We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but don't count on the WiFi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“OK, but don't count on the WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Rooms are clean and comfortable. The shower was OK and the hotel has an excellent location. The breakfast was OK, with pastries, eggs, sausage, coffee, waffles, etc. The wifi does not work, which was a problem for us. The service was great, with all the staff being very helpful.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and Im so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and your room. I apologize for your WIFI issues and we are working on getting the system issues resolved. I hope that your journey was met with great things and you arrived home safely.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    199
    54
    39
See reviews for
222
281
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed the the Comfort Inn and Suites in Three Rivers during a trip to California last year. The hotel had a free hot breakfast buffet and a gift shop. This was ideal for me because I was only there to sleep and eat breakfast before making the drive to see the Sequoias in the National Park. If you are heading to see the Sequoias this really is in a fabulous location. The room was clean and the staff were very friendly. They even told me where I could rent tire chains so I could drive up the mountain in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking this time to post such a great review and I want you to know that we appreciate it very much. Im so pleased that you found us to be all that you expected and needed on you trip to California and hope that you where met with equal customer service and comfort on your entire trip.

Many Blessings and hope to see you again

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location is perfect, surrounded by nature just before the entrance to Sequoia NP (you are about 1 hour drive from the biggest threes). However there is not much around the hotel, one Mexican restaurant (which is kind of a dive) and another restaurant at the river which we didn´t try, few shops and a gas station (handy)! The hotel is right along the main road and easy to find.

Service was so so, room was nice and clean, but normal.

Breakfast was horrible! Restaurant was crowded, there was not enough food, you kind of had to fight for it. Eggs were tasteless and made from a powder and instead of juice, brownish water was coming out of the machine. Yuck!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your negative experience while staying with us and would've hoped that our front desk would have informed you about the several other restaurants in the area like the Pizza Factory across the street, Sierra Subs 1 mile away, We 3 Bakery 3 miles away, the grocery store across the street or the Espresso Cafe within 2 miles from here. I hope that you where able to enjoy the parks and that you arrived to your next destination safely. Thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way home after spending several days inside the national parks. Three Rivers is the only "civilization" near Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. However, it would be quite a drive to go back and forth from here to the parks if you are planning to stay several days. Nonetheless, we were glad we stayed on our way out. The price was right, the staff was outstanding, the room comfortable and clean, and the free breakfast was pretty elaborate for a free breakfast. We often stay at Comfort Inns and this was definitely one of the best we've been in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased that you found us to exceed your expectations from this brand and look forward to serving all your friends and family as you tell them about your adventures in the National Parks. We will be doing upgrades and updates between now and next spring and hope that you can come back and again allow us to be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings,
Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed in several Comfort Inn's both in California and other states. This property was in just average condition. There were several area's that needed touch up, both in the rooms and in the public area's. The air conditioner was very noisy, as was the refrigerator. The pool area was very nice and well maintained. The breakfast was not the usual fare. It was lacking some food items that are found with other properties such as yogurt and boiled eggs. Also the juices seemed to be "water downed"

The staff was very attentive and professional. The breakfast area is somewhat smaller than the other properties open access from the lobby.

We were in Three Rivers to attend a wedding at the White Horse Inn. This is a fantastic wedding venue. It would be worthwhile to view the website if looking for a property to have a wedding.

Room Tip: We were located in a building with keyed access. Other rooms were motel type outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review... as I have mentioned in other reviews we are going to be doing some upgrading and updating between now and next April 2014 so I hope that if you are ever in this area again, you allow us to be your place of comfort.

Warm Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

stayed here Sept. 19th having flown into SFO that day. Went to Sequoia with about 90 min of daylight left and climbed the steps at Morro Rock in time to see the harvest moon rise over the mountains.Truly an amazing sight! Got to the hotel and checked in smoothly after confirming our reservation returning from Sequoia. Nice room on the second floor. Had to roll our bags from the back parking lot and up the steps but then so did half of the other patrons so no problem. I was still on east coast time so I was up at 4 am. Used the lobby computer for a while then went outside in time to see that moon going down over the hill across the street. Rousted my wife for breakfast and we were off to Sequoia again. I imagine this hotel is suffering from the shutdown as we saw people from breakfast in the park. Can't imagine many folks staying there with the park closed for the duration. Thanks to the staff for getting our trip to CA off to a great start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest..

Thank you so much for your wonderfully descriptive review. To experience a harvest moon is the only way to really enjoy it but your review put me there. Thank you for choosing us to stay with and we look forward to your return someday.

Many Many Blessings to you..

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.