We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down at the heels...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Down at the heels...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is shabby: dirty carpets, dingy towels, awful shower curtain, cloudy pool... I would not choose to stay here again. Our king room was large, and quiet for near the pool. The small back parking lot was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your negative experience while at our property. I can only hope that you logged a complaint at the front desk so that we could address these issues with the housekeeper that attended to your room. Just as a note... we would have gladley moved you to another room so that your experience here would have been much improved. All hotels will offer this courtesy to guests who are displeased with anything about their room.

Warm Regards

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    223
    191
    50
    34
See reviews for
208
263
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Comfort Inn was very nice, clean and in a good location to visit Sequoia National Forest. Staff was very helpful. Provided us with names of restaurants in the area. Check in and out was extremely efficient....they were well prepared for the number of guests that evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest...

Thank you for the time you took to post such a great review... Im so happy to hear we met all your expectations and that our staff made you feel welcomed and embrassed. I hope that if ever in this area again you will allow us to be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here recently while visiting Sequoia National Park and it was as close to the park as we could get since everything inside was already filled. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was a bit dated and seemed a bit under typical Comfort Inn standards.

The hotel is in a good location within Three Rivers, we twice did the easy walk across the street to the grocery store and Mexican restaurant which was decent.

The room was of a decent size but it was very strange that the only window that allows natural light had just a blackout curtain and not a sheer curtain that still offers some privacy and light. It was a bit depressing in the room with the shade closed so people don't just look in as they pass by. Would have been nice to have a mini-fridge.

The internet was pretty useless most of the time. We couldn't consistently connect and when we did it still didn't seem to be working well enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review. I apologize that not everything met your expectations and we are addressing some of these issues as we feel the same. So new furntiture, paint and flowers are coming. Thank you for your cander as we view every review important.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean, yet still have that cheap cleaning product smell. For a comfort inn, it is average. Good for a nights sleep. The pool and jacuzzi were a welcome relief after a hot day hiking in the National Park. Breakfast is advertised a bit more than it is, and very very crowded.
One of the better options in the area on the way to and from the national park.
Also serves as a stop for anyone wanting to take the shuttle into Sequoia National Park.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review... Im so pleased that you where able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel. I hope that you made it to your final destination safely.

Many Regards

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After driving all way long from Yosemite, we arrived to Three rivers.The first thing that we saw in the hotel was the swimming pool full of people enjoying the red sunset. Amazing! Regarding the room, it was big, with the crib that we requested, with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, TV and the common amenities of a room. The breakfast was included (nothing special).

The location of the hotel was also very good, few minutes from the park, and walking distance to few restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you Dear Guest for your wonderful review.. Its always so nice to hear that we met the needs and comforts of our guests. We appreciate the time it took to post this as I know that life is busy for all of us. I hope that you can return to our little town again someday and until then take care.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the family suite, or apartment. This really could be a great room. The room was not clean. The dining chairs had dust and a straw from a previous guest stuffed in the cushions. The only cork screw was kept at the front desk. There were only two forks and 2 dinner plates. When told, management responded that the previous guest must have taken them and offered paper plates and plastic knives and forks. The king bed in the bedroom was OK but the other two beds off the kitchen should have been retired years ago. There was no dish soap or dishwasher soap. The whole room was wired with motion sensor switches, which is fine, but the kitchen one was broken and there was no way to turn the light off. We had to cover it with paper so that the light would not go on every time we rolled over. The toilet ran and ran. There was also an ongoing leak under the kitchen sink. Also, like most most complimentary breakfasts, there was little to no choice for the gluten free. Access to the park is great from here but location can only get you so far. Wake up over there guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your uncomfortable stay with us. We have addressed the missing items in the apartment in hopes that they are left as part of the suites amenities. The sensitivity of the auto lights have been adjusted as well. We found no evidence of a leak under the kitchen sink though. In regards to Gluten Free food, corporately; the properties in the Choice Hotels family is so rarely asked for those options that it is not mandatory for us to stock them.

Thank you for your cander as we do see every review as an opportunity to shine and or improve. I hope that you arrived at your final destination safely.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

In the last 3 weeks I've stayed at Best Western, Holiday Inn Express and this Comfort Inn. This hotel by far had the best bed - the others were too soft and squishy. The staff was very nice and courteous and our room was very clean. They gave us the handicapped room (I'm not sure why) and the shower was a little funky, but it was fine. I can't comment about the breakfast because we left early. It's not the fanciest or newest hotel but it's clean and comfortable and I would stay here again. Plus it's really close to Pizza Factory, so you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a thoughful review. I am so pleased that you rested well and was refreshed enough to get on the road early and on to your next adventure. I hope that you visit here again in the future to give us that opportunity to be your place of comfort again.

Many Thanks,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.