We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay close to Sequoia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
San Diego
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A decent stay close to Sequoia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

It may not be the least expensive, nor have a lot of character, but the Comfort Inn is a decent place to stay in the closest town to the park. You do pay a premium to stay in Three Rivers.

Check-in was easy and the manager is a nice guy. The room was clean upon arrival, although the housekeeping staff didn't do a very good job of vacuuming during our stay. Plenty of storage space, small separate sitting area in the suite. Fridge and sink. Wifi worked well. Outdoor pool that's set near the front of the property. The breakfast was typical with make-your-own waffles, fruits, cereals, etc and very crowded.

A couple of gripes: no safe in the room, thin bath towels, the spa was never really warm the entire time. Minor things really, but they dig drag down the overall rating.

Given more time to plan, I'd probably look elsewhere. But it wasn't a bad stay.

  • Liked — Close to the park.
  • Disliked — missing some of the details.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    284
    229
    56
    45
See reviews for
253
333
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

This hotel, which is less than 30 minutes to Sequoia's entrance, is a good hotel for the budget-minded. I think that it may have been an Holiday Inn Express at one time (a sign in the parking lot and the branded memo pad in the room gave it away).

The staff at the registration desk was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The A/C was a bit loud but once it cooled down in the evening, it wasn't necessary to keep it on.

I had been warned when I checked in that in order to avoid crowds in the breakfast room, I should show up before 8:00 and I was glad that I did. The breakfast room is kind of small so the families that were ready for breakfast found it difficult to find tables where they could eat together.

As for conveniences, they have a computer with free Internet access in the lobby. There's a market, a Mexican restaurant, and a drugstore located across the road. There are also a handful of other small restaurants in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud air conditioner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

The Comfort Inn Sequoia in Three Rivers, CA has a little trap to it. They have a clause that states if you leave early you will be affixed with a $50 early departure fee. My wife and I realized this and tried to call within thier 48 hr cancellation window.

We were two hours late in doing this, but the receptionist said that this would not have mattered because we would have needed to talk to the manager anyway, and he would not be in until the next day. When we asked to see a manager again upon check-in, no one was around so we had to wait until the day of check-out to try and remedy the situation.

Upon the morning of our departure, my wife finally got to talk to someone in management. Her attempt at reasoning with him went to no avail as he said that we were outside the 48 hour window and that would would have to pay the fee. When I told him that we tried to call and the receptionist said that we would have to wait and talk to a manager, he said 'they can always find a way to contact us'.

The manager went on to give us a guilt trip about the economy and spoke in other condescending tones. My wife got fed up and called Comfort Inn corporate, and the corporate rep. agreed with us in that we acted in good faith and that the management was acting in error. When I went down and told the manager this, he was indifferent and said that they have "separate policies" from corporate because people cancel all the time there. I wonder why.

Our $50 is still in dispute, even though we were forced to pay it upon checking out.

If you are planning to visit Sequoia National Park, please do yourself a big favor and consider all other options over this one. The staff and management are not concerned about your stay, only their bottom line. However, if this is your only option, I will recap the amenities quickly:

Room: old but OK

Pool: decent, unheated

Hot tub: unheated (who does that?)

Exercise room: thrift sale stockpile

Breakfast: dreadful

Local restaurants: very good, especially the pizza place

I hope you enjoy the Sequoias and find decent accomodations far from this place.

  • Liked — The room kept bugs out
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

This place really needs more pride of ownership. Upon arrival, we were greeted in our room by about 2 dozen black gnats, which we spent the rest of our stay swatting at. Thankfully there were no bedbugs! The showerhead was literally covered with slimy pink mold. The air conditioner somehow was timed to shut after promptly after 20 minutes of operation, so our room stayed hot all night. The TV was old and the speakers were so fuzzy you could hardly understand dialogue. The pillows were old and lumpy and far past their prime.
Breakfast was a joke. The coffee was laughably weak. The only cups available for orange juice were those tiny things your dentist gives you. No muffins were put out, only squishly white bread or squishy wheat bread for toast. The fruit selection consisted of cut-up oranges. Only one wafflemaker was operational, so if you wanted a waffle, you had to wait in a long line.
We really regretted that we didn't pay a few dollars more and stay inside the park at the lodge.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty room, nonfunctional AC, awful breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

My mother and I decided to stay here after visiting Sequoia National Park. We pulled in about 6pm and was greeted very nicely by the front desk clerk. We hadn't eaten yet and was delighted to find a folder of local menus right by the front desk. Our room was on the second floor towards the back of the hotel. Be warned. There are no elevators here. We had two large suitcases and we had a very hard time getting them up the back stairwell.

Once in our room, we were okay with it. The room is a very standard Comfort Inn room. It was clean, but nothing fancy. The bathroom was nice and they did provide glass drinking glasses near the ice bucket. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were very soft. Soft to the point that your head hit the bed when you laid on them. It just curled up and around your face. My mom had to use three just to keep her head semi level.

Breakfast was okay too. Make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins, toast, dry cereal. There were maybe 10 tables and we grabbed the last one available.

I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of elevators
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I stayed there for a night with my wife before we went to see the giant sequoias, the girl at the front desk was very nice with us, the room was very clean and the carpet and bath looked new (maybe they just finished reconditioning the room).

The parking is also excelent, it's very close to the park.

I didn't have breakfast there (but it looked just fine) but if you get the chance go and drive a little to the sequoia park 'till you find the we three restaurant and eat there, great place (http://www.wethreerestaurant.com)

  • Liked — Parking area, cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very clean and fairly large. The hotel is located in a small town which has probably 2-3 restaurants. A great way to start your trip to Sequioa.

Avoid the expensive/poor quality national park hotels and stay at a hotel away from the park. Its about 6 miles to the entrance of the park from the hotel. Would recommend the Cider Mill restaurant.

A great rate with the AAA discount, almost half the price of what you would pay inside the park.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
18.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
21.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.