We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Warrenville, IL
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this location for 2 nights; the day in between the two nights we drove into the Mineral King for some hiking.

The hotel was fine for our needs. We were in the west building, third floor. Elevator worked fine for luggage. This building did look newer than the other one (we did not go into the east one). the bed was comfortable and the linens clean. Television worked fine. Bathroom was a nice size; shower pressure and temperature were good.

Breakfast started at 6:30 and had eggs, sausages, waffles, muffins, donuts, oatmeal...juice and coffee. WiFi worked well in the lobby, but not in the room.

The Saturday night we stayed was booked full; Sunday night was not - so we had a different price for each night (paying more on Saturday). Both nights, we felt it was very quiet; we were on the top floor in the middle which most likely helped with noise a lot.

The swimming pool was too cold to get into; the hot tub was the temperature that the swimming pool should have been. That was disappointing.

Given the location and what was available in town, it worked well for us for two nights.

Also note: Three Rivers and the National Park definitely start to close up after Labor Day...it is probably a lot different during the busy summer months.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you Dear Guest for posting such a detailed review. Im pleased to know that you found your room comfortable and quiet which Im sure made for a good nights sleep. I apologize for the temperature of the jacuzzi, we were having trouble with the heater during your stay. We don't heat the pool but in the warmer weather, it does get quite comfortable for night swimming. I hope that you come back to this area again and that you give us another chance to be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    255
    205
    54
    40
See reviews for
232
294
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place has a great location with pretty views. the rooms are average size, clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi was non existant because, in my opinion, of a full house and all the "smart" phones being used. The staff was courteous and helpful providing local information. The breakfast staff did an outstanding job considering the amount of people they served. All in all it's just your average Comfort Inn at a above average price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and Im happy to hear you understand about the WIFI and how things can overwhelm the system with so many guests. I hope that you arrived home or to your next destination safely.

Many Happy Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Three Rivers Comfort Inn is in a handy location on the way up to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, which, I suspect, is their main business.

The rooms are pretty average - a bit worn, but fine for a night. Everything worked except the wi-fi, which was really dodgy in the evening, although it was OK in the morning. The air-con was very noisy and we had to turn it off to get any sleep.

Breakfast was very crowded - it was Labour Day weekend and there was a large Japanese group in, so I guess that was fairly unusual. The food was OK - again, pretty standard motel fare.

All in all - fine for a night or two, but that's all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw for us. WIFI is a difficult thing up here in the mountains and we have gone to great expense to provide what we do have. I know that a great majority of our guests are back in house by night fall and catching up on emails and watching movies, downloading things etc and that does slow things down vs the day time when most all guests are in the park. That being a very busy holiday we did have 100 % occupancy and things do get a bit crowed here for breakfast but we do keep it open for 3 hours so hopefully everyone can enjoy the breakfast.

We are getting a facelift this year with paint and new furniture and have already replaced many of the air conditioners; so I do hope that you give us another opportunity to give you a place of rest and comfort in the future.

Warm Wishes,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is shabby: dirty carpets, dingy towels, awful shower curtain, cloudy pool... I would not choose to stay here again. Our king room was large, and quiet for near the pool. The small back parking lot was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your negative experience while at our property. I can only hope that you logged a complaint at the front desk so that we could address these issues with the housekeeper that attended to your room. Just as a note... we would have gladley moved you to another room so that your experience here would have been much improved. All hotels will offer this courtesy to guests who are displeased with anything about their room.

Warm Regards

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Comfort Inn was very nice, clean and in a good location to visit Sequoia National Forest. Staff was very helpful. Provided us with names of restaurants in the area. Check in and out was extremely efficient....they were well prepared for the number of guests that evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest...

Thank you for the time you took to post such a great review... Im so happy to hear we met all your expectations and that our staff made you feel welcomed and embrassed. I hope that if ever in this area again you will allow us to be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here recently while visiting Sequoia National Park and it was as close to the park as we could get since everything inside was already filled. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was a bit dated and seemed a bit under typical Comfort Inn standards.

The hotel is in a good location within Three Rivers, we twice did the easy walk across the street to the grocery store and Mexican restaurant which was decent.

The room was of a decent size but it was very strange that the only window that allows natural light had just a blackout curtain and not a sheer curtain that still offers some privacy and light. It was a bit depressing in the room with the shade closed so people don't just look in as they pass by. Would have been nice to have a mini-fridge.

The internet was pretty useless most of the time. We couldn't consistently connect and when we did it still didn't seem to be working well enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review. I apologize that not everything met your expectations and we are addressing some of these issues as we feel the same. So new furntiture, paint and flowers are coming. Thank you for your cander as we view every review important.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean, yet still have that cheap cleaning product smell. For a comfort inn, it is average. Good for a nights sleep. The pool and jacuzzi were a welcome relief after a hot day hiking in the National Park. Breakfast is advertised a bit more than it is, and very very crowded.
One of the better options in the area on the way to and from the national park.
Also serves as a stop for anyone wanting to take the shuttle into Sequoia National Park.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review... Im so pleased that you where able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel. I hope that you made it to your final destination safely.

Many Regards

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.