We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant "gate" to the Sequoia National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very pleasant "gate" to the Sequoia National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our goal was to visit the Sequoia National Park but our visit coincided with the federal government shutdown in October when national parks like this were closed..., as we could verify when we reached the park south entrance :-( So we turned around and decided to spend the night in the area instead of keeping on driving. That's how we found and why we stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites which lies just 10 miles south from that park entrance. That explains why the natural surroundings of this hotel are beautiful as well as quiet.
The person that attended us, Michelle, was very, very nice, friendly, joyful, energetic and helpful. She gave us a cosy and clean room (it didn't have micro-wave and fridge though) which price also included the breakfast which is served in a spacious area close to the reception.
It is here as well where they have a computer for guests and also a shop with souvenirs.
We will definitely stop here again next time we try to visit the Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was very unfortunate that the Fed Govt had to do this shut down and it seems that we all did our best to live with it. Thank you so much for choosing us for your place of comfort off the road. Michelle is a shining example of what customer service should be and Im so pleased that you were blessed with her infectious enthusiasm.. she really is a star and I appreciate that you mentioned her, she will be thrilled.

Please do come back.. this weather has been so good through these last few months it seems winter just isnt coming. We hope to see you again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    212
    173
    45
    31
See reviews for
188
250
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Super friendly service. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms. Thus, backing their name, comfort inn. Good breakfast variety, you can make your own waffles. Close to the Sequioa and Kings Canyon National Park. Water recreation is about gone with the three rives drying up because of the drought.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review. We appreciate the comparison of the Hilton chain and Im so pleased with my staff to have made you feel so welcomed and appreciated. Please do come back again and allow us to be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location alone is worth the stay. There are really not too many other places to stay so close to the entrance of Sequoia National Park. The price and rooms were decent, although we found some trash under the desk in our room when we arrived. The parking area did not feel super safe, but there were no specific issues. A breakfast is included with your stay, and we found the variety to be very good, including a waffle maker, fruits, cereals, bagels and juice and coffee. After a long day of driving to get to the park, this is a great stop for the night if you don't have enough time to get into the park and reach the campgrounds, and you can get a great start to your day with breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you found us and that we met your needs and expectations. I hope that the rest of your journey was awesome and that you enjoyed our National Parks. Please do consider us again if your are ever in our little corner of the world.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were looking for an option close enougth from Sequoia Park but that had some comfort and werent inside the park. For what we were looking for the hotel satisfied our needs very well. The view from the hotel has nothing to do with what the park really is.... The hotel is also walking distance from the one restaurants close to the park... Dont forget the chains if you are going in the winter!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the outside part of the hotel... Not nice if it is cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you Dear Guest for posting such a great review. I appreciate your detail as to the restaurants near by. I hope that someday you can return to allow us to be your place of comfort while you explore these beautiful National Parks.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The only good thing about this place was the location, just a few minutes away from the Sequoia National Park entrance. The room looked old, carpets looked dirty, and the breakfast was mediocre. In our room, there was a clanking noise that kept us awake all night. When I told the front desk person she questioned it and said she has never received a complaint about that before. It did not seem she took it seriously or that she even believed me! No apologies were offered. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because of the great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the feelings that you obviously had at the time you left. My comments regarding no other complaints where honest and we do have to consider that when we receive a complaint. I did have my maintenance try to find a source for a clanking noise but unfortunately, the noise could not be replicated. Hopefully the next guest in that room will call the front desk at the time its happening so my front desk could troubleshoot it then and we can have maintenance take care of it. I again apologize for the discomfort you felt during your stay and I also appreciate your review as we see all of them as opportunities to do better. I will be more empathetic in the future.

Kind Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Location to Sequoia National Park is great. Hotel was average. Rooms were clean. Lots of people out and about all the time so not very quiet. Breakfast Selection was not very good and EXTREMELY crowded.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize for not meeting your expectations but we do use every review as an opportunity to improve.

Happy New Year,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay! Probably the best hotel on our whole trip! Location is a great plus as it is right outside of the park! Service and cleanliness was A+! Breakfast was great. We will definitely stay there again when we make or way back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us rave reviews. We appreciate that you choose us to stay with and hope that your New Year will be the best ever. Many Happy Trails to you and your family.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.