early, even though they arrived at 2am and need sleep? Maybe a menu of food items could also be on the door with a friendly note that says that breakfast ends sharply at 9:30am but here are some local restaurants were food is available? As for our next trip to the area, we will try another establishment.

  • Liked — Person on the phone and at the reservation desk upon check in was super nice
  • Disliked — Being greeted with sewer smell in 1st floor hallway, yellow-stained washcloth, unclear breakfast time, breakfast rudely taken away
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

It may not be the least expensive, nor have a lot of character, but the Comfort Inn is a decent place to stay in the closest town to the park. You do pay a premium to stay in Three Rivers.

Check-in was easy and the manager is a nice guy. The room was clean upon arrival, although the housekeeping staff didn't do a very good job of vacuuming during our stay. Plenty of storage space, small separate sitting area in the suite. Fridge and sink. Wifi worked well. Outdoor pool that's set near the front of the property. The breakfast was typical with make-your-own waffles, fruits, cereals, etc and very crowded.

A couple of gripes: no safe in the room, thin bath towels, the spa was never really warm the entire time. Minor things really, but they dig drag down the overall rating.

Given more time to plan, I'd probably look elsewhere. But it wasn't a bad stay.

  • Liked — Close to the park.
  • Disliked — missing some of the details.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

This hotel, which is less than 30 minutes to Sequoia's entrance, is a good hotel for the budget-minded. I think that it may have been an Holiday Inn Express at one time (a sign in the parking lot and the branded memo pad in the room gave it away).

The staff at the registration desk was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The A/C was a bit loud but once it cooled down in the evening, it wasn't necessary to keep it on.

I had been warned when I checked in that in order to avoid crowds in the breakfast room, I should show up before 8:00 and I was glad that I did. The breakfast room is kind of small so the families that were ready for breakfast found it difficult to find tables where they could eat together.

As for conveniences, they have a computer with free Internet access in the lobby. There's a market, a Mexican restaurant, and a drugstore located across the road. There are also a handful of other small restaurants in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud air conditioner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.